When We Speak

Standard

I asked the Lord to come into my life

but not too far

 

I asked the Lord “please change my life

but leave things the way that they are”

 

I asked the Lord to be my guide

but just where I wanted to go

 

I asked the Lord to show me truth

but just what I wanted to know

 

Now I’m asking you Lord to come into my life

All the way

 

Lord please change my Tomorrow

Starting with Today.

(By my friend…Moggy)

How often do we do this?  I find myself praying the right words, but not really meaning the depth of each word.  As a teenager I sang in a travelling group on the weekends.  One song I sang with much conviction, my hand shooting up in the air with a testimony on my lips, “I Surrender All!” 

It reminds me of Peter.  So much of his exuberance for the Lord was not spoken, or acted out, correctly.  The Lord had to set him straight on many occasions for he would speak, or act, before he thought.  Or, possibly, he did think, just not too clearly.  But Jesus continued working with him.  He knew Peter’s heart was in the right place.  He knew Peter’s desire was for Him. 

“The apostle Peter learned a lot through hard experience.  He learned, for example, the crushing defeat and deep humiliation often follow hard on the heels of our greatest victories.  Just after Christ commended him for his great confession in Matthew 16:16 (“You are the Christ, the Son of the living God”), Peter suffered the harshest rebuke ever recorded of a disciple in the New Testament.  One moment Christ called Peter blessed, promising him the keys of the kingdom (vv.17-19).  In the next paragraph, Christ addressed Peter as Satan and said, “Get behind Me!” (v.23) — meaning, “Don’t stand in My way!”…through the painful experience of being rebuked by the Lord, Peter also learned that he was vulnerable to Satan.  Satan could fill his mouth just as surely as the Lord could fill it.  If Peter minded the things of men rather than the things of God, or if he did not do the will of God, he could be an instrument of the enemy.”  ~John MacArthur, Twelve Ordinary Men  

“I Surrender All” is still a favorite, but I find I understand the meaning better now.  When we surrender all to Him, He has a way of taking us at our word.  He will test us.  And sometimes we’ll fail the test.  We might not have meant it as far as He would take it.  Or maybe we didn’t understand the path He would take us down to get us to where He wants us to be.  But other times, in His mercy, we could scrape by with the strength He gives, and become more like Him in the process. 

He’s shaping us.  And our commitment to Him deepens.  We will fail and suffer the deep humiliation.  But we need to remember, this too is His work in us…and He’s praying for us to overcome.  Remember another test for Peter…

“Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded permission to sift you like wheat;
but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail;
and you, when once you have turned again, strengthen your brothers.”

Remember, when we don’t speak well for Him…

…He’s praying for us.

13 responses »

  1. So true! It’s hard to surrender all when we don’t even know what all consists of. Did you know you were surrendering this deep wound and that guilty memory when you said that? Probably not, since you had forgotten them. Nevertheless, God will remind you when He deems you ready, and you’ll have to open up that ugly, festering place so long hidden deep in your heart and let Him cleanse it.

    It’s humiliating. I usually think I’d like to do a little house cleaning before I “let” Him see that part of me. Very funny. As if He doesn’t know better than me the vileness of some of those forgotten, encapsulated wounds. As if anyone but He could cleanse and heal them.

    Thanks for a great, thought provoking post!

    Love in Him, Cindy

  2. Hey, Cindy!

    “Did you know you were surrendering this deep wound and that guilty memory when you said that?”

    I had no idea. And yet, as you say, He sees it all. I keep running across this verse:

    I will be happy and rejoice in Your faithfulness,
    because You notice my pain
    and You are aware of how distressed I am.
    ~Psalms 31:7

    Even before I know it, He knows. And He still loves…wow. He is incomprehensible…oh, the height and depth and length and breadth…!!!

    (I spent some time checking out Jenny Gulch yesterday…beautiful place and wonderful art…He has gifted you in a grand way! I love your pottery, especially the juice/milk pitchers.)

  3. “Simon, Simon, behold, Satan has demanded permission to sift you like wheat;
    but I have prayed for you, that your faith may not fail…” ~ from Mt. 16

    Michelle, just two things (can you believe it?): a) That this passage from Matthew 16 you’ve cited is one of the few passages in all of Scripture that gives us the “insider’s view” of what the enemy can ~ and CAN’T ~ do. (The words from Job chapter 1 keep running through my mind — where it is GOD Who says to Satan, “Have you considered My servant Job?” I realize that this (God’s sovereignty) was not perhaps your key point in this posting, but… it’s possible that a high percentage of your loyal readers will be encouraged to be reminded that EVERY one of our trials, our heartaches has EACH had to pass Divine scrutiny… before coming through the “gate” into our lives. “Have you considered My servant…Michelle?”, He very well has asked the Accuser, or “Have you considered My servant ___?” Yes, I freely admit it: when I am deep in the midst of some tough situation is the very LAST time I would like to be reminded that He “gives & takes away…” ) So thanks for including that passage. (And what a sweet comfort, knowing that for us, like Peter, He has already prayed for us, that our faith not fail…) b) Love Ps. 31…can’t believe how well you’re “tracking”! God’s “showing off” through you! Have been hanging out often in Ps. 31 recently, so thanks for mentioning Ps. 31:7. It’s like a spiritual “I-V”!

  4. Hey, Grace! I do love that truth about this verse! Can’t you just see Satan standing in the throne room pitchin’ a fit, “demanding permission”? I didn’t grow up learning about the sovereignty of God, so when this was first brought to my attention I was flabbergasted, to put it mildly. Satan has no more control over anything than God allows. God sets the limits. And since I know He is good, I can trust that whatever the situation, it’s His purpose for His glory. That brings me more comfort than anything. Fear left me instantly when I learned that truth. Totally changed my way of thinking.

    And yes, Psalm 31 let’s me cry, just as I need to do…so often. It’s the living out of James 4:8-10 for me.

    Blessings to you, Grace. I hope you have a good weekend.

  5. Beautiful, Michelle. I love the way you put it … and I’m so glad that Satan’s demands always have to go through Him … and that He’s always on our side even regardless of what it seems. Such wisdom–to allow pain for the purpose of love. I’m still wrapping my brain around it … but I know it’s there.

  6. Hey, Annie. I miss you. I pray for you lots. You’re such a wonderful person to “know”…

    I’ve been camping out in this version of Isaiah 44:22…

    I have put your evil doings out of My mind like a thick cloud,
    And your sins like a mist:
    Come back to Me; for I have taken up your cause.

    He has taken up our cause.
    It really strikes me that I am not alone. All these struggles He’s allowed are just His way (totally inconceivable and so not what we would choose) of loving me and helping to bring me to the place He desires. It helps to realize that. Everything that comes into our lives is for good, not evil. (Joseph?) He can make ashes beautiful…

    What a Mighty God we serve!

    ♥ ♥ ♥

  7. Passion and discipline are the two sides of faith.

    Most often it’s the passion of youth tempered by the experiences of living.

    As you write Michelle, sing, praying, speaking the correct words, we were taught, is very different from understanding the message behind the words. Remembering words is an exercise of our brain. It’s our experiences in life that teach us our faith.

    The more easily we can be tempted, and distracted, the harder the lessons of faith are likely to be.

    Finding the right combination of expressing our faith with passion, and acting with the discipline it teaches, can take a lifetime.

    I doubt many find the perfect combination of passion and discipline, but we will hopefully find the right combination that will leads us to the faith we need, and we will keep working to make it better.

  8. I agree. It is a learning process, Ed, and I think we’ll keep learning until the day we die. I do have a different take on the reason for the learning. I don’t think this is the only life. Actually, I think it’s the shadowlands and real life starts on the other side of our physical death. Much like a child is growing in the womb, maturing to live on the earth, I believe we are in gestation for another time and place. And when we’re fully developed, having learned the lessons, or completed the tasks He’s given, then He’ll take us home. And we’ll be ready — mature — for what comes next.

    So yes, in this life of faith, passion and discipline will certainly best prepare us for our inheritance to come.

    You make think…thanks, Ed. 🙂

  9. “I don’t think this is the only life. Actually, I think it’s the shadowlands and real life starts on the other side of our physical death. Much like a child is growing in the womb, maturing to live on the earth, I believe we are in gestation for another time and place. And when we’re fully developed, having learned the lessons, or completed the tasks He’s given, then He’ll take us home. And we’ll be ready — mature — for what comes next…”

    Ya know, Michelle, you’re quite a young “thang” to be so wise, and to speak/write such profound thoughts. You are obviously “reckless” — “reckless” in your love for JESUS! That’s it: Red-haired’n’Reckless! 😆 People will be searching all over TX for that license plate!

    “Unless a grain of wheat is buried in the ground, dead to the world, it is never any more than a grain of wheat. But if it is buried, it sprouts and reproduces itself many times over. In the same way, anyone who holds on to life just as it is destroys that life. But if you let it go, **reckless in your love**, you’ll have it forever, real and eternal.” — Jn. 12:24-25 (MSG)

    p.s. Your grandpa was blessed to have you in his life! (related to your post today)

  10. Hmmm…I’m not so young, Grace. They say 60 is the new 40 (that would be my kids) and I say 50 is the new 80! But thanks for your encouraging words. I love the way Peterson stated that passage. I think I need to buy a copy of The Message.

  11. You can read The Message on-line (for “free”) at http://www.biblegateway.com. It’s a little more difficult to use colored pencils/highlighters on a computer screen while on-line, in case you’re someone who likes to mark your books/”hard copy” as you read. And…Michelle, it’s a pleasure to have a “kid sister”;-) who’s such a great writer… We all claim you ~ whether as a big sis, or as a kid sis ~ the point WAS… that God’s graced you with a lot of wisdom (no matter HOW old your kids are, or you FEEL!). And we’re all blessed to have you in our lives! So there!

Leave a Reply

