Living Your Convictions

Standard

Mandy reminded me today of one of my favorite authors: Corrie ten Boom

After hiding Jews during WWII for the Dutch underground, and then surviving Ravensbrück concentration camp, Corrie ten Boom wrote her story: The Hiding Place.

She has been my hero from the moment I completed her book in high school.  I recently read it again and was amazed at her bravery and tenacity.  I hope to have the same kind of faith and courage if ever faced again with the horrors of WWII.  I will stand with the Nation of Israel.

Here are some of her words of wisdom:

“Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.”

“The first step on the way to victory is to recognize the enemy.”

“Joy runs deeper than despair.”

“Discernment is God’s call to intercession, never to faultfinding.”

“When a train goes through a tunnel and it gets dark, you don’t throw away the ticket and jump off. You sit still and trust the engineer.”

“Forgiveness is an act of the will, and the will can function regardless of the temperature of the heart.”

Corrie’s sister, Betsie, died in Ravensbrück.  Before she died she told Corrie,

“There is no pit so deep that God’s love is not deeper still.”

I’m challenged by these saints of the Lord.

Any thoughts?

19 responses »

  1. Yes, it is. This passage came to mind, Nor:

    Where can I go to escape Your spirit?
    Where can I flee to escape Your presence?
    If I were to ascend to heaven, You would be there.
    If I were to sprawl out in Sheol, there You would be.
    If I were to fly away on the wings of the dawn,
    And settle down on the other side of the sea,
    Even there Your hand would guide me,
    Your right hand would grab hold of me.
    If I were to say, “Certainly the darkness will cover me,
    And the light will turn to night all around me,”
    Even the darkness is not too dark for You to see,
    And the night is as bright as day;
    Darkness and light are the same to You.

    ~Psalm 139:7-12

    I think this means even when we can’t look up, He’s there. Just like the footprints in the sand. Love you, Nor.

  2. WOW. Yeah, I read The Hiding Place in high school too. These heroes stood strong in the face of deep blackness, and shone a great light. This quote:

    “Discernment is God’s call to intercession, never to faultfinding.”

    …nailed me right between the eyes. I need to emblazon that someplace. My hand maybe. Wow.

  3. Yeah, Annie. That one hit me hard too. 😐

    I love her down-to-earth wisdom. She was willing to share her failings to exalt the Lord, to bring Him glory in her transformed life.

  4. I always loved her too. I always admired her faith. She never allowed a person to steal her hope, and she never stopped believing HE was right there with her. Loved how she had conversations with HIM in the open and soldiers thought she was crazy, and talking to herself. HE was that real to her, HE is that real to me too…

    I am feeling much better, and wanted you to know. Thank you for your prayers they are precious to me! love you!

  5. Great thoughts in there, Michelle.

    I like them all, especially this one:

    “Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.”

    Need that one to keep going…

  6. I’m so glad you’re feeling better, Darla. Yes, you have been in my prayers. I’ve missed you.

    Her relationship with the Lord was real and personal. Mine is too. I don’t know how to be any other way with Him. I talk out loud to Him LOTS and He speaks to my heart.

    I need that one too, Sherma. The future can appear so scary to me, but I know He sees the end from the beginning and in the seeing He provides.

  7. “When a train goes through a tunnel and it gets dark, you don’t throw away the ticket and jump off. You sit still and trust the engineer.”

    I love this!!!! Still trusting…love you Michelle! 🙂

  8. Hey, Birg! She was quite a saint, full of wisdom and godliness.

    Me too, Debs! I’m not about to jump off, it’s just not safe in the dark.

    Love both of you ladies! Blessings.

  9. Corrie Ten Boom has some of the BEST quotes I’ve ever run into… Crazy thing is, I’ve never read her bio… It’s on my list, but I’ve never gotten to it.

  10. Her story is amazing, Mandy. I think you would love it. She’s very real about her weaknesses, a characteristic I greatly admire.

  11. same as mandy. ive read so many of her quotes but never her bio. today as i was driving she was on the radio and i was mesmerized by her. what strength and wisdom and beautiful perspective on life.probably one of the most inspiring people i know of.

  12. Okay, that sinks it. The pastor has to get the book now and read it. It’ll be on my reading list page on my blog as soon as I can find it. Sounds good. I’ve heard a lot about her, and know she loved the Lord. Thanks for bringing this out.

Leave a comment