Dust in the Wind

Standard

I had a birthday this past week.  Yep.  I did.

It’s not really something I was anticipating.  I mean, come on!  In three short years I’ll be FIFTY!!!

These birthdays are coming around faster and faster.  And the year (’09) will be halfway over next month!  How does this happen?!?!?!

Time passing by.

And the plans? The dreams? The hopes?

Will they ever come to fruition?

Maybe…maybe not. I’ve learned that much in my 47 years. Some plans come about, others do not. So, what’s the answer?

Do we waste time making plans?

You do not know about tomorrow. What is your life like? For you are a puff of smoke that appears for a short time and then vanishes. ~James 4:14

Staying in the moment seems to be the answer to most of my questions these days.

Does it mean we don’t make plans?

No. The wise and prudent thing to do is consider:

For which of you, wanting to build a tower, doesn’t sit down first and compute the cost to see if he has enough money to complete it? ~Luke 14:28

But…to make plans without acknowledging God’s will is an evil in His sight:

And now I have a word for you who brashly announce, “Today–at the latest, tomorrow–we’re off to such and such a city for the year. We’re going to start a business and make a lot of money.” You don’t know the first thing about tomorrow. You’re nothing but a wisp of fog, catching a brief bit of sun before disappearing. Instead, make it a habit to say, “If the Master wills it and we’re still alive, we’ll do this or that.” As it is, you are full of your grandiose selves. All such vaunting self-importance is evil. In fact, if you know the right thing to do and don’t do it, that, for you, [is] evil. ~James 4:13-17

So then, what is the wise and prudent thing to do, without crossing the line to arrogance and outright evil?

Make plans; but understand, the will of God is supreme.

Follow His ways and your path will be straight.

Live the day He has given you to live, for His glory.

Remember, all you have is this moment in time.

“…Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will…”
~Richard Niebuhr

So then, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Today has enough trouble of its own. ~Matthew 6:34

Trust in the LORD with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him
And He will make your paths straight.

~Proverbs 3:5-6

19 responses »

  1. What an appropriate post for this season in my life.

    I swear it seems like yesterday that I got an email saying “Pregnancy-Week 10” and today I got one saying “Pregnancy-Week 11!!!!” Where did the week go?! I am almost 3 months and have no idea where the time went (well apart from a whole lot of nausea and sickness ugh).

    I agree that God’s ways/plan is supreme. We don’t always follow it unfortunately but He has a way of turning those times around tin our good as well praise be unto Him.

    Love you Sis!

  2. WOW You’re well preserved!!! LOL I love the proverbs verse, especially with my own limited understanding of pretty much everything…

    Just a gentle reminder that in spite of what your plans are, you touch many many lives with just being you….your unconditional love astounds me, it is a rare gem indeed.

    Did I mention how much I love having an older sister???? heh heh…you better smile…

    Love you!

  3. Oh, to be that young again! I hear what you’re saying about God’s plans. The problem many of us have is thinking we know more about what we need than the Lord does. I’m raising my hand now making full confession to that one.

    May the Lord grant many more birthdays.

  4. “I agree that God’s ways/plan is supreme. We don’t always follow it unfortunately but He has a way of turning those times around…”

    I’m so thankful for this characteristic of our God. He loves redeeming, restoring, and renewing a right spirit within us. Thanks for the reminder, Gch.

    Well preserved!?!?! I think that’s a compliment…so I’ll say thanks, Debs! I’m so happy to be your older sister. I count it a privilege!

    Amen, Preacher! We certainly do believe we know better. Kind of arrogant, don’tcha think? At least, that’s the message I got from the scriptures. Oh, to be humble and submissive…

  5. In three short years I’ll be FIFTY!!!

    You say that like its a bad thing!!! haha. I’ll be there before years end!

    Happy (belated) Birthday youngster!

  6. I find such relief in knowing that ultimately God prepares my path. Even when I mess up badly, somehow He fixes the road.

  7. I love how your posts are always full of Scripture. Have I ever mentioned that? Love your thoughts, and conclusions. And you know … the grand story is His to tell. And He’s the one that gets to write the ending.

    I’m thinking a nanny-nanny-boo-boo dance is in order on that one.

  8. I love Debs comment, “You’re well preserved!”

    And you are 🙂

    Really good post… trusting His plans more than mine… took time, but trust is a really peaceful thing.

  9. Thanks ALL Y’ALL!!

    Youngster? I like that, Ric!

    Please forgive my negligence, Gch. Sometimes 3-D life gets in the way…I’m sure you understand. Love you.

    I’m counting on His fixing the road, Rain. I know He will, cause He promised.

    And as far as writing the ending, Sparkle, I’m so thankful He writes better than me. I mean, His book is an all-time best-seller, you know?

    Trusting His plans, Gitz, is the only way I can keep my head above the waves of uncertainty. He is trustworthy…me…not so much. I’m counting on Him.

  10. Sorry i’ve been absent lately (YOUNGER) Sis ;-), been fighting off a touch of the (normal!) flu.

    It can be a very hard lesson to accept most times – that we trult are nothing but Dust in the Wind – without Him In ‘us’…

    Don’t know if you remember it?? but this makes me feel a little more like accepting it:

    i love the song

    love you! ♥

    love the Scripture quotes – makes the idea easy to ‘get’ huh? 🙂

    <B

  11. I was thinking of the song when I wrote the title, Love. It’s one of my favorites. Thankfully, God redeems the dust and gives us purpose. Love you, too! 😉

  12. I don’t know… I”m starting to read a little bit again, but I don’t know yet about writing…

  13. I understand, Heidi. I’m not writing much these days. The effort can be monumental. Love you. Glad to see those bright blue eyes! 😉

Leave a Reply

