The Solid Rock

Standard

As I’ve been praying this old hymn keeps coming to mind:

My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame.  But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

When darkness seems to hide His face, I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale, my anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way, He then is all my Hope and Stay.

On Christ the Solid Rock I stand!
All other ground is sinking sand…all other ground is sinking sand.

My anchor holds within the veil…in the throne room of God, in His very presence…Jesus, being the forerunner, made a way for me to enter. 

On Christ, the Solid Rock I stand!

…When people take an oath, they call on someone greater than themselves to hold them to it. And without any question that oath is binding. God also bound Himself with an oath, so that those who received the promise could be perfectly sure that He would never change His mind. So God has given us both His promise and His oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to Him for refuge can take new courage, for we can hold on to His promise with confidence. This confidence is like a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls. It leads us through the curtain of heaven into God’s inner sanctuary. Jesus has already gone in there for us. He has become our eternal High Priest…  ~Hebrews 6:16-20

On Christ, the Solid Rock I stand!  All other ground is sinking sand.

When the Accuser speaks (and sometimes with a vengeance)  I can trust in God…His oath, His covenant, His blood.

Because it is impossible for God to lie.

Thank you, Father, through Jesus Christ, Your Son.

10 responses »

  1. It is always interesting to listen to those I work with and how they place all their trust in themselves and their abilities. I know I would be lost and nothing without Christ as my foundation. Thanks for taking the time to remind us that Jesus is our solid rock foundation.

    Love and hugs to you

    Comicphat – peace out.

  2. Trusting in myself, I’m sunk. I’d still be stuck in the muck and mire of my own flesh. He then is all my Hope and Stay…

    Thanks, Phat!
    Lots of love and hugs to you! 😉

  3. What ‘concerns’ me about us humans Sis – said in a manner like as to the things you mention in your post and comment – is that While He is indeed ‘our Solid Rock’ we all actively ‘cover Him in our muck and mire and we do nothing to wash off what we have caused to ‘smear over’ the Rock but in trusting He will do ALL the ‘washing we go right on adding a continual covering over of Him under our somewhat ‘dirty’ feet.

    i say we are to work with Christ in doing some of the ‘washing’ of our flesh through the moments in life we are able to actually live more in Spirit than in flesh – and ensure there becomes less of the muck and more of the Rock within each one of us.

    As we do so the Rock under our feet will become less and less ‘covered’ in our coruption.and we gain ever ‘firmer footing allowing more and more opportunity to clear more slime away from under our feet.

    WE don’t ever ‘replace’ Christ we work WITH Him instead of only working against Him and letting Him do ‘everything’ (He will not choose to make our flesh ‘perfect’ – only our Spirit. If we do not ever learn how to ‘separate’ ourselves from the flesh and be lead by our Spirit. He will not change our miinds for us – we have to do the choosing and overcoming of our flesh and as we do He will (and already has) build up our spirit in/of Him. 🙂

    <B

  4. Good morning, Love. We cannot live in the muck and mire. Amen! We must go to Him for washing. We are to hunger and thirst for righteousness and when we see we are living contrary to His ways, we are to line up with Him.

    Now this is the gospel message we have heard from Him and announce to you: God is light, and in Him there is no darkness at all. If we say we have fellowship with Him and yet keep on walking in the darkness, we are lying and not practicing the truth. But if we walk in the light as He Himself is in the light, we have fellowship with one another and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say we do not bear the guilt of sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us. But if we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous, forgiving us our sins and cleansing us from all unrighteousness. If we say we have not sinned, we make Him a liar and His word is not in us.

    My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous One, and He Himself is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for our sins but also for the whole world.” ~1John 1:5-2:2

    Though your sins have stained you like the color red, you can become white like snow; though they are as easy to see as the color scarlet, you can become white like wool. ~Isaiah 1:18

    Sanctification is a lifelong process, a daily washing, a constant cleansing. We are being changed from glory to glory as we walk through this life. Will we stumble? Yes. We will. All of us, in many different ways. But we have an Advocate with the Father and He will continue to work in us to bring us to completion.

    He is my hope. If it were only up to me, I would be sunk. As I work out my salvation with fear and trembling I am so thankful that He works in me, to will and to work for His good pleasure.

    Forgiveness…Restoration…Amazing grace!!

  5. You are right Michelle, the foundation of our faith must be as solid as a rock, or it will not stand up to the challenges that life will throw at us.

    When our faith rest on bedrock, we should be confident that it will always be there, under the muck and mire of our sins.

  6. Thanks, Ed. Your comment made me think of another old hymn:

    He brought me out of the miry clay.
    He set my feet on the Rock to stay.
    He put a song in my soul today.
    A song of praise – Hallelujah!

    I’m singing a song of praise today.

  7. “On Christ the Solid Rock I stand!
    All other ground is sinking sand…all other ground is sinking sand.”

    i love that song..its one of my all time favorites..Praise GOD for giving us a Solid place to stand in HIM…love that does my heart good.

  8. Nothing but Jesus… I love this part:

    “When all around my soul gives way, He then is all my Hope and Stay”

    He is our only Hope, who else can we turn to but Him?

Leave a Reply

