Her True Colors Shining Through

Standard

Mourning Into Dancing…may she rest in peace.  September 24, 2011…

Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.  ~ The Message – James 1:2-4

I think, for me, it has been about learning to want what He wants for me more than what I want for myself. It’s a tall order and I don’t say that flippantly. But my joy has truly come from Him finding His joy in me rather than me finding my joy in what I desire. It doesn’t mean I don’t long for different, it just means I find peace in fulfilling rather than understanding.

In the knowledge that this life isn’t about me, it’s about Him.

The thing I try to remind myself of, as I am without all the things that I wish I had to make me happy, is that my biggest need is Him. More than I need to be outside in the fresh air, more than I need to move without pain, more than I even need Dad… I need His will to be done in my life whether it is comfortable or not. There is not one thing that feels comfortable about my world right now, but I need Him more than I need to change my circumstances.

It’s still brutally hard. I have to remind myself of these facts every day. It doesn’t always come easily.

But it doesn’t make the truth any less true.

And the truth is that I can choose the joy.

~Excerpt from “How Do You Stay So Happy?” by Gitzen Girl

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials,
knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.
And let endurance have its perfect result,
so that you may be mature and complete, lacking in nothing.
James 1:2-4

Choose Joy

2 responses »

  1. Thank you, dear Michelle, for sharing Sara here. She encourages us still! May I be even a fraction as wise and brave as she.
    God bless you as you watch over her and let Him have His way with you.

  2. I hope the same, Debbie…thank you. 🙂

    May the Lord bless you and keep you.
    May the Lord make His face to shine upon you, and be gracious to you.
    May the Lord lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace.

Leave a Reply

