Truth and Consequences

Standard

God will make a way when there seems to be no way…remember, this?

It’s old, but true.
Truths don’t change.
I believe in Truth with a capital T.

I also believe we need to feel the consequences of our choices. Some would say I’m very old school, and I might be, but I don’t believe in making excuses for our bad choices. They are just that: choices we made which were NOT good.

Unfortunately, I’ve had to see the consequences of the bad choices of people I have loved deeply. I’ve had this “value” challenged. And, because it’s true, I still believe it.

When the day came for us to journey with our son through his consequences, it was gut-wrenching nausea from beginning to end.

The walk down the long hallway,
Heels clicking against the linoleum,
Security cameras watching every move,
Grasping the bond that would bring release…
These images burn within my soul.

However, knowing, at the end of the hallway, we would be able to hold our first-born in our arms and take him safely home, those were the thoughts that got me through the day.

Yet, it was only the first step in a very long journey. 
Naively, I imagined the worst had already happened.

As we walked with him, sandwiched between us, Phat’s phone rang.

“I’m getting my son out of jail, what do you want?”

“Oh, Mr. Phat, I’m so sorry! I just wanted to warn you that the media has been informed of your son’s arrest. I’m so very sorry.”

By the time we made it to Grandmother’s house, it had already been announced on the radio. We sat down to watch the 6 o’clock news. As the broadcaster began the top story for the weekend, my son’s face appeared across the screen. I heard the scream before I realized it was me.

Waiting for dinner,
Wondering where our lives would lead,
Agonizing over the events of the past week,
I’m sure I must have been trembling…

My son came to embrace me.

I wept.

Then, he began to sing in my ear,

God will make a way

Where there seems to be no way

He works in ways we cannot see
He will make a way for me

He will be my guide

Hold me closely to His side

With love and strength

For each new day

He will make a way

He will make a way

Five years later, this song plays through my mind.

It’s my turn.
I believe in Truth and Consequences…

God will make a way.

5 responses »

  1. This is so comforting and confirming. Thank you so much!! I can’t tell you how many eyes have rolled when I’ve said that, that I believed God would make a way. What a blessing to be here where eyes don’t roll, but heads nod in agreement. 🙂
    God bless you and hold you close as He makes a way!

  2. He always does, doesn’t He?

    No matter what the circumstances; no matter what we’ve done; no matter what someone else has done; no matter where we are; no matter who we are.

    He always makes a way for us PRAISE HIM.

    I love you and am praying for you. Email me soon.

  3. Thank you, Deb! I’ve gotten lots of eye rolls, as well. But, as tough as some trials have been, He has always “winnowed the path” for me. I’m so glad you were comforted and confirmed. That warms my heart. ♥ U!

    I know, you know, Ayla, how He does this for us, no matter where we’ve been or what we’ve done. It’s so wonderful to serve a God who lavishly pours on His love and grace. Thank you for the prayers. I will email…gotta go teach my nieces today…will get to emails this evening…I hope. 😳
    I love you, too!

Leave a Reply

