I Long For You

Standard

As a deer longs for streams of water,
So I long for you, O God!
I thirst for God,
For the living God.

I say, “When will I be able to go and appear in God’s presence?”
I cannot eat, I weep day and night;
All day long they say to me, “Where is your God?”

I will remember and weep!

For I was once walking along
With the great throng to the temple of God,
Shouting and giving thanks along with the crowd
As we celebrated the holy festival.

Why are you depressed, O my soul?
Why are you upset?

Wait for God!
For I will again give thanks
To my God for His saving intervention.

I am depressed,
So I will pray to You while I am trapped here
In the region of the upper Jordan,
From Hermon, from Mount Mizar.

One deep stream calls out to another
At the sound of Your waterfalls;
All Your billows and waves overwhelm me.

By day the Lord decrees His loyal love,
And by night He gives me a song,
A prayer to the living God.

I will pray to God, my high ridge:
“Why do You ignore me?
Why must I walk around mourning
Because my enemies oppress me?”
My enemies’ taunts cut into me to the bone,
As they say to me all day long, “Where is your God?”

Why are you depressed, O my soul?
Why are you upset?

Wait for God!
For I will again give thanks

To my God for His saving intervention.

~Psalm 42

13 responses »

  1. Amen! What I love about David, is that no matter how depressed and despondent he was, he always came back around to praising God in the end. I think that’s key. He didn’t stay in the mud. He lifted His eyes and saw the One who would deliver him.

  2. David is the realest brother I know!

    He truly validates my humanness and helps me to accept that believing, sinning, praising, obedience, disobedience, joy, weeping, sadness etc. all can exist simultaneously in spite of not being mutually exclusive if that makes sense?

    What an awesome God we serve! He knows we need to know that He understands our humanness and doesn’t hold it against us.

    Love you Sis XO

  3. May our awesome God respond to your heart with much love and grace and comfort.
    What a beautiful opening verse –
    “As a deer longs for streams of water,
    So I long for you, O God!
    I thirst for God,
    For the living God.”
    Love you, and I will pray for you today xo

  4. Longing for something we desire is a very human emotion. For the CF there is no greater reward than joining God in Heaven. That is the CF’s greatest desire. I can understand why sometimes life in the world seems so depressing in comparison.

    My understanding is however that the CF will have this reward in God’s time, when he knows they are ready. Your God created your life, and your world, for a reason. Focusing on learning that reason, living your life as your God intended, by following the guidance of your Spirit, is what will bring closer to that reward.

  5. Ed~I liked what you said about it being in God’s time. Unfortunately a lot of believers tend to focus on Heaven which is no doubt something to be excited about and look forward to.

    However, God’s Word says He came that we may have life and life more abundantly. I believe we are meant to enjoy a peaceful life here on Earth while we’re here. No it’s not meant to be easy but peace, joy, strength, favor, blessing, healing, restoration, and miracles are all a part of it.

  6. Wait For God?

    there are so many interpretations of that phrase. 😦

    Wait for or wait ON God?(Wait/Serve Him or wait for Him to ‘serve’ you?? give you what you want? (Deliverance form his/your enemies?)

    Wait for God to reveal His Wisdom to/for us?

    Or seek it as it is everywhere in everything all about us (and also within).

    Patience to overcome our own intolerance and anger and grief may be sometimes necessary for us – but are we ever to wait for God to Show Himself to us when He is everpresent and waiting for us to see Him right next to us – right inside of us – if we can but overcome our own short-sightedness.

    David is so very human. many easily see themselves in Him and his writings/feelings.

    So very not like Christ. in whom none of us see ourselves, but who all look to Him as the ‘perfect’ role model to aim for while feeling like we are not ever able. 😦

    Being human is something to be overcome – not revelled in or enjoyed or justified. We overcome through seeking Him in all things and in permanently eliminating from us that which keeps us under the power of our bodies. and does not increase our spirit to be as His.

    <B

  7. Netbible.org to the rescue! 😉

    KJV has it as ‘Hope for God’ as in ‘by having Hope in God and taking the time to let His Will RESTore our soul from it’s disquiet (that David was feeling at the time).

    We can Hope in an instant – and always also – there is no need to wait FOR God in this sense but what is needed is time to allow our focus to be restored from our own negativity from what we have been paying more attention to than we should (the displeasantries that other men can cause us and not the Joy and Hope in God that He brings to us.)

    God is more patient than we ever are. He can afford to wait for us to ‘get it’ – we are the ones who feel like we can’t wait that long, not having much time to wait in.

    If we paid as much attention to Him as to the rest of life on this planet we might stand more of a chance. 🙂

    Thanks Sis.

    <B

  8. That’s my thought, Sparkle. David could reach some scary depths, but he always came back to hoping in the Lord. He speaks my heart LOTS.

    Mine too, Ric.

    So thankful, Gch, He gives grace abundantly! We serve a mighty, loving, AWESOME God.

    He did, Birg. He always does. His comfort is the best. Thank you for praying for me.

    Your wisdom astounds me, Ed. You’ve stated it well. Focusing on Him…

    Hey, Tracee! I get that there are different interpretations of “deep calling to deep.” I am thankful that in the varied understandings, it is God who is in control. Welcome. Nice to see you here.

    I thought you’d find an answer, Love. Wait…Hope…Reminds me of the verse from Isaiah: Those who wait upon the Lord will renew their strength, they will mount up with wings as eagles. They will walk and not grow weary. They will run and not faint.

    Teach me, Lord, to wait.

    Good Morning, Rain…David’s confidence in God brings me to my knees. To understand he was a man after God’s own heart…much to learn there.

    Thanks, All Y’all, for your steadfast love toward me. It helps, in the depths, to know others are praying. Love Y’all.

Leave a Reply

