Treasures

Standard

What would happen if Christ followers did as Jesus taught?

“Don’t store up treasures here on earth, where they can be eaten by moths and get rusty, and where thieves break in and steal.  Store your treasures in heaven, where they will never become moth–eaten or rusty and where they will be safe from thieves.  Wherever your treasure is, there your heart and thoughts will also be.  Your eye is a lamp for your body. A pure eye lets sunshine into your soul.  But an evil eye shuts out the light and plunges you into darkness. If the light you think you have is really darkness, how deep that darkness will be!  No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other, or be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.” ~Matthew 6:19-24

How enslaved are we to our things? 
What do we spend our time thinking about?
If our thoughts are not on the Lord, where are they? 

I decided to ask these questions of myself.  What do I spend most of my day thinking about?  Where do I find my thoughts when the world becomes quiet?  This scripture tells me that my treasure is in that place.  The place where my thoughts wander.

So then, the next question:  Were my thoughts on God?

If not…then what?
Is that place truly my God, or…my god?
I cannot serve two masters.

Do I imagine something to buy…?
What I might want to eat…?
How I’d like to entertain myself…?
What my next project will be…?
Or was it someone with whom I’m invested: my kids, my husband, my friends…?

If any one of those things is not God, and His kingdom, have I just recognized an idol in my life?

Where my thoughts wander is where I’ll put my treasure.
If my treasure is truly the Kingdom of heaven, won’t my money follow?
And if my money is going to things, food, or entertainment, does it follow that my god is my stomach…my desires? 

Doesn’t it follow that my heart must not be on heavenly things?

Store up for yourselves treasures in heaven,
where moth and rust do NOT destroy…
where theives do NOT break in and steal.

What does that mean?
Do I give all my money (after my responsibilities) to the church?
Is Jesus asking for us to not have any materialistic desires?

I think it means we give our money to the things Jesus was concerned about…
His kingdom (Luke 4:18-19).

People:
Hungry,
Hurting,
Sick,
Poor,
Anyone needing Jesus.
Anyone who hasn’t heard the Good News of the Gospel.

Would we have a problem with elder care, health care, orphans, or poverty if the people of God would truly care about the things God cares about…???

But He’s already made it plain how to live, what to do,
what GOD is looking for in men and women.
It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor,
be compassionate and loyal in your love,
And don’t take yourself too seriously–take God seriously.
~Micah 6:8 (The Message)

Live justly,
With mercy,
And walk humbly before God.

Thinking it through…

7 responses »

  1. This is something God has been speaking to me so much about lately. It is vital that we seek Him as our only treasure because nothing else can ever compare to Him. We might think other things can give us pleasure but we were made to love Him, that’s our design. The world will and does distract us, but oh that we would taste the sweetness of having God as our treasure, then we wouldn’t settle so easily for temporary pleasures…

  2. Compelling thoughts and scripture. I like what James says as well in Chapter 1 verse 27:

    “Pure and faultless worship before God the Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their trouble, and to keep oneself unspotted from the world.”

    The word “worship” is often translated “religion” in this verse. The Greek definition is religion or worship; and since the term “religion” has been so misused, I chose to use worship.

    The word “worship” used here means to wail or cry out to God. This is not to mean “Hey, God look what I am doing”. It literally means “to be alarmed, to be troubled in the mind.” And here it would be troubled or alarmed that we have so much and yet there are those around us who are struggling and need us to come along side of them physically, emotionally and spiritually!

    It is to call attention to the unjust situation of the orphan or widow to those around as if to say, “Come on people we must step out of our comfort zones and help those who are in need.”

    Maybe this is too academic? But I always find deeper meaning in the Greek when I take the time to look.

    Thanks for inspiring me to dig deeper!

  3. “What would happen if Christ followers did as Jesus taught?”

    My question is what if everyone lived as Jesus taught?

    Helping the hungry, hurting, sick, poor, or anyone without faith (religious or non religious), is in every ones best interest, because all of these things led to poverty and war. The more we reduce poverty and war, the better we make our world, the better we will feel about ourselves.

    If we make money our focus, and the nice shiny toys it will buy, instead of our families and neighbors, the worse our lives become. Family and friends will give us a love that no shiny toy can. Family and friends will be there when we need help. A shiny toy will just gather dust.

    We don’t need to believe that Jesus was divine to see the wisdom in his guidance, or see what a great role model his life represented.

  4. This is an on-time message for me as you know from my last post about finances. It is sad to me how much food gets thrown away daily just by restaurants in America. All of that food could clearly feed all the homeless and more.

    Yes I do believe we are to reach out to those in need. If that means giving up some of our needless luxuries then I would say it’s worth it. I know for us we spent the entire summer leaning on God’s provision and it was through the obedience of His people who gave and helped us that we had food on our table. Some chose not to reach out and help but what I have found true to be of God is that if we won’t accept the assignment He will give it to someone else.

    Thanks for the confirmation, Sis. Love you!

  5. Rain said,

    “having God as our treasure, then we wouldn’t settle so easily for temporary pleasures…”

    Phat said,

    “The word ‘worship’ used here means to wail or cry out to God…And here it would be troubled or alarmed that we have so much and yet there are those around us who are struggling and need us to come along side of them physically, emotionally and spiritually!”

    Ed said,

    “If we make money our focus, and the nice shiny toys it will buy, instead of our families and neighbors, the worse our lives become. Family and friends will give us a love that no shiny toy can.”

    Gch said,

    “I know for us we spent the entire summer leaning on God’s provision and it was through the obedience of His people who gave and helped us that we had food on our table.”

    I say, “AMEN!!!” 😀

  6. to answer the initial question…i think i’ve seen a few actually do this…and i want to be like them (Jesus) when i grow up

Leave a Reply

