Are We Plastic People?

Standard

My 30th high school reunion was this past weekend.  I didn’t go.

Popularity is so important at that stage in life. 
I wasn’t popular.
But, my friends were.

El was nominated for most talented (she should have gotten it!).
Cat was Prom Queen.
And Sand? Well, she was nominated year after year from Class Favorite to Most Beautiful and every possibility in between!

I was their friend.

I was really only interested in seeing them (and a couple of old boyfriends), but knew if I went to the reunion they would be much too busy to really visit. And…life hasn’t been so pleasant the past few years. I find it difficult not to tell the truth, so it’s best if I stay away from places where no one is expecting reality.

However, thankfully, my three friends wanted to get together.

I wouldn’t return El’s calls — shame does that to a person — so she came to find me on Saturday afternoon. She drove to the house where I lived last time she came to town and found me, literally, in the middle of my mess, trying to sort out my life. Yet, as gracious and wonderful as I’ve always known her to be, this time she came in and sat with me as I began to unfold parts of my story…tears flowing…

She listened.
She loved me.
And she asked me to come to Cat’s house for a get-together…

On Monday evening we met at Cat’s new home.
We had a lovely dinner and talked waaaaaaaaaaay past midnight,
catching up on thirty years of time spent apart.

It’s Wednesday and I can’t quit thinking about that evening. What has made our friendship last…even after not talking with Sand for thirty years? El and I talk about every five years. Cat and I have had intermittent visits. Why do we keep seeking out one another?

I’m probably the most dysfunctional of us all.
Well, to be perfectly honest, I shouldn’t even say “the most.”
I AM the dysfunctional one!
But. They love me. I don’t get it, but they do.

It’s really weird. It hasn’t been a constant time of sharing over the years, but whenever we have a chance it’s like we’ve never parted. We’re those four girls rooming together on choir tour, talking waaaaaay past “lights out!” Them sharing their wonderful lives (from my perspective) and me, still needing to be heard.

And finally, feeling heard…

I don’t want to be plastic.
It’s good to have friends.

6 responses »

  1. Loved reading about the great time you had reconnecting with your high school friends.

    If you had any friends in high school you were more popular than me. I did have a few girfriends but they are more likley to hire a hitman to find me, instead of making a phone call. 🙂

    We are our own worst critic. Since your friend sought you out, you must be much better company, and a better friend, than you think you are.

  2. Thank you, Ed, for your kind words.

    I tell you, I wanna meet one of those girlfriends someday…maybe a guest post…?

    It could be fun!! 😀

  3. Such a good song Michelle. Can we all just be real please? I get what you are saying on so many levels. I also avoided my recent reunion like the plague for similar reasons. Truth is though, we are all dysfunctional on some level, there are no perfect people. Everybody just appears more perfect than we do:) And everybody really just needs love.

    And for the record, I don’t even really know you, only a bit from reading your blog for these two or so years, and I totally get why they would love you:)

  4. It’s good to know you get me, Rain. Especially, “on so many levels.” As I was struggling to put this together, I hoped I wouldn’t be misunderstood. Yes, “everybody really just needs love!”

    And for the record, I hope we get to meet on earth someday… 😉

  5. Sis! If you’re dysfunctional then I don’t even want to think of what I am!

    On a serious note, we are all dysfunctional. Remember it is through His grace and mercy and the gift of His salvation that our filthy rags are replaced with robes of righteousness. Not by our works (good or bad) but by His grace.

    I am so glad you had the opportunity (God!) to reconnect with your friends. My two friends from college and I share that same bond. One lives in Jamaica and the other in England yet whenever we get together it’s as though nothing ever changed no matter how infrequently we communicate in between.

    I love you and you know we are going to see each other VERY soon. Can’t wait to share, laugh, cry, pray with you and of course HUG you in person! XO

  6. I do agree, Gch…we’re all dysfunctional in one way or another…some of us just have many MANY ways in which we do not function well. 😕

    I can’t wait to see you! When? WHEN!?!?

    I love you, Sweet Girl! XO

Leave a Reply

