What is Our Purpose?

Standard

paisleyperson
Artist: Itokashi

I saw this on Facebook (thank you, Princess).

I’ve believed this for many years. Even when living in difficult circumstances and not-so-desirable surroundings, I knew I was there for a purpose. He must have a reason for placing me, at this point in time, among these people.

I do believe He ordains our moments. And, in that, He must be concerned about those who cross our paths. I think He does as He wills among the inhabitants of the earth and He is greatly concerned for our well-being and character development (Psalm 139; Dan 4:35; Psalm 33:14; 1 Pet 5:7; Psalm 55:22; James 1:2-4; Hebrews 12:6; 1 John 4:20).

These beliefs lead me to understand I am not to live for self.

I am not here for me.
I am here for Him.

He leads me down the path He desires.
He determines the people who will cross my path.
How, then, am I to live?

In love.
With love.
Through Love.

The waitress with the attitude?
The neighbor with the pit bulls?
The friend asking, once again, for money?

How am I to live with all who cross my path…and with those He has placed in my life…for a lifetime…for a season…or…only…for a moment…?

With kindness.
With patience.
With humility.

Without arrogance.
Without rudeness.
Without counting faults.

With grace…
For the moment
And a lifetime.

Bearing.
Believing.
Hoping.
Enduring.

ALL. THINGS.

It seems outrageous.
It’s too much to ask.
It’s more than any of us can do.
On our own.
But, in Him…

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.

It’s called Love.
God, in me,
Loving others, through me.

Oh, what a purpose-filled life!

12 responses »

  1. Bearing, believing, hoping, enduring. Part of my credo if i recall…? 1 Cor 13:7 πŸ˜‰

    Crossing paths for a reason? I am curious as to how our paths crossed once more? πŸ™‚

    Very good post btw 9 I can learn from this.

    Sorry to read of your pain.

    Love you Sis.

    God Bless.

  2. Yep. Your credo and mine! πŸ™‚

    I don’t know how I found your blog. I was reading someone’s (a random one I’ve never read and can’t remember the name) blog and saw a comment by Bob. Sounded like you and the avatar seemed like you… Once I started reading, there was no doubt!

    A brother from another mother…can’t be lost forever.

    I’ve been praying for you…on and off…over the years. So glad to have come across your path once more. I don’t believe in coincidence. πŸ˜‰

  3. I thank you for your prayer Michelle, it certainly seems as though someone has been ‘putting in a good word or two’ for me :-).

    I would not say my health was better than the last time we spoke, i do not expect a degenerative condition to be ( miracles aside πŸ˜‰ ), but i certainly am no worse. It has been 14 months now since i had a catheter surgically implanted that would enable me to perform dialysis at home, with the belief that i would commence in the couple of months following. As yet i still do not feel the need, my doctors assure me i will when the time comes, but as yet, thank God, i am alive and kicking, even if i don’t kick quite as high these days ;-).

    As you rightly say, we are to be sifted (amongst other things) and contrary to man’s normal way of thinking, there is an awful lot that needs to be sifted through. ( sigh indeed).

    Fortunately for you and me, we have faith in our Great Sustainer who we can turn to for help in the process, who we can learn from, have an example in and who keeps us and watches over us so that we endure, even through the hardest of trials.

    We may not fully understand the reasons just yet or fully get the many lessons we have need of to learn, but i am confident that if we live in spirit and do as we know we should (through seeking to know Him better each day) the Victory can be ours. πŸ™‚

    Let me know if there is anything i can do to help out, ‘k?

    Love you Sis

    <B

  4. BTW.. i did not mention it before, but this post was something special – it had a message for me i needed to read πŸ™‚ A purpose to life indeed!

  5. Fortunately for you and me, we have faith in our Great Sustainer who we can turn to for help in the process, who we can learn from, have an example in and who keeps us and watches over us so that we endure, even through the hardest of trials.

    Amen!
    Thank you, Bob. I’m so glad the post spoke to you. πŸ˜€

    I’m sorry to hear you’re on dialysis, but it’s good to know you’re doing well, at this point. Our days are numbered but, thankfully, “we have faith in our Great Sustainer.”

    I will say the same to you, if I can do anything for you, be there in any way, please, let me know.

    God bless you, Bob.
    Let’s not lose touch again…k?

    ♥ ♥ ♥

  6. Deal! πŸ™‚

    Have not actually begun Dialysis yet! – just had the plumbing installed πŸ˜‰

    Only thing i really need right now is the odd prayer for continued ‘well-being’ πŸ™‚

    Love you Sis

    β™₯ β™₯ β™₯

  7. Thankful to hear the dialysis hasn’t started. I will keep praying as God brings you to mind (and you’d be surprised how often He does that).

    ♥ ♥ ♥

  8. Found you again pulling up old posts at my place about “The Main Thing” (the gospel) to repost. I would proably answer your question “What is Our Purpose?” with “The Gospel”, with the explanation that we are here to share Jesus Christ with the lost and dying all around us, which of course means ‘love’ of the hightst degree!

  9. Hey, Dan!! Good to see you and to hear your perspective…which is definitely Truth.

    I hear three commands from Jesus to His sheep: To love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength. To love your neighbor as yourself. To share the Good News to all the world.

    God is Love. To share Love is to share God…and to share God is to tell THE Truth concerning Him. God is One revealed through the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. We all have access to God through His Son, if we will only believe. “If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”

    I hear you, Dan. I believe Love is our opening. In the day to day, as I walk through this life, in my neighborhood, at the grocery store, wherever I am, I have a choice to be kind, or not. I believe the fruit of the Spirit is what will draw others to want to hear the Truth about God. I can’t always speak, but I can always Love.

    Hey, don’t make yourself scarce. It’s good to hear from you again. πŸ™‚
    Blessings!

  10. I like your comment that β€œlove is our opening”, the gateway to eventually sharing the greatest expression of love for all time, the gospel of Jesus Christ. There are many of us professing believers who see β€˜love’ as the end and not the means to the end that has eternity at stake.

    Blessings to you too!

  11. Thanks, Dan! Yeah, I hear it lots, especially in the social gospel, that we are to “love” and never worry ourselves with sharing the Good News. I don’t understand why we do this…take only a part of His word and not the whole. HE is the reason we do what we do.

    “How then will they call on Him in whom they have not believed?
    How will they believe in Him whom they have not heard?
    And how will they hear without a preacher?”
    ~Rom 10:14

    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

