Unless the Lord Builds

Standard

“Castles built upon the sand…
Foolish dreams that seem so grand…
Will surely melt away…for in life’s raging storms…
They cannot stand.”

A phone call can change your life forever.
The economy heads south and your job goes with it.
An illness…or accident…can steal your health away.
A friendship takes a wrong turn and your marriage is threatened.

The weather changes…constantly.

When you least expect it, sin is crouching at the door and its desire is for you.
The enemy, the devil, roams around waiting for someone to devour.
The thief comes only to steal, to kill, and to destroy.

How do we withstand these storms of life that threaten our homes, our very lives? 

Anyone who hears my teaching and ignores it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand.  When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will fall with a mighty crash.” 

Is the foundation of your home strong enough to withstand the storms of life?

Anyone who listens to my teaching and obeys me is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock.Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse, because it is built on rock.”

Is your foundation built upon The Rock?

No one is holy like the Lord!
There is no one other than You!
There is no Rock like our God!

1 Samuel 2:2

Unless the LORD builds the house, they labor in vain who build it.
Psalm 127:1

 

6 responses »

  1. God receives the glory even from our sin. You see even when we sin we still belong to Him. Our sin is inevitable being human and having a flesh but equally inevitable is God’s unfailing love and powerful redemption. If we didn’t sin we wouldn’t understand the depth of His sacrifice. If we didn’t sin we wouldn’t experience His unfailing and unconditional love. If we didn’t sin we wouldn’t witness His resurrecting power. If we didn’t sin we wouldn’t understand victory over the enemy through Christ Jesus.

    Sin is not justified and it is not pleasing to God and it grieves Him greatly when we choose that path over His path of righteousness but sometimes it may be neccessary for us to really know and live God’s character of grace and mercy which otherwise we may just have heard about but not really know for ourselves.

    But as God takes us through earthly life from year to year He also takes us through spiritual life from faith to faith and glory to glory. He uses our sin (what the devil intended for bad) to mould us to be more like Him (God used for our good) and each time we grow stronger and more prepared to fight the enemy and not make the same choice(s) again.

    Such a complex process that we only understand a small percentage of for His ways and thoughts are not ours but are in fact higher than ours but one where we can trust God fully and completely to do His good work in us so that when we enter Heaven we can rest in His arms as He tells us “This is my son/daughter with whom I am well pleased.”

    Love you so much, Sis!

  2. “Is the foundation of your home strong enough to withstand the storms of life?”

    Michelle, I can only answer that question today. At this moment I have a confident faith. I will let you know about tomorrow, tomorrow.

  3. A very good word, Gch. Thank you for sharing.

    As I read your words I think about the whole process of sanctification. It’s the journey we’re on. We walk along the path hoping it won’t be too strenuous, but, inevitably, it twists and turns and at times becomes so rough, we question why we chose such a hard road. All the while, not realizing He is carving out the path ahead and knows exactly the dangers He will walk us through…to bring us closer to Him…to cause us to lean into Him…even more. Some challenges appear to bring us to a point of total devastation…a foot slipping on a steep ledge could cause panic to rise…but God…

    He never leaves. He never forsakes.

    Unless the LORD had given me help, I would soon have dwelt in the silence of death. When I said, “My foot is slipping,” your love, O LORD, supported me. When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul. ~Psalms 94:17-19

    Love you too, Gch. I thank God for you LOTS!

  4. Hey, Ed. I didn’t see you there…

    Yes, we can really only know about today. But, when it comes to marriage, I believe commitment and intimacy with God are key.

    I believe many of us think we have a solid home, a safe place to dwell. And, if our homes are built upon the Rock of God, we can withstand the storms of life. With both people looking to God, it can remain firm, with a daily commitment to do the hard work.

    But that’s the key, I believe. Our homes are only as strong as our commitment to Him. We start slipping when we take our eyes off of what He is calling us to do. We can even look ‘spiritual’ if what we’re busy doing is “good work”. But it’s not what He commanded if we don’t have enough time for intimacy to grow between husband and wife. Anything can get in the way…we need to desire intimacy…deep spiritual connection with our God and one another. And I think that’s a very rare thing.

    Some of us choose to stay in unfulfilled marriages because we won’t take the steps necessary to really get to know one another. We’re too afraid to share our most intimate thoughts, fearful of how we will be received…

    I do not believe that’s what God intended when He said we are to cleave to one another, and the two will become one flesh. That’s the most intimate of relationships…and to live in total honesty, bearing our innermost thoughts to another…well, I think we can only be accepted as we choose to accept. If contempt is anywhere in the relationship…it will begin to crumble…and fall to ruin.

    So…long response to a short comment…but I do believe we can have fulfilling marriages and homes that withstand storms, if we will humble ourselves and live in honesty, showing mercy and acceptance.

    But, as the old saying goes…it takes two to tango. Both must be willing…

    Or…maybe I just had a LOT to get off my chest, and dumped it all on you. sigh…

  5. Michelle, as a life long bachelor when I see the word commitment, the first thing I think of is being committed, as with a straight jacket. 🙂

    I have had four failed relationships, and my sister was married four times. Commitment just doesn’t seem to be in our DNA.

    Obviously I lack the expertise to offer any guidance about the institution of marriage, there is that straight jacket image again. 🙂

    My understanding of Christan doctrine is that guidance in all things comes from God, through your indwelling Holy Spirit. When you are in a storm that is what will see you through.

    I hope you are nearing the end of your current storm. One way or another your God is waiting for you when it does.

  6. 😳

    Yeah, I know you’ve never been married…

    😳

    Like I said, I think I had some things to get off my chest…

    😳

    But, for someone who hasn’t been married and does not profess Christianity:

    My understanding of Christan doctrine is that guidance in all things comes from God, through your indwelling Holy Spirit. When you are in a storm that is what will see you through.

    Yes, sir. That’s exactly it…thank you. 😀

Leave a Reply

