Separation Anxiety

Standard

Father’s Day wasn’t so happy around here.

I’m living in an apartment about three miles from the family.  My daughter was in the air returning from a mission trip to inner-city LA.  One son was in jail for the weekend, and the other was waiting around for the air conditioning to get fixed.  And the father?  He ran around taking care of all of his family from many different angles…like the good man he is.

After a day of frustration and 100 degree temps without conditioned air, he had to pick up his wife and drive us both to the airport to get our daughter. 

It wasn’t comfortable. 

We try to make it comfortable, but it’s not.  Yet. 
We’re hoping that will change soon, but right now we seem to be stuck.

It was good to see Mags.  She had a wonderful time on her mission trip and chattered all the way to the restaurant.  We met up with my brother and his family, and her brother, the one in the heat at home, came along.  We had a nice time together at Chili’s, chatting with all the kids (my brother’s four little ones…and a fifth on the way!  😯  ). 

It was a nice couple of hours.
Maybe a reprieve for the weary broken father.
I hope so.

Then…like it never happened…we all piled into our separate cars and went our separate ways…

…to our separate homes.

Although we don’t know when it will be comfortable again, we do remain tied to one another.

Is it vows?
Is it love?
Is it sentiment?

Is it the children?

I’m not sure, but I think it’s God.
Life is a muddled mess right now.
But, I know, God has a way of cleaning up our messes.

If we allow Him.
It has been said, He is a gentleman. And…
He does give us freedom to choose.  But

I’ve learned (again) we don’t get to choose the consequences.

Please pray with us all.
For His will to be done.

Thank you.

And I pray that Christ will be more and more at home
in our hearts as we trust in Him.
May our roots go down deep
into the soil of God’s marvelous love. 
And may we have the power to understand,
as all God’s people should,
how wide, how long, how high, and how deep
His love really is.
 

(from Ephesians 3:17-18)

10 responses »

  1. I know how much courage and strength it took to share what’s going on in your life and in your home right now on your blog. Praise be to God there is always something so powerful about walking in the light of truth.

    I have been praying for you regularly these past few months. What a journey God has taken both of us; even though they were different God chose to use us to encourage and lift one another in the most difficult times and for that I am so thankful. I want you to know that I am always with you. Wherever life may take you; whatever situation you may be in; whatever choices you make. I will always love you and be here to encourage you, pray with and for you, and be your friend/lil sister. You always have a place in my heart, my home, and in my family.

    Praying for God’s grace, patience, strength, peace, joy, mercy and love to be with you and your family during this time. And especially praying for your marriage; that God would do a new thing in both of you and restore and replace anything that the enemy may have stolen from you.

    Love you, Sis.

    XO

  2. I’m so sorry Michelle. Father’s day/Mother’s day- these days are for family… and the separation is felt so much more on these days. May God make a way for you. Sending you love…

  3. Dear Michelle, I’m just catching up a bit, and just wanted to leave you a note to say hi 🙂

    I’m so sorry for the painfulness of this time for your family.

    There is also a real sense of hope in what you’ve shared here, of God’s grace in our hard times, and how deeply He loves us – such a beautiful scripture too.

    Please know I’m continuing to pray, and also sending love xo

  4. Oh my dear …

    I know you are a private one, and not much given to spilling yourself. But seriously, from my heart, I am interested in your heart and the trials of your life. Thank you for sharing here. I know I’ve not been around for awhile (my own separation), but you are never far from my thoughts. If you ever want to chat, I’ll buy a virtual ticket and we can meet in a virtual coffee house, and share life over a virtual cup of coffee. Love you.

Leave a Reply

