The Vine Life

Standard

We moved into our house ten years ago. (Wow, time flies!)

I remember the first night lying in bed talking with Phat, “Can you believe we live here!?!” It was nothing fancy, but very well maintained. The owner didn’t have an eye for decorating or landscaping, but she did believe in having the best quality. So, although I had mega-plans to fix up the place, the bones were already there.

After stripping the kitchen of the old wallpaper (HUGE job!), I decided to paint and stencil. Ten years later I still love the color and design. I won’t be changing it anytime soon. Green on green with flowing vines and the scripture, “I am the Vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me and I in him, shall bear much fruit.”

It’s a life-changing verse.
It’s the main point of life with Christ. 
Abiding…in The Vine.

“All of nature depends on hidden resources. The great trees send their roots down into the earth to draw up water and minerals. Rivers have their sources in the snow-capped mountains. The most important part of a tree is the part you cannot see, the root system, and the most important part of the Christian’s life is the part that only God sees. Unless we draw upon the deep resources of God by faith, we fail against the pressures of life…’I can–through Christ!’ was Paul’s motto.”

Philippians 4:13:
“I am ready for anything through the strength of the One who lives in me.” (JBP)
“I can do everything God asks me to with the help of Christ who gives me the strength and power.” (The Living Bible)
“I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” (NASB)

“No matter which translation you prefer, they all say the same thing: the Christian has all the power within that he needs to be adequate for the demands of life. We need only release this power by faith….

For many years, Hudson Taylor worked hard and felt that he was trusting Christ to meet his needs, but somehow he had no joy or liberty in his ministry. Then a letter from a friend opened his eyes to the adequacy of Christ. ‘It is not by trusting my own faithfulness, but by looking away to the Faithful One!’ he said. This was a turning point in his life. Moment by moment, he drew upon the power of Christ for every responsibility of the day, and Christ’s power carried him through.

Jesus teaches this same lesson in the sermon on the vine and branches in John 15. He is the Vine; we are the branches. A branch is good only for bearing fruit; otherwise you may as well burn it. The branch does not bear fruit through its own self-effort, but by drawing upon the life of the Vine. ‘Without Me, you can do nothing’ (John 15:5). As the believer maintains his communion with Christ, the power of God is there to see him through. ‘I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency’ (Phil. 4:13, AMP).”   ~Warren W. Wiersbe, Be Joyful.

Abiding.
It’s the secret of the abundant life.  I placed it on the wall so I would be ever mindful…only in Him who gives me strength.
The Vine Life.

4 responses »

  1. Hi Michelle, this post is really inspiring! That excerpt about nature depending on hidden resources, and the parallel with our inner lives before God, really struck me. How important it is to be abiding in Him, yielded to Him, experiencing His grace and love, and the way that so much flows out of this vital relationship.

  2. You made it through your first decade at your home. You have put a lot of work into it and I hope you get to enjoy many more years there.

    Discovering the power that lies within in us is one of the things that allows us to make the most out of our life, spiritually or otherwise.

  3. Hey, Y’all. Sorry for the slow response, been a bit under the weather.

    I’m so glad it inspired you, Birgit. I loved reading Wiersbe’s commentary on Philippians. He makes so much sense to me and writes in everyday language…not too high-flutin’. That hidden resource, we so often seem to think is of our own making, can only come through communion with Jesus. What a privilege He’s given us! And power to overcome. Love you xo

    Thanks, Sparkle. 😀

    Yes, Ed, one decade down, many more to go. We don’t ever plan on moving. The house “fits” us. Hope all’s well with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

