Only You

Standard

The One True God of the Universe pursues man. 

The One. There is no other. 
The True. All else is false. 
The God of the Universe.

No corner is unexplored by Him.  
He created it all. Every infinitesimal molecule. 
And yet, the expansion is in His hands.
Under His control.

This God pursues me?!

Why? I have nothing to give. I have nothing He needs.

Yet, His desire is for me.

My desires run the gamut.
I want little things…stuff that doesn’t amount to much.
I want big things…stuff that I could never afford.
Just stuff.

I pursue stuff.

God pursues me.

Oh Father, make me pursue You.
Take the stuff away I think is important.
Let me know You are the only One worthy.

You are all that matters.
Without You, life is just stuff.

Make me cling to You.  Only You.

This is real love.
It is not that we loved God, but that He loved us
And sent His Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins.
~1 John 4:10

For the world offers only the lust for physical pleasure,
The lust for everything we see, and pride in our possessions.
These are not from the Father. They are from this evil world.
~1 John 2:16

Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness.
~Jesus

17 responses »

  1. This is beauiful.

    That the God of the whole Universe chooses to pursue man blows me away too.

    I echo your prayer: that we may cling to Him and desperately pursue Him.

  2. As usual – i have a different ‘perspective’ to some 🙂

    If He’s pursuing you, and He is everywhere and in every ‘thing’ – why not just STOP and let Him catch up with you?

    Why persue him (running around and seeking him over here or over there?? in this or in that?) Just stop and let Him BE in you – don’t fight it just surrender to Him and let Him teach you. Reach you.

    Be patient – your own momentum has to have time to ‘die down’.

    Your desires are YOUR desires – learn how they become so important to you then learn how to ‘unlearn’ them so that His Desire is able to fill you ‘up’. Just let Him fill up your Spirit and soul while you remove your physical body’s ‘desires’ for things of the physical earth from it’s ‘pride of place’ in your life.

    This is much better than asking for ‘stuff’ to be taken away from you as ‘stuff’ will ALWAYS be present – better to learn how to remove your own desire for it – which needs us to understand where they come from in the first place and how to not form those attachments to them in our future.

    🙂

    <B

  3. “Just stop and let Him BE in you – don’t fight it just surrender to Him and let Him teach you. Reach you.”

    Hey, Love. I think we do this at different levels throughout our lives. I think the more we let go of our desires and seek His face, we move from glory to glory, thus bringing Him more glory through our lives.

    And then, sometimes we get stuck. As Rain has said, it’s the proverbial rock and a hard place. We know the fire of purification will be excruciatingly painful, but to be more intimate with Him keeps drawing us closer. Being in that sanctifying process is never easy. He keeps turning up the fire and more dross comes to the surface. Thankfully, He continues the process until we see Him face to face…

    …then we will be as He is.

    Until then, the flesh lures. We can live in victory through His Spirit. But we also need to realize, it’s a process. One which will not be over until this mortal puts on immortality.

  4. Hi Sis – i hope i am wrong.. but your last line in that comment seems to imply that you do not allow for such a possibility this side of your body’s physical death.

    i am of the opinion that Christ AND Paul both taught that it is possible to ‘die’ to the flesh and gain the ‘immortality’ of being IN Spirit and doing ONLY the Father’s will THIS side of our own death. (since the time of Christ’s returning to His Father in heaven).

    We are to ‘die’ to the desires of the flesh and live only under the guidance of our Spirit, through our Faith being ‘perfected’.

    We can both have a physical body and not be completely (or even partially) ruled by it’s desires.

    At least such is MY Hope – through Christ’s promise and example and the words of Paul.

    i agree tit IS a ‘process’ and not something you just ‘get’ through a symbolic baptism or saying you accept Christ for example, I’ll let you know if/when i achieve it – i promise. 😉

    we probably won’t if we are ‘certain’ it cannot be done on this side of our death. if our ‘certain hope’ is in something that cannot be achieved while we yet ‘live’.

    <B

  5. “If He’s pursuing you, and He is everywhere and in every ‘thing’ – why not just STOP and let Him catch up with you?”~BLOVE

    i think in our humanness we are just not that smrt! we are so full of ourself and yet HE pursues to put us back on the right track..today HE will not pursue me, I will pursue HIM, in my rightful place…what a beautiful thing that our Creator would care enough to pursue us, when like children we are insistent on thinking we already know the way.

    Good one Michelle, and good stuff there LOVE!

  6. Yet what we suffer now is nothing compared to the glory He will give us later. For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who His children really are. Against its will, everything on earth was subjected to God’s curse. All creation anticipates the day when it will join God’s children in glorious freedom from death and decay. For we know that all creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. And even we Christians, although we have the Holy Spirit within us as a foretaste of future glory, also groan to be released from pain and suffering. We, too, wait anxiously for that day when God will give us our full rights as His children, including the new bodies He has promised us. Now that we are saved, we eagerly look forward to this freedom. For if you already have something, you don’t need to hope for it. ~Romans 8:18-25

    This passage speaks of the struggle in the flesh better than I can say, Love. To be free from this body of sin and death, to have our full rights as His children revealed, to know Him as He is, and to be known by Him in perfect holiness…that’s the blessed hope for which I’m waiting. I will continue the “struggle” as long as I’m in this body of flesh. It can get better and better, but to reach perfection…??? Not on this dark side of the mirror:

    Now we see things imperfectly as in a poor mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity. All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God knows me now.

    Thanks, Darla. Hey, I think your news is sad. I understand what you’re saying, I get fixing our focus…but still…I think I’m grieving the loss of your blog. 😦 I love you, Princess!

  7. i FULLY concur with the passage from Romans Sis 🙂
    Sometimes my perception is not as the ‘majority’ however. i trust it is of His Truth, even considering it may be seen from a less than perfect ‘mirror/lens’ ( THROUGH a glass darkly)

    as to our ‘New Body’. i offer for your further consideration:

    our flesh body is given to us through God ( and our own parent’s input) the body we are given is NOT the one we have today and neither will it be the one we eventually die in.

    It changes with our ‘seasons’

    He was the original ‘source but we have had considerable ‘input into it also – what we eat, what we don’t eat, what we drink, what we dont drink, etc.

    So to our intellect ‘body’ which we have had with us since birth is not as it was nor as it will be when we ‘leave’ it. It has grown from what we have CHOSEN to add to it, what it ‘eats’ and digests and what it does not.

    Why then should our SPIRIT Body be any different?

    we should not just wait for Him to ‘fill it up’ – so that it grows from a babe to a youth, to an adult and into maturity, but we should feed it also that it become for us a ‘new body’ that we live permanently IN and not just in the flesh one.

    We can learn to live with our Spirit Body being the ‘Master’ and our flesh body it’s servant, not the other way around as almost all do still today.

    and according as to how Jesus lived life on this earth – we ourselves are to be servant to Him who is above all, as both a Child and Heir, and not be as Lucifer and try to assume that, in becoming a Spiritual master, we are equal with or superior to Him.

    While i agree that True and Total ‘perfection’ can only come after we leave this world completely, but that is not to say we cannot learn to live a ‘perfect’ life here on earth if we learn how to live only from His Spirit that exists within us all, but which we are free to choose grow into so that we might better ‘follow’, or ignore.

    Such is my Hope and faith…

    <B

  8. I know what you mean Michelle, when you get a glimpse of how truly beyond words God is, how awesome He is, it’s so incredible that He should pursue us. That He loves us so deeply, and knows every singe thing about us.

    “what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him?” Ps.8:4

  9. Hi Sis – it’s been a week now since a post? Just sayin’ 🙂

    Hope you are gaining in Strength and enjoying life in the Sunshine.

    Have a Great Independence Day!

    Have tou seen Tam’s Thursday Swap this week?

    <B

  10. i really did deliver her back to her family…donn’t know why she isn’t here..

    OH MICHELLE!!!!!! HOW U DOIN??

  11. Hey, Darla! I’m here!! Made it safely home.

    What a wonderful time in PA. Thanks for being such an awesome hostess, Darla. I’m VERY tired today, not even out of my pajamas. Hope y’all are all well.

    Tomorrow will be another huge day for you and yours. Have a great day at Bad’s and give him a hug and Leah a kiss from me! Oh yes, and tell Ric and Patti, “Hi y’all” from me! 😉

    Hey, Birg! It does blow my mind that He cares for us. And yet, I’m so thankful for His love, mercy and compassion. Won’t it be an amazing day when we get to see Him and know Him as we are fully known? I love you, Birg. Hope you’re well.

    Hey, Love! I’ve been out of state and have tried to stay offline as much as possible, wanting the face to face with Darla and Debs. We had a wonderful time together. I haven’t been reading blogs this week…need to go check out Thursday swap and your Thankful Thursday post. It’s good to know you didn’t forget me while I was away. 😉 ♥

  12. I pursue stuff.

    God pursues me.

    Wow. Putting it that way really impacted me. How shallow we are. “Seek first …” He’s always wanted us to want Him. Such an undivided Lover.

  13. I’ve been praying, Sparkle, for Him to change my “want to”…as Darla puts it…

    I want to want Him above all else. He’s calling me closer and closer. Please pray I’ll keep hearing Him…and wanting Him.

  14. Michaela, I have no doubts that He will and you will. Why? Because I see that your heart is undivided. Yes, there are things you face, as does everyone, but your heart is undivided in pursuit of Him, and love for Him and His Word. I truly do see this. However, because you asked …

    Father, be lifted up in Michelle’s life. Shine brighter than the first dawn of day and reveal to her your concealed glory. Make known to her the secret places and sustain her with raisin cakes. Comfort her with these words, and allow her heart to be at peace. Your wall is broken down, but I Myself will be a wall to you. I will shelter you with My own wings and care for you with My own hands. You are dear to my heart, and I love to call you mine. I do not let go of those I love, but hold them fast, tenderly caring for them as a good shepherd. Allow your heart to rest. That is all. You will feel me. You will hear me. I’m not that far. Be calm and rest.

    You are so loved, my sister.

Leave a Reply

