Sweet Assurance

Standard

Driving over the crest of the hill affords a look at the city.  It’s a familiar site:  Dallas in the dark.

Lightening brightens the horizon with a white expanse and jolts of electricity. 
Signs of a summer storm moving closer.

By the time I reach home I am under the expanse and waiting for all hell to break loose.

As soon as I make it inside, my dog is hovering.  Sammie must stay right beside me if ever a storm is brewing.  I know long before the sounds get close from her constant shaking and hiding under the covers.  I feel big trying to comfort my tiny dog.  I whisper words of assurance, “You’ll be okay.  Mommy’s here,” as I pat her body and scratch behind her ears.  Eventually, she calms a bit and allows herself to sleep.

Throughout the night the storm howls.  Some sleep disturbances, but mostly a bearable night as Sam and I rest together.

Morning comes.  The sky is clear.  Sam is safe and sound, feeling bold for the new day.  She sleeps on the chaise and barely glances my way.

So much like me.  And God.

I feel bold on days when the storm isn’t brewing. 
I think I can do this thing called life. 
I want to be strong, assured in the safety of a peace-filled day.

As night descends I can feel the storm moving in.
My peace becomes disturbed.
I hide under the covers.

Crying out to God, He answers with sweet assurances:

I will never leave you, or forsake you.
In this world you will have trouble,
But do not be afraid, I have overcome the world…

You are experiencing trouble on every side, but are not crushed;
You are perplexed, but not driven to despair…

For your present troubles are quite small and won’t last very long.
Yet they produce for you an immeasurably great glory that will last forever!

“Thank you, Master.”
(Or maybe, “woof!”)

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!
Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God.
Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

This is my story…This is my song…

7 responses »

  1. There was something so sweet and pure about this .. .it made me cry. God bless you, dear Michelle, as you are His story and His song.
    love, deb

  2. I’m often surprised, Deb, at how we can be so comforting with our children, or animals, and yet wonder if the Lord is as comforting with us. I believe He is, even if I first have to work through some negative self-talk to get there. He is our Father. He does comfort us, if we’ll go to Him with our worries and fear. He’s teaching me how much He cares…

  3. Where can we go from His presence? Nowhere.

    It’s been so good for me to realise that God is always in our presence, because He has promised never to leave. So even when I’m not aware of Him, He is still aware of me, looking out for me, working on my behalf. So grateful.

  4. “Dallas in the Dark” — that sounds like one heck of a country song. 🙂

    This is a beautiful post. And we recently sang “Blessed Assurance” at church and something happened — it was magical. That’s one of my favorite songs.

  5. Oh, Rain. You’ve said it, “So even when I’m not aware of Him, He is still aware of me, looking out for me, working on my behalf.” Even if I move to the remotest part of the world…nowhere can I escape from His presence. Thankfulness is what gets stirred in me. 🙂

    You write it, Mandy, and I’ll sing it! I have quite a country twang without even trying. 😀
    “Blessed Assurance” is one of my favorites, too…praising my Savior all the day/night long…it’s the only way I know to get through those stormy nights. Magical, huh? I would’ve loved such an experience…

Leave a Reply

