Some Thoughts on Good Friday

Standard

by Max Lucado:

It wasn’t right that spikes pierced the hands that formed the earth.  And it wasn’t right that the Son of God was forced to hear the silence of God.

It wasn’t right, but it happened.

For while Jesus was on the cross, God sat on His hands.  He turned His back.  He ignored the screams of the innocent.

He sat in silence while the sins of the world were placed upon His Son.  And He did nothing while a cry a million times bloodier than John’s  echoed in the black sky:  “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?”

Was it right?  No.

Was it fair?  No.

Was it love?  Yes.

Christ’s love is greater than anyone can ever know, but I pray that you will be able to know that love.  ~Ephesians 3:19

********************

I can’t understand it.  I honestly cannot.  Why did Jesus die on the cross?  Oh, I know, I know.  I have heard the official answers.  “To gratify the old law.”  “To fulfill prophecy.”  And these answers are right.  They are.  But there is something more here.  Something very compassionate.  Something yearning.  Something personal.

What is it?

Could it be that His heart was broken for all the people who cast despairing eyes toward the dark heavens and cry the same “Why?”  Could it be that His heart was broken for the hurting? . . .

I imagine Him, bending close to those who hurt.  I imagine Him listening.  I picture His eyes misting and a pierced hand brushing away a tear. . . .

He who also was once alone, understands.

When He saw the crowds, He felt sorry for them because they were hurting and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.  ~Matthew 9:36

All of us like sheep have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; But the LORD has caused the iniquity of us all to fall on Him.  ~Isaiah 53:6

*******************************

He looked across the hill and foresaw a scene.  Three figures hung on three crosses.  Arms spread.  Heads fallen forward.  They moaned with the wind.

Men clad in soldier’s garb sat on the ground near the trio. . . .

Women clad in sorrow huddlled at the foot of the hill. . . . faces tear-streaked.

All heaven stood to fight.  All nature rose to rescue.  All eternity poised to protect.  But the Creator gave no command.

“It must be done . . . ”  He said, and withdrew.

The angel spoke again.  “It would be less painful . . .”

The Creator interrupted softly.  “But it wouldn’t be love.”

God loved the world so much that He gave His one and only Son so that whoever believes in Him may not be lost, but have eternal life.  ~John 3:16

*********************************

“It is finished.”

Stop and listen a moment.  Let the words wind through your heart.  Imagine the cry from the cross.  The sky is dark.  The other two victims are moaning.  Jeering mouths of the crowd are silent.  Perhaps there is thunder.  Perhaps there is weeping.  Perhaps there is silence.  Then Jesus draws in a deep breath, pushes His feet down on that Roman nail, and cries, “It is finished!”

What was finished?

The history-long plan of redeeming man was finished.  The message of God to man was finished.  The works done by Jesus as a man on earth were finished. . . .

The sting of death had been removed.

It was over.

When Jesus tasted the vinegar, He said, “It is finished.”  Then He bowed His head and died.  ~John 19:30

I’ve posted this song before, but I felt it might be a good way to remember on this day.  If you would like the lyrics, you can go here.

Have a wonderful Easter weekend!!!

7 responses »

  1. Every year on Good Friday, I take a deep breath.

    And I don’t exhale until Easter Sunrise.

    “There must be something better than misery…”

  2. Someone wise once wrote, “I realize that the brutal impression of Christ on The Cross is actually an artistic metaphor for the brutal state of the souls of humanity. And when He rose from the dead, His new spiritual body was a perfect work of art. The way God had created humanity.”

    We do need to recognize “the brutal state of the souls of humanity” so when we get to the Easter Sunrise, we can gloriously appreciate all He has done for us.

    The “something better than misery” . . . the assurance we have that the work is finished and the hope in nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.

    Jesus has paid it all
    All to Him I owe
    Sin had left a crimson stain
    He washed it white as snow.

    We are clean because He was willing to be marred. By His stripes we are healed.

  3. Hey, who the heck wrote that? That quote there? I mean, geez! I wish I could write like that. I haven’t written anything in so long I think I’m forgetting the alphabet…

  4. Maybe you should pick up a pen and start! You might just be surprised at what you’re able to write. You’ve continually amazed me with your words. Why do you think I call you Professor?

    For all those wondering…Nor wrote the quote a LONG time ago on Annie’s blog. It meant so much to me, I copied it to be able to remember.

    “By His stripes we are healed” Each stripe, each stroke of the whip when He was flogged, was a stroke from us (the world). It’s easy to say it was the cruelty of the Romans, but He died for our sins. The brutality of the crucifixion is difficult to understand until we see it as a picture of what sin does, how much it hurts God.

    See, Nor, I can try to say it, but you said it SO much better:

    Christ on The Cross is actually an artistic metaphor for the brutal state of the souls of humanity.

    And that resurrection picture? I’m with you…can’t wait for that Easter Sunrise!

  5. Now that I think about it…I’m sure people copy my writing a lot…And I’m sure some people actually try to steal it.

    I think I better get that pen…

  6. SIn, sin, sin, sin and sin…my sin….it nailed Him to that cross….it truly is finished, and I’m so thankful He sees us as finished products….Have a wonderful Easter morning….♥ u! 😉

    “He sat in silence while the sins of the world were placed upon His Son. And He did nothing while a cry a million times bloodier than John’s echoed in the black sky: “My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?”

    If people could only catch a glimpse…

Leave a Reply

