Wash Me, O LORD

Standard

We cannot live in the muck and mire.  We must go to Him for washing.
We are to hunger and thirst for righteousness and when we see we are living contrary to His ways, we are to line up with Him.

Now this is the gospel message we have heard from Him and announce to you: God is light, and in Him there is no darkness at all. If we say we have fellowship with Him and yet keep on walking in the darkness, we are lying and not practicing the truth. But if we walk in the light as He Himself is in the light, we have fellowship with one another and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say we do not bear the guilt of sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us. But if we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous, forgiving us our sins and cleansing us from all unrighteousness. If we say we have not sinned, we make Him a liar and His word is not in us.

My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous One, and He Himself is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for our sins but also for the whole world.” ~1John 1:5-2:2

Though your sins have stained you like the color red,
you can become white like snow;
though they are as easy to see as the color scarlet,
you can become white like wool.

~Isaiah 1:18

Sanctification is a lifelong process, a daily washing, a constant cleansing. We are being changed from glory to glory as we walk through this life.

Will we stumble?
Yes. We will.
All of us, in many different ways.

But we have an Advocate with the Father and He will continue to work in us to bring us to completion.

He is my hope. If it were only up to me, I would be sunk.
As I work out my salvation with fear and trembling I am so thankful that He works in me, to will and to work for His good pleasure.

Forgiveness…Restoration…Amazing grace!!

May God Himself,
the God of peace,
sanctify you through and through.
May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless
at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.
The One who calls you is faithful
and He will do it.
1 Thessalonians 5:23-24

9 responses »

  1. Wow Michelle, I spent the whole month of August in 1 John, almost seems like you did too 🙂 How amazing is the word of God there? I especially love this verse in 1 John 3:19, that God is greater than our hearts and He knows everything (one translation actually says that He is greater than our feelings) when our hearts or feelings try to condemn us. I am amazed by His love and grace.

  2. Glad to ‘see’ you, Rain. Annie (do you know her?) pointed out that verse (1 John 3:19) a couple of years ago. I’ve really held on to that truth.

    My feelings do work hard to comdemn me, but to know HE who called us is faithful and HE will bring it to pass, well, how awesome is that?!?! How can we not love a God who loves us without condition? I’ve looked for that kind of love my whole life…not realizing it can only be found in His perfect love.

  3. Faith is something that needs to be reinforced daily. Its the promise of a better future. Faith can comfort us, when we let it.

    Faith will make our past mistakes irrelevant to how we live in the present.

  4. Among so many other things that I love about Him I love that God always confirms His voice to us.

    Before I came here to see if you had posted I posted an entry about moving from faith to faith and glory to glory and how the process is constant. I talked about discipline and God’s “lessons.” I talked about this new season I was in and how I have (re)learned that my expectation can and should only come from Him.

    Of course my post wasn’t as articulate and well written as your last two 🙂 but it was from a place of deep hurt but also relief that God is not through with me yet and it seems as though He confirmed the sentiments in my post through your last two.

    Oh and our church begins a series on 1 John this coming weekend.

    We serve a God of confirmation, praise Him.

    I love you and am so glad He chose for us to journey through life together.

  5. “Faith will make our past mistakes irrelevant to how we live in the present.”

    Hi, Ed. Without faith it is impossible to please God. Although my past mistakes still haunt me today, I know God throws all my sins into the sea of forgetfulness. I don’t forget, for then how would I learn…? But, He does. And my mistakes become irrelevant to my present…although, I still may have to live with the consequences, depending upon the grace and mercy I receive. 😯

    Thank you for the confirmation, Gch! And I’m so grateful for His choosing you to be my companion on this road. I love you, Sweet Girl! xo

  6. “But we have an Advocate with the Father and He will continue to work in us to bring us to completion.”

    I love the song “The Voice of Truth”, and the first phrase in the chorus –

    “But the voice of Truth tells me a different story….”

    When people, who cannot see our hearts, judge us “unworthy” we have to remember – The Voice of Truth tells us a different story – a story of redemption- restoration – newness.

    Love ya Michelle.

Leave a Reply

