When You Don’t Make Sense

Standard

It’s easy to thank God when He does what we want.  But God doesn’t always do what we want.  Ask Job.

His empire collapsed, his children were killed, and what was a healthy body became a rage of boils.  From whence came this torrent?  From whence will come any help?

Job goes straight to God and pleads his case. 

His head hurts.
His body hurts.
His heart hurts.

And God answers. Not with answers but with questions. An ocean of questions. . . .

After several dozen questions . . . Job has gotten the point. What is it?

The point is this: God owes no one anything. No reasons. No explanations. Nothing. If He gave them, we couldn’t understand them.

God is God. He knows what He is doing. When you can’t trace His hand, trust His heart. 

 (Yeah.  You know it:  Max Lucado,  The Inspirational Study Bible.)

Surely I spoke of things I did not understand;
I talked of things too wonderful for me to know.
~Job 42:3

“My thoughts are completely different from yours,”
says the LORD.
“And My ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.  
For just as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways
And My thoughts higher than your thoughts.”

~Isaiah 55:9-10

Oh, LORD God, make me trust in You alone.  Let me remember Your words and delight in them.   You made a way through the veil for me to come into Your presence.  And You promised to make something of me, something beautiful for You to behold.  As You take me through these fires, help me to remember Your promises are yes and amen.  You have plans I do not know about and a future…a hope…waiting for me…with You…for eternity.  Help me see from Your perspective, not my own.  And when You don’t make sense to me, I will trust in Your character.  For You are good.  In Jesus’ name…

4 responses »

  1. Hi Michelle. I find it both terrifying and comforting to know that God is in control. I relate to this so much because right now I’m also in a situation where only God can save and make right and restore and I need to rely completely on Him, because even though I love to fix things, to keep a plan B just in case, my plan B has come to nothing and I can do nothing. Not.a.thing. It is terrifying. But comforting. Comforting to know His promises are true. Comforting to know His plans are good plans. Comforting to know He never lies. Is always faithful. And will never ever forsake us.

  2. Yes. Terrifying…knowing we must wait for Him to move, if He wills. Yet, the comfort of His character…His ways being so much higher than ours….

    We are so myopic.
    He is El Roi…The God Who Sees.

    I’m praying for you, Rain…

  3. Great post. You summed it up well. I have always read and studied Job as the one that had and how God used him as a great example for us to remember it is not about possessions or things of this world. Then within the last month or so, I was lead to the last two chapters of the book and man there is a lot of truth in that when Job has his discussion with God. Thanks for allowing God to use you in my life today. Have a blessed day.

  4. Welcome, Dano. Very cool site you have there. The story of Job has been life-changing for me. To know He tests us and, sometimes, even allows the hedge of protection to be taken away for us to draw closer. His ways are incomprehensible, but in all of it, He is love…amazing.

    Thanks for stopping by…blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

