The Other

Standard

If I find in myself a desire
which no experience in this world can satisfy,
the most probable explanation is that I was made
for another world.

~C.S. Lewis

I am so ready for that other world.
Some days my heart aches with the desire to be
With Him over anything this world can offer.

I know that sounds strange to some.  
And I’m not really sure how to explain it. 
It’s not escapism… as has been suggested.

I know I wasn’t made for this world.

I have always felt something is missing.
Something. isn’t. right.

I don’t yearn for possessions; 
I’ve had my fill of those,
Purging to live more simply.

I don’t yearn for success; 
The little I’ve had only left me completely insecure,
Realizing I’ll never be enough.

Maybe… I yearn… for relationship. 
Yes…
I think that’s it.

But, not anything of this world. 

I have had many human relationships. 
And still enjoy some… but…
No-thing satisfies.

I believe I was created for perfect relationship.

I believe I was created for a relationship with One
Who will never leave me.

One who will never forsake.
One who will love me no matter how weird I get.
No matter how messy I am.

I yearn for One who is greater than any I’ve experienced on this earth.

I desire to be found in Him.
Complete.

I yearn.

I crave The Holy Other.

The Holy Experience.

9 responses »

  1. This is so . . .beautiful. Expresses that feeling so . . .perfectly. And once again you have me in tears. Thank you and God bless you and your yearning for Him.
    love, deb

  2. I do agree with what you’ve said here and especially appreciate how you’ve expressed it =). When I get to that place of ‘extreme yearning’ though, I have to remind myself that there are still so many others who have the same sense of ‘dissatisfaction’ in anything earthly, but don’t yet know where/how to connect with that ‘other world’ we were created for. I know that in the midst of all many of us have to deal with, we can feel totally helpless to become involved in some evangelistic outreach. But I’m learning more and more that we all can PRAY, and there’s power in that (Him through it) greater than we can imagine!
    So, I say with you, “Maranatha” (Lord, come quickly), but also “Your kingdom come on earth as it is in heaven” and use me however You see best to bring it about !!

  3. Amen, Laz! I do hope, in the expression of the desire, some will see that to seek is to find. I, too, pray for chances to share…hoping to hasten the day of His coming… Thank you for such an encouraging message.
    ♥ ♥ ♥

  4. I thought of David’s words as you described here your complete desire for God, your craving for Him – especially the beautiful verse Psalm 41:1-2 – “As the deer pants for the water brooks, so pants my soul for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.”
    May you continue to know His close presence with you today, with love, Birgit.

Leave a Reply

