I’m FIFTY!?!?!?!

Standard

How did that happen???

One day at a time.

It seems like only yesterday I was 49! (lol)  Honestly, these years have gone by so quickly and yet, at times, they’ve dragged.  Babies grow too quickly.  Before you can blink, they’re graduating.  Then college…and they’re on their own!

My twenties came and went in a flash.  The thirties slowed a bit, trying to keep up with the kids.  My forties moved at a snail’s pace.  So…what will fifty bring?

One day at a time.

In my twenties I wanted to be “teacher of the year”…

In my thirties I desired “the world’s greatest mom” award…

In my forties I prayed (and searched for doctors) to get my health back…

One day at a time.

Now, here I am, at the beginning of the next decade…

Divorced.

Living alone.
(Well, I still have my dog.)

Most relationships are strained, at best.
(Except those friends who stick closer than a brother.)
(Thank you, Heavenly Father, for friends!!)

One day at a time.

I’ve lost most everything I ever believed I wanted:  The love of my life (or so I thought).  “World’s Greatest Mom” award.  The house in the ‘burbs with the swimming pool.  My reputation.  Being a bible teacher/leader.  Relationships I thought were real.

And, I can’t blame anyone but myself.

I did it.

It happened because was  am a fool.

One day at a time.

And I can’t go back.  That’s not what I’m to do, if the scripture is to be believed.

I did repent.  I did return.  But, I was rejected…

And now, I must move forward.

One day at a time.

Forgetting what lies behind,
Reaching forward to what lies ahead.
I press on toward the goal:
The upward call of Christ Jesus!

The sanctifying process…

One day at a time.

I’m leaning on Him…

One day at a time, Sweet Jesus,

I’M FIFTY!?!?!?!

10 responses »

  1. May your fifties be fabulous, Michelle . . .like you! 🙂 God bless you and love on you today, and whisper His desires to you, that are all good.

  2. I received a fancy goblet with the words: Fabulous 50! I think I’ll take on that thinking for this new decade, Debbie. 🙂 I do hope to fulfill His desires above all…thank you, friend.

  3. Yayyyyyyyyyy *happy happy joy joy*

    I feel like my 20s were the longest; 30s seem to be going a lot faster although I have only been in them for just about a year.

    Thankful to be your friend and blessed to celebrate your “fabulous 50” with you!

    XO

  4. Oh. my. word. I’ve said it many times, but I feel the need to say it again:
    I COULD BE YOUR MOTHER!!!

    We’re gonna have a birthday bash when I get there! I love you, Sweet Girl. xo

  5. Hummmmm I turned 50 in October…UGH i still don’t like the sound of it…but life moves on at pace thats faster than i like it. All in All….Life is just a journey, teaching us, growing us, and moving us closer to our Creator. I do love that part. So know what the past holds, today we are exactly where HE wants us…leaning and clinging to HIM, learning how to love and know HIM more. I think we are in a good place. Love you Princess!

  6. I love you, too, Princess! It’s your perspective I hope to keep. I want to keep focused on the journey, understanding valleys and winding paths are part of it. He is leading me. I do know that, for certain. I sure hope your fifties are as fruitful as your forties. I knew you for half of ’em, and after meeting your family, I can attest that you, with God and a good man, have done a good work. Won’t it be cool to make it to sixty together? 😀

  7. It was lovely, Ric. My sister-in-law pulled off a surprise party. She’s very thoughtful and knew exactly how to help me feel loved. Her kids are keeping me young. I have the privilege of homeschooling them in this season of life. It’s quite full. And hey, I love the thought of being elite…thank you!!

Leave a Reply

