Death and Resurrection

Standard

Why does God hate divorce?
(Malachi 2:16-17)

I believe this is true because marriage is meant to be a picture of the Trinity. 
Holy everlasting communion: 
A man and a woman in loving relationship with their Creator.

That is what God ordained in the Garden. 
It was the “intent” of the relationship: 
Holy everlasting communion.

BUT…

Genesis 3 occurred. 

And now we must deal with a fallen world, living as fallen people.  I’m fallen.  And so are you.  And in our fallenness we hurt one another.  It’s inevitable because we are sinners.  And as sinners joined together in communion, we will sin against one another.

I believe marriage was intended to show the beauty of perfect communion.  Just as the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit are one, we — man, woman, and God — are to be one. This was the picture in Genesis 2.

But, we’ve never lived in Genesis 2.

This is our fallen reality.
We live on the other side of the curse and with sin, which inhabits us.

And now,…
I’m living on the other side of having sinned horribly against my husband. 
And he has come to realize he has sinned against me. 
We’ve experienced death in our marriage. 

But God.

God is greater than our sin. 
He is able to bring about resurrection. 
He is able to restore.

All marriages do not have this same possibility. Sin destroys. And without both partners in surrender to God, unconfessed sin will do it’s work. Contempt will arise and the marriage will fall to ruin.

But God.

God is about bringing life from death.
Jesus arose from the grave and walked among his friends again.
He restored relationships broken from betrayal.

He can do the same for us.
I’m hopeful.
We’re in need of Resurrection…

10 responses »

  1. Since we all make mistakes, and sometimes hurt those we love, we will be in need of resurrection at some point in our lives, maybe more than once.

    When it comes to love between two people the only question it seems to me is does it exist today. If it does than forgiveness of past sins is always possible.

    Forgiving is never easy. Faith can give us the strength to forgive, both ourselves and those we sin against.

  2. I love you and am proud of you for walking in the light of God’s truth. It is a humbling experience, this I know, but all to God’s glory.

    I am praying for a resurrection in your marriage and also in your personal relationship with our Lord and Savior. He is able.

    The “but God” always gets me, btw. Every situation warrants a “but God” no matter how hopeless or bleak it may look since nothing is too hard for the God we serve.

    Praise God 🙂

  3. Hey, Phat… 😀

    I’m not really sure, Ed, if I could forgive if I hadn’t been forgiven. I think I would continue to hold onto the hurts to the point of self-destruction, if I didn’t have God’s forgiveness. So, as you say, faith gives us the strength to forgive. And, I see truth in these words,as well:
    When it comes to love between two people the only question it seems to me is does it exist today. If it does than forgiveness of past sins is always possible.

    We are always loved by the person, Jesus, the Christ. He loved us while we were still living “high” in our sins, and He forgave us. So how, with Him loving us so purely, can we withhold forgiveness from others? I can even love my enemies through Christ…

    A friend sent this quote by Mother Theresa:

    The success of love is in the loving. It is not in the result of loving.

    Thank you, Gch! Your words of encouragement and constant walk with me these past two…almost three years…have carried me along. Thank you. I love you. xo

  4. Dear Michelle, it reminds me of this piece about the resurrection of Jesus, of how Mary and Mary Magdalene just sat over at the sepulchre, weeping for their loss:

    “They mourned, they wept, and went away, and came again, driven by their hearts to the sepulchre. Still it was a sepulchre, unprophetic, voiceless, lusterless.
    So with us. Every man sits over against the sepulchre in his garden, in the first instance, and says, “This woe is irremediable. I see no benefit in it. I will take no comfort in it.” And yet, right in our deepest and worst mishaps, often, our Christ is lying, waiting for resurrection.
    Where our death seems to be, there our Saviour is. Where the end of hope is, there is the brightest beginning of fruition.”

    I just love this, the hope we have in Him, His power that can make all things clean and new and beautiful, no matter how we think we messed up- the ‘But God’ factor:) And I am praying that you will experience the fullness of His resurrection power in your life and your marriage. Love & blessings

  5. “This woe is irremediable. I see no benefit in it. I will take no comfort in it.” And yet, right in our deepest and worst mishaps, often, our Christ is lying, waiting for resurrection. Where our death seems to be, there our Saviour is. Where the end of hope is, there is the brightest beginning of fruition.”

    Wow. Thank you, Rain.

    And YES…the “But God” factor is amazing! Thank you for continuing to pray. I know the prayers have been our saving grace. Love you…and thnx.

  6. I haven’t been here in a while, Michelle, but I resonate with this post. I have sinned against my wife with emotional affairs, and we’re currently estranged, living in separate places as well as talking divorce.

    I have gone through emotional turmoil for over a year, and I have even started to despair over God’s word over this whole situation – Resurrection. (I’ve written about it in my blog in a couple places, if you’re interested.)

    Thank you for this post. It is refreshing to remember “But God…” even although we are nowhere near completion. I have no idea if we’ll get back together or not, “But God,” whatever happens.

    Will pray for you as well………

  7. I’m glad you made your way back here, Bajan. I know the pain you’re dealing with and how very difficult it is to move toward reconciliation. I could not have taken that step if I didn’t know God would be right there beside me.

    One thing I’ve learned in all of this crud is to live in the moment. As soon as I begin to think too far ahead, or to dwell upon the past, I lose focus. In the moment, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

    I love my husband and my children. I want to fulfill my vows and see those grandkids…someday. So…today…that means I’ll do whatever God asks (counseling, seminars, books, humble myself and seek forgiveness for the sins I’ve committed…) for me to continue on the road to reconciliation.

    Yes, I will definitely be praying for you and yours.
    That “But God” factor is our only hope.

  8. “One thing I’ve learned in all of this crud is to live in the moment. As soon as I begin to think too far ahead, or to dwell upon the past, I lose focus. In the moment, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me…”

    Amen to this wisdom, Michelle! This is good advice for all of us, wherever God has each of us in our individual situations.

    And…it’s exciting to hear that in your situation God has never “fallen asleep”, or “gone on vacation”, though at times you may have *felt* like that (which is only human). Truly, He is *alive*, and He’s *powerfully* at work in and through you! Love you! — gracie;-)

  9. Thank you, Gracie, for you all you’ve done during this time. Your prayers and encouraging words have held me up many many days! He is truly working through you…powerfully!!!

    I love you. 😀

Leave a Reply

