Heart Cries

Standard

The first time it happened I didn’t really think much of it.
Cool coincidence?
The second time I thought, “That’s weird. Was that You?”
The third time I knew: He was answering my prayers.

It is more than coincidence. God hears our heart cries.

Okay. So this is what happened…

I’m in a small group study on Thursday evenings. It’s with the ministry Celebrate Recovery and at the end of each evening we pair up and pray for one another. The leader has a fun way of “pairing” us. She has slips of paper folded up with a verse of scripture…or a number…or something written on it. Each of us takes a slip and we pair up with the other person who has the same verse, number or whatever.

The first time it happened was during the lesson. Listening to the other ladies share, I felt a desire to pray with one particular lady and quickly cried in my heart to God, “I’d like to pray with her, please.” At the end of the evening we were paired. Kinda cool, right? I thought so, but I wasn’t too quick to give Him the praise. Just thought…hmmm…coincidence.

The next week. Same thing. I wasn’t deliberately “testing” the situation. I just had a heart connect with one of the ladies’ testimony. I don’t even think I purposefully prayed, just remember thinking, “I hope I get to pray with her.” Of course, this time I had a sneaking suspicion I was being heard.

Now, the funny thing was, the next week I was getting a little freaked. I mean, not really, but sort of…? So, I purposefully did NOT think about anyone in particular. As a thought crept into my mind I just told God, “I’m not testing You. I don’t think I’m suppose to.”

But the week after. Yep. You got it. It happened again. Way cool!

He hears my heart cries. Amazing. I didn’t have to give a long spiel to get Him to hear me…He just knew. And, of course, He desires that we pray with one another so why wouldn’t He give me my request? It was within His will to do so.

Our God is personal.
He cares about our thoughts.
He cares about our hopes.
Our dreams. Our hurts. Our fears.
He is listening.
And He cares.

It was a simple lesson. But one I dearly needed to learn.

This is the confidence which we have before Him, that,
if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.
And if we know that He hears us in whatever we ask,
we know that we have the requests
which we have asked from Him.

~1 John 5:14-15

Give all your worries and cares to God,
for He cares about what happens to you.

~1 Peter 5:7

14 responses »

  1. Having your faith reinforced must is a beautiful moment.

    The love of your God expressed in 1 Peter 5:7 must be a source of great comfort to all Christ Followers.

    I hope focusing on this love will help you get past whatever trials in life you face.

  2. Thanks, Rain. I’m praying for you too.

    Hey, Ed. It’s no parting of the Red Sea, but it was specific, personal and quite comforting. Yes, as you say, it did reinforce my faith.

  3. Sometimes it is but the smallest of things that greatly grows our Faith. πŸ™‚

    Another way of looking at this could be… (Bearing in mind He knows what you have need of BEFORE you ask it of Him – Matt 6:8).

    … at those times, your will was so closely aligned with His that ‘you’ chose which partner you wanted (you were able to ‘hear’ and pay attention to His Will for you) to select the right piece of paper to partner with before you made your prayer.

    Your spirit felt His Prompting and your body followed your spirit’s listening to Him in your life for the very immediate future up to the point of praying with your ‘pair’.

    Of course, it would also be necessary for the person you were with to also select the right verse if you selected your verse before the other chose hers.

    So God may well have been working through you both (all) with all spirits co-operating and rightly guiding the human body’s.

    or, it may just be three straight coincidneces πŸ˜‰

    Glad that you kept in mind not to ‘tempt’ The Lord , Sis πŸ™‚

    <B

  4. I have come to a place of seeing God in everything. Even the “littlest” of things. People often think I’m being “emotional” or “exaggerating” but I know His power works in all areas of my life because He is concerned with all areas of my life. He knows every single hair on my head right? That right there shows that He IS concerned with the details.

    Exact change for a sandwich when I was really hungry?

    Thank you Jesus.

    A nice immigration officer every time I’ve traveled back to the States?

    Thank you Jesus.

    Baby kicking every single time I have wondered why he wasn’t kicking; the exact moment I wondered that?

    Thank you Jesus.

    I had some similar encounters/experiences at CR last night Sis. Thank you for sharing such an amazing source of God’s love and encouragement through His people with me.

    I LOVE YOU.

  5. I love this story Michelle! I love hearing how God is at work in the details, how much He cares for us. I love that He’s always present with us.
    I hope you’re having a good weekend! Lots of love xo

  6. Hey, Darla…yes, even the faintest cries. He loves us so… ♥ ♥ ♥

    Yes, Love. I believe He cares about the details of our lives. And most of the time, I believe God is in the coincidences… ♥ ♥ ♥

    Amen, Ayla! He understands our needs before we do…I LOVE YOU.

    Thank you, Birgit. I love His constant care. I feel His presence in my life and it is amazing!! Love you too. xo

  7. So neat!! (Hi there my friend!) Yes – He has heard my heart cries so many times. It always amazes me, and certainly lets me know how personally He loves me. It’s an incredible feeling. So glad for you and your heart being loved!

  8. HEY, SPARKLE!!!

    He is our faithful Love. I’m so thankful that His love endures forever.

    I changed the site a few weeks ago. Had to show-off my Black-eyed Susans. Glad you like it.

  9. It is only after reading your post about Dolores that I think I truly understand what you are saying with this post and wow! It seems like there are things in life that we long for but don’t dare say out loud because they seem to wonderful for us or too great a thing for us to aspire to. But I just bet you God hears what we don’t say and smiles and thinks to himself “You just wait and see what I will do.”

    A good example of this is my parentals (Max and Mim) always wanted to live in Colorado but thought they could never afford it and this summer they moved back there permanently.

    Anyway you’ve given me a lot to think about, love it!

    G

  10. Hey, Goth! I have some things in my heart I don’t dare share out loud. Ponderings. Hopeful wishes…? He’s not a genie. I do know that. But if He desires to fulfill my heart cries, if they don’t in any way go against His sovereign will…wow.

    He gives good gifts to His children and is intimately acquainted with all our ways. He is an amazing Father.

    So glad to hear about your parents. What a gift!

Leave a Reply

