If I Feel This Way?

Standard

What’s wrong with the world that we can’t just hold one another when it hurts?

Why do we have to be so far removed from each other?

Why are the walls so tall, so thick . . . impenetrable?

Why do we have to experience so much pain?

When people are dying all around and we’re helpless to change anything . . .

WHY????????

I KNOW my God is the answer for this imperfect world.  I have no question there. 

If I care this much, being a puny human made in His image, then His love, His grace, His mercy, His compassion, His understanding of all we endure must be so much greater, so much higher than my thoughts.  He is far beyond what my mind can conceive. 

When the whys of life cause such despair I’m not sure if I can take anymore, I must return to the truth of Him.  I must put my questions aside and remember what I’ve learned.

Oh, what a wonderful God we have!
How great are His riches and wisdom and knowledge!
How impossible it is for us to understand His decisions and His methods!
~Romans 11:33

When I am afraid, I will trust in you.
In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid.
What can mortal man do to me?
~Psalms 56:3-4

I guess what I’m trying to say . . . I can’t reach everyone.  In reality, I can’t reach anyone.  I’m only one small human in this world, wanting to change people’s desperate lives . . . wanting to give all of me, for you.

And if I feel this way . . . me . . . a corrupt, sinful person . . . impotent to do anything, really . . . please . . .

. . . please, understand how great is the Father’s love for you.

He gave His one and only Son . . . for you.

He paid the ultimate price and became the perfect sacrifice to take away your sins, so you can spend eternity with Him.  He has prepared a place for all who believe in Him. 

It will be beyond anything we could ever ask or think, where we will be able to hold one another in pure love and understand the completeness of His plan.

It’s not pie-in-the-sky theology.  It’s Truth . . . with a capital T!

May you experience the love of Christ,
though it is so great you will never fully understand it.
Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God.
Now glory be to God!
By His mighty power at work within us,
He is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope.
~Ephesians 3:18-20

16 responses »

  1. So good. So true. If we love … how much more does He. So very true – and also *almost* an understatement. His love is so far beyond ours that only a most generous God could say that the one resembled the other. Yet He does. How great is His love ….

  2. You know, I know all of these things and believe all of these things, but every time I hear someone say it again like this… it overwhelms me like I just heard it for the first time. Like it’s a big hug enveloping me.

    I think it’s because I just can’t wrap my mind around the vastness of it.

    Thanks for that hug today, friend 🙂

  3. Amen, Annie. I think this feeling I have must be from the Spirit. Would I even have it on my own? I don’t think so. I truly do believe human love is so corrupted in comparison to God’s eternal love.

    Hey, Sara. I can’t wait for the day when I get to really hug you. And there won’t be ANY pain involved! How cool is that?

    Good morning Angie and Ric. Good to “see” y’all here. Blessings!

    Welcome, Deneen. I’ll check out your blog today. God bless you.

  4. now that ive heard your voice, i can hear you pleading with us to understand this. to comprehend and embrace it…for Truth! for the Truth that it is!

  5. This is a great post and reminder to always seek the Truth, and to worship in Spirit and Truth…

    …nothing puny about being created in the image of my GOD..now to wrap my head around it and to live there!

  6. Hey, girls! I’m so ready to wrap my arms around you two and let you KNOW how much I love y’all! I can’t see it happening this side of heaven…so I’m thinking…bring it on, Lord! Isn’t it about time?!!?

  7. “I truly do believe human love is so corrupted in comparison to God’s eternal love.”

    I wonder. God created us in his own image, and God is love, so maybe …

    But, as humans, we so often mistake other things for love: desire, affection, need – maybe it’s our love sensors that are corrupt! And when the spirit helps us to see clearly, we recognise the love welling up inside ourselves (and others), that God put there in the first place.

    Don’t seem to be able to make a coherent point with this! Maybe I shouldn’t try when I need to sleep!!

    Thanks for making me think (again) Michelle. 🙂

  8. Hey, Alan! “But, as humans, we so often mistake other things for love: desire, affection, need – maybe it’s our love sensors that are corrupt!”

    Maybe so. I think when we have the Spirit within, we finally have a chance to see love in its fullness. Until then, I’m not sure it’s possible to be totally selfless in love…I mean, giving without expecting to receive in return.

    Yeah, I’ve been trying to track down this whole thought today. Some interesting things are said about being created in the image of God…still pondering…chewing, as Annie would say.

    You’ve made me think too. 😉

  9. You know our Savior died with his arms out stretched. When we see him again they will be outstretched for us to embrace Him.

    We are worth far more to Him, we wallow in insignificance because we are human, but to Him each once of his children has value.

    Mathew 10 : 26-31 “So do not be afraid of them. There is nothing concealed that will not be disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known. 27What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs. 28Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. 29Are not two sparrows sold for a penny[d]? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. 30And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 31So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

  10. “You know our Savior died with his arms outstretched. When we see him again they will be outstretched for us to embrace Him.”

    Beautiful imagery. What a day that will be!

    Wallowing in insignificance…I think we teach each other how to do that. We put each other down from a very early age and call it “socialization.” But I won’t get on that soapbox…way off topic.

    We’re not insignificant or He would not have cared to create us in the first place. Then to come to redeem us for Himself…yeah, we are of utmost importace to Him. He does love us more than we can begin to comprehend.

    Thanks for the passage, Carl. I needed to be reminded of His care for His children. 😉

  11. In every one of the why questions we many times get overwhelmed because providing an answer on such a large scale is so above us. I have noticed though that in everyone of the big why questions there is something we can do on a small more personal level to make a difference. I may not be able to feed all of the hungry people in the world but I can feed the one I come across in the street. I may not be able to change the fact that someone I know relative died in a terrible accident but I can go and cry with them.

    I heard a story once about a older man walking down a beach one day and saw a young boy picking up star fish that were being washed up in by the tide and throwing them back into the ocean. The older more wiser man walked up to the boy and said “Son do you know that you are waisting your time because for everyone that you pick up and throw back there are ten more that wash in. You are not making a difference.” The boy looked at the star fish in his hand then looked back at the man and and said “I am making a difference for this one.” The man looked at the boy for a few minutes and then picked up a star fish and joined the boy throwing them in the ocean.

    I think that the “why questions” are designed to lead us to “what questions” we can do and not what we can’t. That at least give me hope.

Leave a Reply

