Sanctify Them in Truth

Standard

A Blogged Bible Study entry for John 17:

HAGIAZO is rendered sanctified, holy, honored, sanctify, consecrated, hallow

1) to render or acknowledge, or to be venerable or hallow
2) to separate from profane things and dedicate to God
2a) consecrate things to God
2b) dedicate people to God
3) to purify
3a) to cleanse externally
3b) to purify by expiation: free from the guilt of sin
3c) to purify internally by renewing of the soul

To be holy is to be “other,” to be different in a special way. The same basic meaning is used when the word holy is applied to earthly things….The things that are holy are things that are set apart, separated from the rest. They have been consecrated, separated from the commonplace, unto the Lord and His service….

References given in the video ~ 

Jesus prays for all those the Father has given Him:

“Sanctify them (set them apart) in the truth; Your word is truth. As You sent Me into the world, I also have sent them into the world. For their sakes I sanctify Myself (I am set apart), that they themselves also may be sanctified (set apart) in truth.” 
~John 17:17-19

We know He prays this for us, as well as His disciples:

“I do not ask on behalf of these alone, but for those also who believe in Me through their word”  ~John 17:20

Speaking of Christ and the church:

“…so that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word…”  ~Ephesians 5:26

Please don’t misunderstand.  I am not speaking of being taken out of the world.  Jesus makes that point, also, in this chapter.  I am discussing the internal work that immediately follows justification.  God does the work and He has declared us holy…sanctified…set apart unto Him, for His service.  We cooperate in this work of sanctification by learning from, and leaning on Him.

Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. ~Philippians 3:13-14

35 responses »

  1. tears rolling down my face in joy to see you on here..clapping my hands and yelling “yay”..you are so beautiful, and your accent is not that strong…but Your Message – whoa baby! you nailed it….and I could have sit through another 20 minutes of teaching under you…I just may watch it again before I go back to work!

    Sanctified…I am set apart for Christ. Its all about HIM..love you now I am smiling! I was with sad tears all morning, and God is good to turn me around here right now..thanks Michelle!!!!

  2. Your avatars have always been very telling to me. What a huge step this is for you.

    Here’s a big virtual hug for you!!!

    Peter says in Acts, “Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord.”

    May you enjoy a time of refreshing today that comes from the Lord.

  3. I am so glad that the rest of you FINALLY get to see my beautiful better half.

    The best part is getting to discuss these topics with Michelle, though not to the depths we would like due to time contraints.

    But it has been fun for 25 years learning and growing together in Christ.

    Preach on, babe!!!

  4. Michelle, I LOVED THIS!! How fantastic it is to see you “in person,” and also to hear all the amazing knowledge God’s given you. Can I just say you’re beautiful and Jesus’ warmth flows from you!

    So much of what you said stood out for me, but especially when you talked about taking the name “Christian” – “like Christ” – wow, what a responsibility and a privilege.

    Your teaching has been such a blessing today, thanks and lots of love.

  5. Hey, Darla! I didn’t come across too Texan for you? I’m glad you could understand me. To be able to sit together and teach one another — wow! I want that day! Sorry about your tears today, I do hope your day has improved. Love you! 😉

    Good morning, Bad! I will take that “big virtual hug” from you. Thanks. Also, the verse, it’s beautiful…”times of refreshing that come from the Lord.” The wonder of repenting and being washed clean. Love it! Love you. Oh…and LOVE your avatar!!

    Hey, Phat! You’re all that!!!!!! 😀 You are my hero.

    Wow, thank you, Birg! The words about seeing Jesus’ warmth coming from me…I think that of you! Your beauty and teaching amaze me day after day after day! Lots of love to you!

  6. Michelle! Well hello you! It is SO nice to put a voice with the words. Now when I am reading your blogs I can hear YOU speaking to me. 🙂 I love that!

    How sweet what your husband said. That is one of the most wonderful things when you have a strong godly husband to be able to talk about stuff. What a treasure.

    I know that some others have said it – but it is so true – you are beautiful! Especially that sweet smile.

    Thanks for putting this up.

  7. your spoken word is just as soothing as your written word. and i, too, could’ve listened for a lot longer than 9 minutes!

    thank you. i know that was a big step for you. and im wondering…why did you wait so long? you’re beautiful, poised, confident and secure in Him…its Him – thats who i saw and heard in this video, i love it!

    every time i think of the word Holy, i think of Deb. every time i think of the definition “Set Apart”, i think of Deb, brent and i were privileged at one time to be able to help her produce and record an album project called “set apart” title song being “holy”. it is amazing! if you havent heard it – get in touch with her and ask her about it.

    love you sis. and thank you for this wonderful study and walking alongside us so lovingly, sharpening and guiding one another along the way. thats what its about…

  8. A video! A VIDEO! My kingdom for a video!

    Alas, I must endure many afternoon hours before I return home and see this. Looking forward to it. Please don’t take it down between now and then.

  9. Oh… Michelle… I am so glad I didn’t wait tell the morning to stop by… This made my long day so much brighter.

    We are refined everyday closer and closer to purity. Not until we see him face to face will we be glorified. …

    This was just so awesome… My wife’s smile is second to none… I just love to see her smile. So I know Phat loves to see yours…. Thanks For this Michelle.

    All the love of Christ sister.
    P.S. Doing a little happy dance because of this post.

  10. Thanks, Angie. My husband is my greatest earthly treasure. I’m a very blessed woman.

    Hey, Tam. This was the scariest thing I’ve done in a LONG time. But I decided I needed to become a bit more personable. I think I do have that CD from Deb — I’ll look for that particular song.

    Man! Ric, I sure hope you aren’t disappointed. Too high of expectations scare me spitless…yes, I said SPITless. 😉

    I’m so glad you didn’t wait either, Carl. Some Friday’s I wonder if you’ll ever read. (No, really, I DO understand you’re all about the games on Fridays!)

    “We are refined everyday closer and closer to purity. Not until we see him face to face will we be glorified.”

    Amen, Carl. It’s a refining, beautifying, lifetime process.

    Love Y’all!

  11. Ok … I don’t have a video camera!!!!! But you single-handedly made me want to post one. 🙂

    GREAT info, VERY informative – I love how you so clearly defined sanctification for us.

    But in reality I was having trouble absorbing what you were saying. Because I was so focused on absorbing you! 😀 I’m sure this was scary for you, but don’t feel that way any more! All you’ve produced is smiles. 🙂 And personally, I don’t think I would have had any different response had you video-taped this in bed ala-natural. (PS: you have a conservatory?!) (Oh, and isn’t your hair curly? … I think I remember? …) Things I loved the most: your hands. Don’t know why, but they’re exactly you. and I don’t have a better way to describe that. You’ve also got these little expressions that flit across your face from time to time … so very you. And I like the partial dimple you’ve got – I’ve got one too! Although it’s so partial that I’ve only had one or two people say anything … and even I can only kinda make a sorta dimple appear every once in awhile myself (when looking in the mirror of course). All that to say … you did look beautiful … but I want you to hear me. You looked beautiful. Not your hair, makeup, and clothes. I know that made you feel more beautiful … but … the real beauty is you. Hair straighteners and makeup brushes don’t get the glory for that. 🙂 K. I *might* be off my soap box.

    You will find as you get to know me (maybe you already do well enough) that I am one who looks for and notices all (without meaning en-total – I’m not God) the beauties and uniquenesses of everyone around me. I love that people are different. I really do. And I love noticing those differences and celebrating them. God is so amazing. The way He makes so many people with so many variations and designs – and then the rest of creation, too! How beautiful and amazing. YOU are a beautiful part … and your heart is the most beautiful. Thanks for being brave my sister … and … I have my name for you, I think.

    You are Michaela. 🙂 I think that fits you quite well.

    ♥ U Michaela!

  12. Thank you for this video bible study. You are a very beautiful woman gently speaking truth. I hope you continue making these!

  13. Thank you, Scott. I need to be reminded many times a day! 😉

    Wow, Annie! Yes, I can tell you’re an artist. I do the very same thing. I’m sure people would think I’m crazy if they knew how many times I watch their videos just to memorize all the things about them — to try and absorb their essence. It is truly amazing how God created us all so unique.

    Yes, I have a conservatory! After living in England it was a must. I also get very sad without sunlight and that’s a way to feel brighter on gloomy days. My hair is curly. I’ve been straightening it recently. It usually looks like it does in the avatar.

    Michaela…that’s a very girly form of Mike…thanks! I ♥ Sparkle!

    Thank you, Selena. Your videos gave me the idea. I don’t know if I’ll continue, but thanks for the suggestion. 😉

  14. Very cool Michelle! So are all Texan women photogenic, articulate and smart? Thanks for the lesson and for steppin out! You are amazing in this vid. You know this right?

  15. MICHELLE!!!! Oh, you just brightened up a very looooong day! I watched twice, because as Annie said I was so paying attention to you that I forgot to pay attention to what you were saying. And both were equally important and beautiful.

    And I think you should record relaxation tapes because your voice could seriously sooth me to sleep… 🙂

    So glad to SEE and HEAR you!!!!! 🙂

  16. Thank you, Sara. Relaxation tapes!?! Maybe I could make some money???

    I’m sorry you’ve had a long day. Some days can drag so slowly…and painfully. Hey, check your mail. Unless I got the address wrong, you should have a note from me. 😉

  17. I have such a Beautiful sister! and I dont mean just physically, but emotionally and spiritually!

    What a wonderful post – something I needed to hear this morning. I was getting on here to share another Blog with you (http://blog.cultivateyourfamily.com/), and was blessed to be able to hear this.

  18. Hey, Burt!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR BUUUUURRRRTOOOOON!!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!

    You’re SO old!! 😆

    Oh, yeah…thanks. You’re also a sweetheart and a wonderful father! I’ll check out that blog — looks interesting.

    LOVE YOU SO MUCH!! 😉

  19. it finally loaded. and i finally got to “meet” you. well, “see” you.

    you are beautiful. i think i said that (out loud) a half dozen times as i watched the video (ask my husband). you are so articulate and well-spoken. (i wish i had that gift).

    i love your heart. and i love getting to see YOU.

    we’ll meet someday. i know it.

  20. “we’ll meet someday. i know it.”

    That would be incredible, Alece. I think we’d have lots to share. 😉

    And as for wishing you had a gift of speaking, you certainly do with writing. I’m sure it spills over into your speaking, as well. Thank you for the uplifting words. ♥ U!

  21. Yup…you are still so cute and smart.. 🙄

    I was thinking about how you miss teaching…and how you are so good at it…maybe you need to make a teaching page…and from your home you could post us a lesson, and give us home work… I want to put “lol” but I am serious…ever think about that? just me and my over active brain…love you!

  22. That’s quite an idea you have there, Darla. I wonder if it would be something that would work? I’ve never thought about it…I’m not sure if I should add the lol or consider it…??? 🙄 <<<<<that’s me considering… 😉

    Thank you, Papa! I know sanctification is not a new concept to you. I hear it in your posts and comments. It’s nice having met you, too. 🙂

  23. Michelle: I’ve heard that voice, now I get to see and hear you for reals…. 😆

    Love you and pray for you every day…

    You have taken that step and blessed so many….I praise Him for you!

  24. I agree with everyone else here. You are excellent on camera, and have a knack for communicating. Perhaps you’d like to try your hand at television news? 🙂

  25. Beautiful message, especially with the beautiful life shining through it!

    You almost make me want to ‘come out of the dark’ too…
    ALMOST, but not quite =).
    A blog could possibly be in the works for next year, but that will have to be CLEARLY GOD-directed for my even doing that.

    Thanks for sharing yourself with us through ALL the senses (except smell — hey, do they have ‘scratch & sniff’ on computer yet =)?

    D-

  26. Hahaha…you’re funny, Tim! 😉

    Please do, Laz!! I want to see you and have your wisdom available to read. Of course, only if it’s in God’s plan for you; but you know, I kind of think it might be!! (just a little nudge there 🙂 )

  27. I’m so sorry I got to this so late.

    You are so beautiful, inside and out.

    Thank you so much for sharing yourself, your wisdom and your encouragement.

    I needed to hear this message today. Thank you.

    I love you.

Leave a Reply

