Praise to God

Standard

You are a great God.

Your character is holy.

Your truth is absolute.

Your strength is unending.

Your discipline is fair. . . .

Your provisions are abundant for our needs.

Your light is adequate for our path.

Your grace is sufficient for our sins. . . .

You are never early, never late. . . .

You sent your Son in the fullness of time and
will return at the consummation of time.

Your plan is perfect.

Bewildering, Puzzling, Troubling.

But perfect.

~Max Lucado

Let us always offer to God our sacrifice of praise. ~Hebrews 13:15

11 responses »

  1. Yeah, Nor, that one got to me, too.

    To understand His ways…I guess if we could then He wouldn’t be God anymore.

    I ask myself, ‘So how much faith do you really have? Enough to let Him run the show, even when you’re not getting the plot…?”

  2. I get your struggle, Alan. To allow Him to guide us step-by-step when at times that requires a moment-by-moment reliance…and we aren’t at all sure where we’re headed…I can only understand by calling it faith.

    I don’t really think I’m making much sense. It all feels a bit muddled right now. All I know to do is trust in His love for me, in His plans…not mine…His.

    I’ll keep you in my prayers, Alan…truly.

  3. Amen. His plan is perfect. Never early, never late. I have to keep reminding myself of this when I am trying to keep God to my schedule. His ways are so much much better than mine!

  4. If you get a moment Sis would you do me a small favour?

    look at Matt 15:22-28 and particularly vs 24 and give me your thoughts?

    Wisdom is wisdom and truth is truth but i do wonder many times in reading the Bible just how much attention we should be paying to things today that were never intended for us directly?

    Can this add to our confusion?

    And does Colossians 3 explain some or all of the confusion more perfectly?

    <B

  5. His ways are certainly better than mine, Rain. Sometimes I don’t think so, but that’s usually because I’m in the middle of a temper tantrum, of sorts. When I finally calm down and realize His love is holy love…wanting what’s best for the other…I can think more clearly.

    Hey, Love. I cetainly do think that if we are not looking carefully at the type literature we’re reading, we can totally misunderstand the application. But is it all profitable? Yes.

    All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. ~2Timothy 3:16

    For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through endurance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. ~Romans 15:4

    The Word of God does not wither or fade away…and all will be accomplished as it was written…

    Your word, O LORD, is eternal; it stands firm in the heavens. ~Psalms 119:89

    If we are to seek heavenly things (Col.3), and we believe the Bible is God’s word, then we are to live by what He has said…as it applies to us…as Christians. We are not bound by the Old Cov’t but by the New. That does make a difference as far as grace is concerned.

    Did you catch the grace given to the Samaritan woman as she cried out? Jesus did do as she asked of Him. He was sent on a mission from God for the Jewish nation. Yet, the pardon (the propitiation) He would gain was for the whole world. “For God so loved the world that He gave…”

    I think we add to our confusion by arguing with the main and plain of Scripture. At least, I know that’s when I get into trouble. 😕

    So did I answer your question? Hopefully?

  6. “How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!” – John

    lavished – that is a great word…

    lav⋅ish –verb (used with object)

    3. to expend or give in great amounts or without limit

  7. Thank you Sis, you certainly answered my question 🙂 i remain a little unsure if you saw my point? 😉

    Please understand – i in NO WAY am arguing against Scripture – or doubt that it is always worthy for use in instruction and rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness. any misunderstanding is MY (our) fault – not that of the written Word.

    What i was endeavouring to clarify and sought your thoughts on was the potential we hold to misinterpret Scripture by chosing to believe a small section of the text was written to ‘fit’ our exact situation when in fact it was never intended to be taken so ‘personally’.

    For clarification – i am NOT talking about the message of the Bible which i believe applies to every believer in God, whatever their ‘history’. but about very specific passages we all ‘focus’ upon at various times, many times taken out of context, and tend to feel ‘fits’ exactly our personal situation and is telling us something important and universal when it was actually being told to others than ourselves and did not mean what we took it to mean – or not in the way we took it (interpreted it).

    the exact quote i was considering when i asked the question initially was: “24 But he answered and said, I am not sent but unto the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”

    While He gave Grace unto the Samarian woman (and to the roman soldier and the man who touched His robe as He passed by) He clearly states the reason He came to earth and it seems not to be specifically for you and me (Unless your ancestry includes those of the lost tribes of Israel?)

    At least that is how HE Himself seems to see things? Being full of pride, humans can often see things differently to Him.

    I think it is often forgotten that while we are all ‘children of God’ ( almost all of whom chose to disregard our ‘original’ parentage and instead ‘go our own ‘Way’ ‘). Only a VERY SMALL subset of ‘us’ were actually adopting the title of the CHOSEN ones of God, specifically those who passed through the Desert to the Promised Land. Also while they were claiming the ‘title’ Chosen Ones there were many of them who did not live up to His expectations for them.

    God the Father then sent Jesus and the Holy Spirit to Him in order to bring the ‘lost’ back into the fold. Clearly – as He made apparent to the Disciples and the Samarian woman – He did not come for the rest of us who were never ‘Chosen by God’ from a far earlier time. Nor did he come for those who stayed True to their God from amongst the original Twelve tribes as there was no ‘need’ – they already were doing as they were instructed and kept the Word. (and The Law and The Prophets).

    So who are we? are we descended from the Chosen Ones – or the greater section of Humanity that was not ‘Chosen’? Have we kept the Word and The Law etc or have we fallen away and become as lost sheep?

    What parts of the Bible are intended specifically for us and what for others who don’t share our ancestry/history??

    And then as i mentioned – in Colossians (and also Galatians 3:28) ANY who have come to Christ and are truly IN Him, no longer are ‘separate’ or different (Jew/Greek, Male/female, Bond/free, Barbarian, Scyhtian, etc) ALL are One.

    Paul aims to assure that ALL can come to Christ while writing to people who largely were following Old Jewish faith that did not recognise Christ and would actively try to keep ‘their’ club as the one with exclusive right to Him and no ‘foreigners’ were allowed ‘in’. 9 because they were not ‘Chosen’ of God and so were not His Children unless they adopted Jewish Old testament and Faith. (strictly following The Law – as they ‘understood it).

    <B

  8. “Please understand – i in NO WAY am arguing against Scripture”

    I didn’t feel you were.

    So I really hear you asking if we are a part of the Chosen people of God…I think…???

    We have been grafted into the vine (Israel) as Paul explains in Romans. Possibly an indepth study of Romans 9 & 10 will help to explain how we relate to the Chosen people of God.

    I do NOT believe the Church has replaced Israel. I do believe God has a plan for the nation of Israel that will be fulfilled in His time. I also believe much of prophecy has not yet happened, leaving much to be revealed.

    I’m sorry I’m not being anymore specific, Love. It seems the more I learn the less I know…it’s a frustration that brings me to my knees. But I guess that’s a good thing, it’s where I need to be.

    ♥ ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

