God’s Smile

Standard

To accept God is to admit failure, a step we are hesitant to take.
We opt to impress God with how good we are rather than confessing how great He is.

We dizzy ourselves with doctrine.
Burden ourselves with rules.
Think that God smiles on our efforts.

He doesn’t.

God’s smile is not for the healthy hiker who boasts that he made the journey alone. It is, instead, for the crippled leper who begs God for a back on which to ride.

~Max Lucado

I’m begging for His  back…

Without faith it is impossible to please God… 
~Hebrews 11:6

6 responses »

  1. “I’m begging for His back…”

    Me too Michelle. I think we’re all lepers in our own way and I really believe Jesus delights in carrying us. He delights in our cry of utter dependence, and comes swiftly to lift us up and carry us.

  2. “I really believe Jesus delights in carrying us. He delights in our cry of utter dependence…”

    Yes. Thank you, Rain. I desire to please Him. I want Him to delight in me. And to know that it is my sheer dependence on Him, in everything, that brings Him delight…wow!

    And then, to know He “comes swiftly to lift us up and carry us.” Made me remember:

    He heals the brokenhearted, and bandages their wounds. ~Psalm 147:3

    The LORD is near the brokenhearted; He delivers those who are discouraged. ~Psalm 34:18

    Thanks again. 🙂

  3. I hope your God leads you to the confident faith we all need.

    It does seem like we turn to faith mostly when we feel we need it. We should strengthen our faith until it is a part of our lives every minute of every day, when we are successful, as well as when we are failing.

  4. Hey, Ed. I don’t know if you saw my last post. I really like the distinction given in “Sunday’s Sermon”:

    Faith in faith is positive thinking.
    Faith in Jesus Christ is salvation.

    I don’t have a confident faith. Actually, I’m not even sure my faith is as big as a mustard seed, I certainly have not moved many mountains recently. But the object of my faith is Christ. He is the Author and Finisher of my faith.

    Without faith in Him, I’m lost.
    I’m so thankful He carries me.

    Good to see you here. It’s been a slow start to the New Year for me. Hoping to get in the swing of things soon. So…are you cheering for the Cowboys? 🙂

  5. I am a die hard New York Giant fan. Not a good year for my Giants.

    I don’t have a strong rooting interest in any of the teams left, I guess I will be pulling for the other New York team the Jets.

    As a Giant fan, Dallas may be my least favorite team. America’s team? Right!

Leave a Reply

