Forgive Us

Standard

It is our fault.

Christians should be the most loving, caring, forgiving, gracious, merciful, and compassionate people on the earth. 

If we truly believe in Jesus of Nazareth as the Son of God, the Messiah (Christ) who came to forgive the sins of the world and save us as His own…

…then we are to live as He preached. 

Jesus preached Love. 

It’s our fault if, when people think of Christians, they do not think of Love. 

I watched a show on Shalom TV last night:  Repentance.  It struck me hard.  It is a film documenting a movement of repentance in Germany which acknowledges 2,000 years of anti-Semitic Church history that culminated in the Holocaust.  It features Nobel Laureate Elie Wiesel.

After reading Night by Elie Wiesel years ago, I embarked on a study of his writings.  Seeing his name in the description peaked my interest.  Although I’m only 49 years old and have never been an anti-Semite, I felt compelled to ask God for forgiveness for my ancestors  since I do have some German blood running through my veins.

I don’t really believe it works that way, that I can seek forgiveness for my ancestors.  I do believe we will all stand individually and give an account for the deeds done in the flesh.  However, I feel a deep grief over the 2000 years of Church history.  I feel we have smeared Christ’s name by hateful acts of prejudice toward His people.  And then, I think of all the other people we seem to snub, push aside, act as though we are better than…!!!

What’s wrong with us? 
Do we really believe the words of Christ?
How is it we can be so hateful toward our fellow man and call ourselves Christians?

Christ came to save the lost,
To bind up the wounds of the broken,
To release the chains of the prisoner.

I could get on my soapbox and wax loooong about what we’ve done as Christians, but my point:

We need to apologize.

We need to apologize for the ugly distortion we have taught as Christ followers.

We need to apologize for the evil we’ve done in Christ’s name.

We need to love as He taught us to love the world.

ALL people.

We would not be here, we would not have any of our Christian teachings, if God did not choose the Jewish people through Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.  They are the People of the Book.  They have kept the sacred text indisputably incorrupt (proven through the Dead Sea Scrolls) for thousands of years.  Our Savior came through this people…and look what we have done in His name…

Please.  Please, accept this heartfelt statement of repentance from one lone girl deep in the heart of Texas.

This act of contrition is not for the Jewish people only, but for all people who have seen and heard an ugly word or action done in the name of Christ.

Please, forgive us.
If you do not see us as a loving people, we are to blame.

It is our fault.
Our Savior didn’t teach us to act this way.

13 responses »

  1. Amen and Amen!

    It is honorable to pray for forgiveness for others…similiar to how you just prayed for yours, Daniel Did the same thing for his while they were in Babylon, and Daniel prayed for things that he was not guilty of. I always admired that.

  2. I was thinking about Daniel too, repenting for his nation as if HE were the one who did it. God forgive US, not God forgive them. I think the official term is identificational repentance, LOL. Say that 10 times fast. I’ve done that on behalf of my family line as well. I don’t know that it changes anything for the people who have passed on, but I think it can change things in the spiritual realm that keep us and others bound up to ancient wrongs that have had years of consequences. I don’t know if that made any sense, but it works in my own head! 😛

    Just read a quote…
    ‎”God’s purpose is that you see, think, speak and act exactly as He would in the same circumstances. He is good and He brings His goodness into all things!” ~Graham Cooke
    What struck me about that was how often we bring our own attitude to “God’s work” rather than really trying to grasp how he is feeling about people we are speaking to.

    Great post, Michelle!

  3. Ooooh, just found scriptures that more did that, saying Us and We and I… Moses did that Exodus 34:9, Ezra too.. Ezra 9:6-10; Nehemiah… Nehemiah 1:5-7; Jeremiah… Jeremiah 3:25, Jeremiah 14:7, Jeremiah 14:20; and as you said, Daniel 9:4-19

    I haven’t checked all of these out yet to verify the were quoted correctly, but thought it was interesting to look into.

    I like this though…
    1 Peter 1:18-19 (New International Version)
    For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your ancestors, but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect

    I’ll stop babbling on now, but your post prompted me to do some searching of my own, and came back to share what I found. Love you!

  4. Your post made me cry. I do that quite a lot here. Sometimes I get overwhelmed by what a mess we’ve made of things. That we’ve made it into something He never intended it to be.
    God bless you and thank you for this. Praying the “us” prayers too. And, I have a friend in Jerusalem . . . she is a Messianic Believer. I’m going to share this with her. 🙂 I’ve apologized to her too, before, because of this same thing.

  5. ‘Deb’ just sent me your email and I was blessed. I recently wrote something that offended someone…and if one person wrote that they had been offended, then I figured that a number of others were offended but didn’t write…so I wrote an apology for having offended my sister. To my surprise I received about 12 responses chastening me for asking forgiveness since they agreed that what I had said ‘needed to be said’ and that I was ‘right’. I was surprised and saddened. I explained that I HADN’T apologized for what I said, but for OFFENDING A (weaker and younger in The Lord, in this case) sister and that was a GREAT offense before God…to be a stumbling block to a brother or sister in the body. NO…we are NOT to ‘water down Truth’ but The Word is FULL of teaching about giving and taking offense…as well as asking forgiveness AND forgiving.
    THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing as you did. I believe that this is an area where the body has perhaps grown dull of hearing? And you are so right…we can not ‘repent’ for another, but we can…and must ask forgiveness, and be so quick to repent for ourselves. Thank you!

  6. Hey, Heidi! I’m so glad the post prompted you to look into some things. I know that times of repentance bring refreshing…and I understand we are to come before Him in poverty of spirit…I pray, as you say, “it can change things in the spiritual realm that keep us and others bound up to ancient wrongs that have had years of consequences.” And to ultimately remember we have been redeemed by His precious blood…amen.

    Hey, Debbie! You cry here? Wow. Tears are what usually prompt me to write so you must be hearing my heart. Thank you for sending this on to your friend. I truly hope that people who have been hurt by twisted beliefs will hear that some of us hate what’s been done in our Savior’s name. I’m not sure how else to make it known, except to stand firmly behind Israel’s right to exist…and show love every chance we get.

    Hello, Israeli Friend! How very exciting for me to have you stop by and take the time to comment. I truly thank you for accepting my apology. I don’t know how we can ever be wrong in asking forgiveness. I think when we run across that attitude it is because we haven’t yet understood how offensive we can be. And, I pray we haven’t grown tired of hearing what we’ve done for, I believe, that stance reveals an insincere heart. Especially at this time in history, with anti-Semitism on the rise again. I do pray for the peace of Jerusalem and that we will never forget. Thank you, again, Friend.

  7. Praying is an act of love. Your words reflect the love you have for both your ancestors and those they wronged. As we reflect this kind of love in how we deal with our neighbors today the world becomes a better place. The kind of world Jesus called Christians to make.

  8. I love your call in this Michelle, for us as followers of Christ, to love with the same transforming love that He did.

    To give the same grace and compassion, that He always gives to us.

    Thanks so much for the reminder of His unconditional love.
    Lots of love to you, B xo

  9. I’m glad you heard the call, Birg. Sometimes things get lost in translation; but I was hoping the “transforming love”, as you put it, would be understood.

    I hope you’re well. Blessings to you. 🙂

  10. Thanks, Mandy. It’s closer to a sermon than an anecdote (my usual style, I think), and strangely, I felt scared posting it. I’m hoping it was Holy Spirit angst, as my pastor calls it. :-/

    Thanks for hoppin’ over. 🙂

Leave a Reply

