Grace and the Holidays

Standard

Be open and honest about your failures. Let God’s grace wash over you. It  completely transforms you. It lights you on fire and sends you blazing. That’s  where the power comes from. It’s not from you and your ability, it’s from grace.  God’s children need to see it. The people need to see that there is hope for them, too.
Nobody goes through life without knowing they’ve been saved from something  that had every right to destroy them. Don’t set yourself up as someone who is so  far away from that, that it steals the hope of grace from everyone else. Use the  moment of someone’s failure to rejoice about the vibrant display of mercy,  grace, and restoration that God is about to show. That’s when you can really see  Him. It’s the rainbow after the storm. It’s in the eyes of someone who believes  with everything in them that God has a plan for this, too.
~The Follower, Serena Woods, Grace is for Sinners

The holidays are just around the corner.  I haven’t yet decided how to spend any of them.

Our family is broken, due to much sin.
I suppose all families are to a certain extent, it’s just that this is raw for me…
I haven’t made any sense of it in a way that can be told.

I know what I did.
I know what he did.
I know what the consequences have done to us all.
I just don’t have it all compartmentalized… it’s not neatly packaged… yet.

(Will it ever be?)

And I’m afraid of family being judgmental.
I don’t think I can handle anymore judgment.

It’s good to know the One who matters is full of grace and mercy.
It’s just those pesky people He’s created us to live with that are the problem!!  😛
(Tongue in cheek… I know I’m one of the pesky ones, too!)

Why do we do this to one another?
We’ve ALL sinned. Every one of us.
None of us is good, no not one.

I suppose it’s because not all of us believe we’ve sinned “like that!” So we label and categorize and separate one from another. We whisper behind each other’s backs and decide what one must’ve done in the dark… although we have no idea, because we weren’t there and we weren’t told. And we’re shocked! “How could she?!?”

Unfortunately, it was way too easy.
Maybe that’s the issue… ?
Maybe others know how easily they could fall and don’t want the reminder (me) too close to home.
Or maybe… I’m the judgmental one… ???  😯

Whatever may be the problem for the lack of acceptance —
Sin, gossip, fear, judgmentalism, factions, anger, unforgiveness, grudges —
Whatever we may call it, remember, we are to fulfill the law of Christ:  Grace for all.

Dear brothers and sisters, if another Christian is overcome by some sin, you who are godly should gently and humbly help that person back onto the right path. And be careful not to fall into the same temptation yourself. Share each other’s troubles and problems, and in this way obey the law of Christ. If you think you are too important to help someone in need, you are only fooling yourself. You are really a nobody. Be sure to do what you should, for then you will enjoy the personal satisfaction of having done your work well, and you won’t need to compare yourself to anyone else. For we are each responsible for our own conduct.
~The Apostle, Paul, Galatians 6:1-5

The end of the world is coming soon. Therefore, be earnest and disciplined in your prayers. Most important of all, continue to show deep love for each other, for love covers a multitude of sins. Cheerfully share your home with those who need a meal or a place to stay. God has given gifts to each of you from his great variety of spiritual gifts. Manage them well so that God’s generosity can flow through you.
~The Disciple, Peter, 1 Peter 4:7-10

6 responses »

  1. Oh boy, the holidays add just another dimension to all this , don’t they? Praying with you now, for God to make a way, whether with everyone or without everyone, that mostly you feel loved and accepted . .because you are! 🙂 God bless you!

  2. Thank you, Debbie. You might not know how much your continued support and faithful prayers mean to me. I truly appreciate your steadfast “friendship” through all. May God bless you and pour over you His love and strength as you minister through your blog and in your home. Love you!

  3. Puleeeeeese stop worrying about others and their thoughts. It is man that put degrees to sin not God… missing the mark is missing the mark, and it ALL grieves the heart of God…. mine, yours, everyone’s… BUT where sin abounds grace abounds more…. not always with people, with surly with HIM. You are a princess, daughter of the King… and you can always come to Oregon for the holidays LOL That would solve everything, and you are definitely always welcome…. sin and all 🙂

  4. Michelle ~
    While I haven’t been where you are, I appreciate you putting your feelings and frustrations down on paper (well, on the screen!) I’ve been pretty isolated, but through your sharing I can better sense what the enemy throws at people. (I take it back … I have been VERY isolated!) My eyes are being opened up slowly to Biblical truths that were never really discussed in my family, but taken for granted. You may not remember me, but we went to college together … I was afraid you might feel awkward knowing that someone from long ago was listening to you, but have no fear. You’re helping this fellow sister learn and grow in my faith, as well as how to minister to people who have faced what you are facing. I pray that you will sense God’s Presence during this holiday season, knowing that you are a new creation in Him ~ and TOTALLY loved!

  5. Oregon for the holidays?!? Might be the answer, Debs. 🙂

    Thank you, Carol. I am so grateful you may be learning from my life. That it why I “put it out there” — hoping someone can use my failures to think through their own stuff or help others — at least I know God will get the glory in my weaknesses. Your words have touched me… God bless you.

    Hello, Melanie… You’ve got mail. 😉

Leave a Reply

