God is My Decorator?!

Standard

I love to decorate.  It’s a bit of a hobby for me.  To walk into a room in anyone’s home is a walk into dreamland.  If it’s beautifully decorated or in need of much help, either way, I’m happy.  I can look for new ideas or imagine what I would do if given the chance.  I love to decorate. 

Our first home was owned by a bachelor with hideous taste and no desire for maintenance.  By the time we moved in, the grass (weeds, actually) in the backyard had grown about two feet, the carpet was full of fleas and the refrigerator was in need of sandblasting.  But we were young and excited about having our first home.  The day the contract was to be signed, but before the keys were handed over, I was at the house washing the windows.  It was all I could do without keys, but at least it was something.  I was so anxious to begin the work of complete restoration.

God loves to decorate.  God has to decorate.  Let Him live long enough in a heart, and that heart will begin to change.  Portraits of hurt will be replaced by landscapes of grace.  Walls of anger will be demolished and shaky foundations restored.  God can no more leave a life unchanged than a mother can leave a child’s tear untouched. . . . 

This might explain some of the discomfort in your life.  Remodeling of the heart is not always pleasant.  We don’t object when the Carpenter adds a few shelves, but He’s known to gut the entire west wing.  He has such high aspirations for you.  God envisions a complete restoration.  He won’t stop until He’s finished. . . . He wants you to be just like Jesus.  ~Max Lucado, Just Like Jesus

I understand God’s love of decorating.  But I’ve found I sometimes get very nervous in the midst of a project.  You know the state, when everything is in disarray and the mess is more than you feel you can take…yeah, that state of demolition. 

I think I’m learning to not focus on the mess.  When I do, I get my eyes off the final goal and wonder if it will ever be the beautiful vision I had at the beginning. 

I’m so thankful God has the long view in mind.  The vision is set.  He knows exactly what He’s doing.

Praise Him!

And I am sure that God, who began the good work within you, will continue His work until it is finally finished on that day when Christ Jesus comes back again.  ~Philippians 1:6

And God, who searches the heart, knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.  We know that all things work together for good for those who love God, who are called according to His purpose.  For those whom He foreknew He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, in order that He might be the firstborn within a large family.  ~Romans 8:27-29

9 responses »

  1. Never looked at it like this… so when my life is in a constant state of disrepair, He’s just still in the demolishing phase 🙂

  2. That’s the way I see it, Gitz! When I read the excerpt in my trusty Lucado devotional, I could relate. I understand the stages of restoration. Sometimes I take it very slow, one room at a time, with much precision and clean-up as I go. Other times, I just get in there and start whacking away, not worrying about the mess I make cause I know it’s a huge job — one that will get messier yet, before it’s all said and done. 😉

    Thanks for the link, Annie. I’ll check it out. Ultimate makeover is what I want! To be conformed to His image…YES!

  3. We don’t object when the Carpenter adds a few shelves, but He’s known to gut the entire west wing.

    Hahahaha! 🙂

    We could actually help Him re-model rather than keep on putting up our ‘original plan’ – by ‘humbling ourselves’ and ripping down a few of the walls we built as the house ‘grew’.

    But as Ric has just indicated at his blog – we do tend to insist upon keeping ‘the boiler room’ or similar safe place at the very centre of our mansion that ‘stokes up’ all the trouble, a lot of the time.

    A make-over is just window dressing – sometimes the entire damned foundations need ripping up and replacing or we just end up ‘looking’ good instead of being good.

    Extreme make-over shows on TV really fail to impress me – i believe the money spent would have been so much better invested in time with a good psychologist than a plastic surgeon or orthodontist!

    but that could just be ‘me’ 😉

    i don’t think God cares much about the remodeling of our ‘selves’ as we know them – as you said earlier, they will very quickly return to being ‘Dust’, but that ‘intangible’ ‘thing’ that is who we truly all are at our ‘core’ is what He cares for and is doing all the remodeling for – so that it will become Worthy of a new name and a white robe and a place at His Right Hand with the rest of the sheep.

    i agree He does know what He is doing and we usually get only the merest ‘glimpse’ – and He definitely goes for the long term, as well as the shorter term view

    <B

  4. He is creating a beautiful work!:) It may not always be neatly and in order, but the completed work will take you breath away:) A room with a view, so to speak:)

  5. “i don’t think God cares much about the remodeling of our ’selves’ as we know them – as you said earlier, they will very quickly return to being ‘Dust’, but that ‘intangible’ ‘thing’ that is who we truly all are at our ‘core’ is what He cares for and is doing all the remodeling for – so that it will become Worthy of a new name and a white robe and a place at His Right Hand with the rest of the sheep.”

    AMEN, Love!!! The new name and a white robe! Sounds absolutely heavenly. 😉 🙂

    “A room with a view, so to speak”

    Now that will be worth it all, Rain. (Without knowing it, you hit upon one of my favorite movies ever!!)

    I’m so thankful He’s not one of those contractors who builds with faulty materials or creates more of a hindrance than a help! We can count on Him to do it beautifully. In all things He’s working for our good and His glory. What an awesome God we serve!

  6. I love this analogy Michelle, and I really related to the point you made about being mid-way through the renovation – the part where everything’s in “disarray” and you’re looking around thinking, “is this right? Is it really going to work out?”
    But what confidence we have knowing that God is the architect, that it’s His work, and He has everything under control 🙂 That it’s Him who began the good work, and it’s Him who will bring to completion as Phil 1:6 says here :).
    Thanks so much for the encouragement xo

  7. “But what confidence we have knowing that God is the architect, that it’s His work, and He has everything under control.”

    He will finish the work. I’m standing on that promise today, Birg. I’m glad this was encouraging to you. You encourage me. Love you! 😉

Leave a Reply

