It’s Raining Here!

Standard

Literally and figuratively.

I love the rain. And living up in the treetops brings a great perspective. The birds take shelter in the branches of the tree. Some fly close by, looking for a better hiding place. Today we’re getting the rain in scattered showers. It comes and goes…

Some people don’t care much for rain, allowing the mood caused by the lack of sunshine to take precedence. I can get caught up in that feeling if too many days of rain come in a row…

But today, I’ve been thinking how rain symbolizes cleansing…a washing away of the old, and starting new. Like any symbol of water, it denotes a spiritual awakening. Being caught in the rain means letting life in. Rain naturally cleans, refreshes, and brings life-giving moisture.

Remember that old 70’s song, “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head” —

A little bit of wording needs to be changed for this song to fit my thoughts:

“I did me some talkin’ to the Son…And I said I do so like the way He gets things done…Never sleepin’ on the job…Those raindrops are falling on my head, they keep falling  (blessings poured out on our heads)

The blues that come to meet me won’t defeat me…It won’t be long ’til happiness steps up to greet me…but I’m never gonna stop the rain by complainin’…I’ve been set free…Nothin’s worryin’ me…”

Reminds me of these truths:

Who the Son sets free is free indeed. 
~John 8:36

“If you only knew the gift God has for you and who I am,
You would ask Me, and I would give you living water.”
 
~John 4:10

“Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out,
that times of refreshing may come from the Lord”
 
~Acts 3:19

And just for fun:

8 responses »

  1. What a wonderful attitude! It sounds like your mind is genuinely being renewed, as you continue to submit to Him! I have thought of you several times, over the past week, as I have recalled the peacefulness of your “tree house .” I am glad it has been a place of refuge and refreshing for you.

  2. Thanks, Michelle! It was so good to invite you in and to be able to share our lives again.

    God truly is doing a work in me as I continue to submit to Him. I love the part of the serenity prayer: trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His Will; that I may be reasonably happy in this life…and supremely happy with Him forever in the next.

    Thanks for commenting. Hope to see you soon. 🙂

  3. We grew up with songs about rain that went more like ‘It’s raining it’s pouring the old man is snoring’ or ‘Rain rain go away come back on Mother’s washing day’ (how mean are those lyrics?!)

    I like the rain too when I don’t have to drive in it 🙂 And John 4:10 reminds me of Lucado’s book that I’m currently reading “Come Thirsty.” Truly, He is the living water quenching the deep thirst of our souls.

    Love ya!

  4. “Fill my cup, Lord…I lift it up, Lord…Come and quench this thirsting of my soul…Bread of Heaven, feed me ’til I want no more…Fill my cup, I lift it up, and make me whole.”

    Another favorite. Love you, too, Gch!

  5. Michelle, I love watching rain, wind, and all the forces of nature, that we can’t control. It does help give me the perspective to see I am only one small cog in a great big wheel. Of course all us little cogs are just as important an any other, to making that big wheel turn.

    I even love bacteria, which we can’t live without, but can also kill us. Of course when people hear me say that they must wonder if the raindrops are falling a little to hard on my head.

  6. Michelle, here on the South African highveld we have summer rainfall. We’ve just come through the dry, cold winter when everything is dead and brown, and we are all eagerly anticipating the first rain of spring which makes everything new and fresh:) We literally long for the rain… so I relate to the Psalmist in Psalm 143:6 when he says ‘my soul longs for the Living God as the parched land for the rain’. Let it rain!:)

  7. I always liked playing in the rain as a kid; I never understood why my mom told me not to jump in the puddles. My daughter loves doing that!

    Here are some wise rain quotes I like:

    And when it rains on your parade, look up rather than down. Without the rain, there would be no rainbow.
    Gilbert K. Chesterton

    Rain is grace; rain is the sky descending to the earth; without rain, there would be no life.
    John Updike

    I can see clearly now, the rain is gone. I can see all obstacles in my way.
    Johnny Nash

  8. You make more sense than most people I know, Ed. If it’s from raindrops falling too hard, then I guess we all could use a bit more thunderstorms!

    Oh, Rain! That Psalm states it perfectly. Thank you.

    Rain is grace. I like that, Phat. Thank you for giving me grace, abundantly. I love you.

Leave a Reply

