A Taste of Heaven

Standard

Flying home from Darla’s gave me time alone with the Lord after three days of meeting old friends.  (Old friends, but new “in the flesh.”)

It was an amazing time of seeing people I’ve had a heart connection with for quite a while, but haven’t had a chance to meet face to face.  It reminded me of the verse about seeing in a mirror darkly (indirectly), but someday we’ll see clearly and be known as we are known.  The meaning of that came alive for me as I spent time with Darla and Debs.

These two lovely ladies are bringing glory to God in all aspects of their lives.  They’re great witnesses of God’s redeeming love and the grace He extends to His children.  Getting to know them face to face, after knowing them indirectly, has made them more a part of me, more real, somehow. 

Which takes me back to that scripture reference:

Love never ends. But if there are prophecies, they will be set aside; if there are tongues, they will cease; if there is knowledge, it will be set aside. For we know in part, and we prophesy in part, but when what is perfect comes, the partial will be set aside. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. But when I became an adult, I set aside childish ways.  For now we see in a mirror indirectly, but then we will see face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know fully, just as I have been fully known.  And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love. ~1 Corinthians 13:8-13

Knowing these ladies through their blog posts, and our times IMing, has made me aware of their minds and hearts…of the way they think and the things they love.  But seeing them face to face, holding them in my arms, looking into their eyes, experiencing the love they have for me, praying with them and having them pray for me…

Well…it was better than good.  Better than great!

Actually, I think it was a taste of heaven.  A glimpse of what it will be like to see Jesus face to face. 

I know He loves me.  I’ve read His word.  I know He prays for me and desires only what is good for my life.  I know He is real.  We communicate all day long…but…

He hasn’t literally held me in His arms.  Yes, I’ve felt His love in my spirit.  But one day I will see, touch, and experience His love face to face.

“What a day that will be, when my Jesus I will see!”

And He gave me a taste of this heavenly experience this past week. 

If you don’t already know the body of Christ is real and the love of the brethren is abounding . . . well, I am sorry about that. 

I’ve felt it. 

I’ve lived it.

The flight across America back to my home state, soaring through the clouds, seeing His majesty in the heavens, remembering our time together face to face . . . made my heart sing:

When we all get to heaven, what a day of rejoicing that will be.
When we all see Jesus, we’ll sing and shout the victory!!”

5 responses »

  1. beautiful! just a taste of heaven…a glimpse into the bride of Christ getting ready for her bridegroom, and feeling our places in the body of Christ…it seems that every time i feel it, i long for it more…God is alive, active, and so loving and patient. Enjoyed you very much, hope that you will think and do this again..so much we haven’t done and so much we didn’t get to see…

  2. I’m coming back, Darla! You can count on it. And this next time I’ll bring my family, if you’ll have ’em. Thank you for loving me and sharing yourself so completely.

    Love you, Princess! 😉

  3. No fair my sister, you made me cry….again. 🙂 Happy tears though. What a beautiful picture you have painted of our time together. I keep remembering different things, everything we had those three days from the uncontrolled laughter to just sitting, and “letting it all out”. Our Lord did a seemingly quick and powerful work in each of us while we were together…and I know it will continue. I am blessed to have a few more days with this family…every minute is precious.

    Remember, we can do all things through Him who strengthens us…all things. I look forward to our next “reunion”, and so blessed to “see” Him as well through the actions and words that took place.

    I love you…

  4. “Our Lord did a seemingly quick and powerful work in each of us while we were together…”

    Hey, Debs! I felt I experienced the words “divine appointment” once more. It’s not happened too many times in my life, but each time has been an unforgettable memory.

    I’m so glad to have you in my brain’s filing system of “unforgettable people in my life.”

    I love you…

  5. I GET THIS!!! Oh yes – I think this SO many times with the friends I am so blessed to have in my life. Praise the Lord! I’m so glad you had such a great time!

Leave a comment