Faith Sees the Savior

Standard

I stand a few feet from a mirror and see the face of a (wo)man who failed, . . . failed his Maker. Again. I promised I wouldn’t, but I did. I was quiet when I should have been bold. I took a seat when I should have taken a stand.

If this were the first time, it would be different. But it isn’t. How many times can one fall and expect to be caught? . . .

Your eyes look in the mirror and see a sinner, a failure, a promise breaker. But by faith you look in the mirror and see a robed prodigal bearing the ring of grace on your finger and the kiss of your Father on your face. . . .

Your eyes see your faults. Your faith sees your Savior.

Your eyes see your guilt. Your faith sees His blood.

~Max Lucado, When God Whispers Your Name

Sometimes looking in the mirror can be devastating. Seeing the ways we’ve faltered, failed or completely effed-up (excuse me) can hurt SO terribly that we choose to take steps to protect ourselves from the pain.

Some choose drugs. Some choose sex. Some choose alcohol. Some choose work. Some choose “good” works. Some choose laughter. Some choose food. Some choose _________.

Whatever it may be, it’s a way to escape the tragedy of our souls.

We need a Savior. And we need Him every. day.

Grace for the moment.
New mercies every morning.
Blood that covers ALL our sin — past, present and future.

Nothing is new to Him. He saw it all from the beginning. He isn’t surprised by the choices we’ve made. He’s not sitting up there, looking down on us, hoping hoping hoping, keeping His fingers crossed we’ll choose the right door. He knows what we’ll do. And He made a way for us…in spite of us…to be with Him.

His grace is everlasting.
His mercies are freshly bestowed.
His blood covers ALL our sins.

Praise Him!

Oh, precious is the flow that makes me white as snow.
No other fount I know, nothing but the blood of Jesus.

16 responses »

  1. I’m confused, how do we walk in the way of the Lord, without doing good works; and if we are doing good works how is it that we are not displaying faith.

    I wonder if people realise that the works garnering Pauls wrath, were the many daily rituals and traditions performed mindlessly by most. Jesus fed the hungry, helped the sick and didn’t accept payment.

    Those charitable acts are the good works I speak of, and of course moral behavior. It seems to me we get caught up on what we proclaim, which is lip service.

    confused!

  2. Hi, Pelagian7.

    I do not believe we will find in scripture that good works will save us. Only faith in Christ’s work on the cross will bring us salvation.

    From the outworking of our faith, we will do good things…those things prepared beforehand that we should do…through the Holy Spirit.

    But works of the flesh…works to “prop” ourselves up and help us feel better…are NOT of the Spirit, but flesh.

    That was my point. Some people choose to “look good” in an effort not to feel bad about the sins they’ve committed. These are not good works but falsely done from a place of self-righteousness.

    Hope you can see the difference. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. I see that we have different ideas about good works. My definition includes truly charitable works, where any done for reward, even to feel good, are self serving and not redeemable. I wonder, how often are religious differences initiated through semantics?

    Knowing myself, I could argue a long time with someone who agreed with me!

    thanks.

  4. “I wonder, how often are religious differences initiated through semantics?”

    Too often, I’m afraid.

    Truly charitable works, those done from the heart, out of love for the other…can they ever be wrong?

    I think we just agreed. πŸ˜‰

  5. I have to agree with my ‘Sis’ – far too often semantics, or having a differing view of what the same word or set of words actually means, or is most accurately meaning, to two or more people, initiates Religious differences far more than they should or have ANY ‘right’ to.

    i feel that is due to the fact however, that being the possessors of a fairly ‘limited’ and finite mind we rarely find another mind that contains very similar thought patterns or beliefs to our own – at last 100% of the time anyway. πŸ™‚

    Hence we are forever ‘doomed’ to see the ‘same things’ from different perspectives and through different ‘filters’.

    If we could but learn how to ‘see’ everything through the faith of His One Spirit and not our own selfish and flesh-based ones we may have a chance at resolving our points of differing views and come to acceptance of the underlying connection we all hold with all Created things.

    maybe then loveWILLbringustogether?

    As to the rest of the post… max’s last two lines are worthy of discussion. Paul tells us we are to be led, not by our eyes, but through our Faith, by Spirit.

    Don’t see the ‘sin’ – know the Faith and ‘see’ the prodigal son (daughter) returning to the Father’s Fold.

    Perhaps, by the Power of His Hand and with our freely given will, overcoming a difficulty or several along the way?

    <B

  6. “If we could but learn how to ’see’ everything through the faith of His One Spirit and not our own selfish and flesh-based ones we may have a chance at resolving our points of differing views and come to acceptance of the underlying connection we all hold with all Created things.”

    This made me think of Philippians 2: 1-3

    Therefore, if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort provided by love, any fellowship in the Spirit, any affection or mercy, complete my joy and be of the same mind, by having the same love, being united in spirit, and having one purpose. Instead of being motivated by selfish ambition or vanity, each of you should, in humility, be moved to treat one another as more important than yourself.

    Certainly, Love will bring us together…God is love.

    And yes, overcoming a difficulty…many difficulties along the way…through the power of His saving grace.

    Thank you, sir. πŸ˜‰

    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Sweet Girl is back!!!!! πŸ˜€ I love you, Gch! XO

  7. Philo (Gk) – loving, especially a ‘brotherly’ love.

    Generative of ‘Philippians’.

    Also applies equally well to Sisters! πŸ˜‰

    We seem to be seeing more in common these days πŸ™‚

    <B

  8. Hey, Goth!!! It’s so good to see you here. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re well. (((hugs)))

    Yes, Love, I was thinking the same. What could be the difference? I’m not sure, but I am enjoying it. πŸ™‚

  9. You know I think my biggest fear is failing God and yet it is probably the thing I do most every day.

    “His grace is everlasting.
    His mercies are freshly bestowed.
    His blood covers ALL our sins.”

    Amen

  10. Hey, Rain. I know what you mean about the fear of failing Him on a daily basis. But you know, He’s not surprised. He knows we are dust and understands our “anxiety” in this. I read a quote by C.S. Lewis that really helped me in understanding the “fear of failing” or anxieties we may have in this walk of faith:

    Some people feel guilty about their anxieties and regard them as a defect of faith but they are afflictions, not sins. Like all afflictions, they are, if we so take them, our share in the passion of Christ.

    I do believe through our “suffering” in the day-to-day to not fail Him, or to put it positively, to please Him, we are learning more about Him. It has been granted to us to suffer for the sake of Christ that we may know Him more fully. I think I’m seeing it as part of the sancitfying fire.

    Praise Him! He will never leave or forsake us. He knows exactly what we’re going through and chose us, anyway…

    Love you, Rain. XO

  11. “Some choose drugs. Some choose sex. Some choose alcohol.”

    Convicted on all three counts.

    “Whatever it may be, it’s a way to escape the tragedy of our souls.”

    Absolutely right.

    Faith is essential to overcoming what ever trials we have failed, and to face the challenges each day brings.

  12. Hey, Ed. In what/whom do you place your faith?

    I need a Saviour or else I continue to live in my sin. I mean, yes, I will keep sinning in this flesh, but at least through my Saviour (His Spirit within) I have the power to choose to live in holiness. I’m not a slave to sin anymore.

    From where did the power come which enabled you to step away from the tragedy of your soul?

  13. “Some people feel guilty about their anxieties and regard them as a defect of faith but they are afflictions, not sins. Like all afflictions, they are, if we so take them, our share in the passion of Christ.”

    Exactly right as i see it too.

    Feeling guilty for our anxiety alone is human – but not helpful to us.

    Christ has the ability to heal us of any affliction, including this one. Should we have the faith to believe it so.

    The first paragraph does not mean we don’t still from time to time commit sin, even while we learn to live only IN Him, None of us succeed 100% of the time and so remain to some degree ‘sinners’.

    We are given the choice to be able to choose whether we live in the sin through the flesh or follow Him in Spirit. Our human habits of the flesh holds a very strong attraction to our mind and heart which is why we have need of a New Body and Mind of Spirit to ‘choose’ over our flesh one, so that we do His Will and not ours.

    It remains very hard for us to fully ‘escape’ the attachment to our flesh body completely in every second of the life of the human part of us.

    As Paul says: we are to take every thought captive to Christ. Every thought.

    So not easy to do.

    But so worth it if we learn to. πŸ™‚

    <B

  14. “As Paul says: we are to take every thought captive to Christ. Every thought.

    So not easy to do.”

    Amen! And yes, amen again…it is so worth it if we learn to…but just how wide is this learning curve?

    I am so thankful for His grace and mercy.

Leave a Reply

