Slow Cooking

Standard

Veritgo has had me down for days.  SOOOO frustrating!!!  Everytime I think it’s passed, I move too quickly, or slightly tilt my head, and the room starts to sway once again.  This isn’t the first time it’s ever happened, but it does seem to be more violent than in the past. 

I have tons of things I want to accomplish, but each time I try I have to go back to bed.  Even sleep isn’t helping.  I must move too much during the night, cause all I can remember is lots of rocking and nausea, then I awaken very weak.  So…yeah…at this point in time, I’m feeling like the whole of life…me…my life…is one great obstacle.

I wasn’t able to make it to church today (duh), so I’ve been listening to TV preachers.  For all the negative opinions out there concerning TV evangelists, I’ve found some great ones!  One guy, from Phat’s hometown, made a statement I like:  God doesn’t use microwaves.  He uses crockpots…slow cookers.

Okay.  I know it’s not profound or even close to poetic.  A bit homespun, wouldn’t you say?  Yeah, but I like it.  And here’s why:

We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue, keeping us alert for whatever God will do next.  ~Romans 5:4

He is doing a work in me…a slow work.  I’m not sure how the illness is helping, but He promises troubles develop patience.  And I’m learning patience is a huge virtue — one I’ve lacked most of my life.  😳   Then there’s this one:

Dear brothers and sisters, whenever trouble comes your way, let it be an opportunity for joy.  For when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.  So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything.  ~James 1:2-4

Strong character.  Ready for anything.  Hmmm…I could use some of that!  And I’m to be joyous at this opportune time.  Man!  If that’s what I’m suppose to be feeling, I’ve got a long way to go.  Must be why He keeps allowing the difficulties… ya think? 

He’s forging me.  Slow cooking…

No quick microwave work with God.  No overnight successes. 

That’s really quite helpful, actually.  Some seem to say if we aren’t having success in all areas, something must be up in our relationship with God.  I’m learning they’re right.  Something is up.  He’s fine-tuning, purging, forging me into tempered steel… 

There has never been the slightest doubt in my mind that the God who started this great work in you would keep at it and bring it to a flourishing finish on the very day Christ Jesus appears.  ~Philippians 1:6

The work…the cooking…the forging…it won’t be done quickly and it won’t be finished before I die. 

It’s an ongoing process.

I’m in God’s crockpot.

Heh.

10 responses »

  1. This imitates some of the things I mentioned in my recent post. AND we wrote it around the same time!

    Should I start calling you my “twinkie” 😉

    It seems that is a current message for believers all over: the being joyous through our circumstances because it is building us in Him.

    Like I shared in my post a pastor said last night “The same circumstances God is using to strengthen you are the same circumstances the enemy is using to destroy you. Whose winning?”

    When we are joyous we are allowing God to walk us through our circumstances. He is winning.

    When we are down and out, miserable and depressed, and give up hope in God to deliver us we are allowing the enemy to win.

    I try to make a conscious, daily choice to participate in victory with God in my circumstances.

    Not always easy but doable with the God we serve with whom ALL things are possible.

    Good Word as usual Sis. Thank you! I love you!

  2. i love this mental image… and He definitely has me simmering on “low” 🙂

    so sorry about the vertigo; i know how frustrating it is to be immobile and pray it passes for you soon. sending you much love…

  3. I have quite a ways to go, Gch, to get to that joyous place in difficult circumstances. But to know He hasn’t given up on me, He continues to forge ahead, keeps me sane in the process. I love you, Gch!! 🙂

    Well, hey there, Gitz! I’m okay with a low simmer, when He turns up the heat too much…whew! Simmering is hot enough for me.

    Thank you for the love; you’ve continued to be in my prayers. Some day…this too shall pass, right? 😉

  4. Sorry to hear about your vertigo. Now I know why you didn’t get to watch the Dallas Cowboy game.

    I am posting my comment Moday night, and I hope you are feeling better by now.

    It is good to learn patience, but hopefully we can find a better way than being sick.

    I am afrid I am more of a crackpot than a crockpot. 🙂

    I have never had a lot of patience, and that’s probably why I have been burned so much. 🙂

    Faith is an ongoing process, that is something we will need to keep working for as long as we live.

  5. Michelle, I really hope you are feeling better.

    “for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything.” That’s quite a promise:)

  6. Oh-ho-ho!! You’re a funny man tonight, Ed. 🙂

    I don’t know if you’ve ever heard the illustration of the Refiner’s Fire…of the process of refining silver. The Refiner uses a slow boil to get rid of the dross/impurities within the metal. As the heat turns up the impurities rise to the surface and the Refiner skims the dross off the top. The higher grade silver stays in the pot the longest, burning more and more dross away…creating a more pure silver. The process of turning up the heat and skimming off the dross continues until the Refiner sees His reflection in the surface.

    I love that illustration. It helps me to endure the fire. The scripture says our God is a consuming fire (Heb. 12:29).

    I love that promise too, Rain.

    Yeah, Goth…me too.

  7. That’s the trouble with getting to a post ‘late’ – others can steal your jokes (thanks Ed!) 😉

    and everyone here has already said just about everything i was going to including my hope that you recover from the vertigo real soon.

    i know God uses anything and everything to ‘refine’ us but i sometimes fail to understand why we need to keep on experiencing a particular ‘obstacle’ when we’ve got past it before – many times perhaps??

    Have we really not learned what He is tying to show us the first twenty times? i guess not huh?

    He knows better than we what we are to learn – but sometimes it seems we need some help because on our own we just don’t see it.

    i’m not sure patience in such circumstances actually helps as much as a guiding hand might?

    Not all of us are capable of changing from our inherent behaviour patterns sufficiently so as to be able to lose a particular ‘dross’.

    Sometimes we are required to take a chance and go ‘outside the box’ and use our faith and His Will Power to transcend what we have previously been capable of achieving.

    God is the one who is capable of miracles – it is often our stubbornness that prevents them.

    If we ask Him He promises to answer our requests – He does it in His time and His way however – a way that we can be a part of – if we develop the wisdom to learn how to.

    Praying Sis.

    <B

  8. Hi Michelle, Just catching up :), and so sorry to hear about the vertigo, and how horrible this has been making you feel. I really hope you’re feeling better soon.

    This post has been so good to read. The idea that we are works-in-progress until we go to be with Him, and that it really seems He’s not in any hurry a lot of the time :). It’s very free-ing to know that God has us in the palm of His hand, and we can relax in the knowledge of that.

    Love you xo

  9. “i know God uses anything and everything to ‘refine’ us but i sometimes fail to understand why we need to keep on experiencing a particular ‘obstacle’ when we’ve got past it before – many times perhaps??”

    Well, Love, for me…I’m stubborn. It takes a few visits to the woodshed for me to get the point. I’m not proud of this, but I do know it’s all part of my flesh…my humanity. I’m very thankful He is patient.

    Hey, Birg. So glad to hear the conference went well. The vertigo has lessened, but not altogether gone. It’s just part of what ails me.

    It is freeing for me, when I remember, that He is in control and will bring me to the place He promised. To relax in His work and not worry about mine…well, I’m not quite there yet, but He knows that, too, and continues to love me, nonetheless. Love you too, Birg! xo

Leave a Reply

