Celebrate Recovery

Standard

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;

Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.

–Reinhold Niebuhr

“…accepting hardships as a pathway to peace…”

It truly does work that way. In time, through the struggles, we begin to see our fears and anxieties won’t help matters. Then we can choose the way He’s ordained…prayer which leads to peace that passes understanding.

Hmmm…so we can do something about the fear.

We can “cast all our cares on Him” and let His perfect Loveย combat ourย fears.

Accepting hardship…not rising up against it, but realizing the struggles are what bring us to our knees.

Reminds me ofย  another U2 song:

Unos dos tres catorce!

Lights go down, it’s dark
The jungle is your head
Can’t rule your heart
A feeling is so much stronger than
A thought
Your eyes are wide
And though your soul
It can’t be bought
Your mind can wander

Hello hello
I’m at a place called Vertigo
It’s everything I wish I didn’t know
Except You give me something I can feel, feel

The night is full of holes
As bullets rip the sky
Of ink with gold
They twinkle as the
Boys play rock and roll
They know they can’t dance
At least they know.

I can’t stand the beats
I’m asking for the cheque
The girl with crimson nails
Has Jesus round her neck
Swinging to the music
Swinging to the music
Oh oh oh oh

Hello hello
I’m at a place called Vertigo
It’s everything I wish I didn’t know
But You give me something I can feel, feel

Check mated
Oh yeah
Hours of fun

All of this, all of this can be yours
All of this, all of this can be yours
All of this, all of this can be yours
Just give me what I want and no-one gets hurt.

Hello hello
We’re at a place called Vertigo
Lights go down and all I know
Is that You give me something

I can feel Your Love teaching me how
Your Love is teaching me how, how to kneel, kneel

Yeah yeah yeah yeah

15 responses »

  1. “Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace”

    There seems to be a pattern on your blog lately.

    Difficult days make the oak mighty – also as the Gardener prunes the oak its limbs reach up to heaven stronger and stronger.

    James says it best:
    Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. (2:2-4)

    We do not grow if we do not fail because then we do not rely on God for our strength, but in ourselves. And that is soooo hard! Especailly for me, but I don’t want to be a self-made man, because I would just stay a mess!

    I want to be a God -made man!

    Oh yeah, it also says joy not happiness. Someone once told me (it was you) that God cares more about our character than our comfort. Man is that ever true.

    Love You! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Thanks, Phat. Yeah, the theme of reaching beyond self. I’m learning it comes in cycles. We keep being asked to give up more and more of self. I suppose if we had completely died in Christ at salvation, it wouldn’t be such a struggle. He did say:

    โ€œIf anyone wants to become My follower, he must deny himself, take up his cross daily, and follow Me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will save it.”

    Daily death to self…it’s a tough lesson for me.

    Love you, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Living one day at a time;
    Enjoying one moment at a time;

    This always seems to be the key for me… staying in this moment.

  4. It’s the hardest thing for me, Gitz. I think God is putting some of us through a crash course…sheesh! ๐Ÿ™„

    Learning to trust…

    I’m praying for you, friend.

    Love you! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. ‘Just give me what I want and no-one gets hurt’.

    That’s such a long way from Truth! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    i suspect it is in many people’s hearts – or minds – many times though.

    Still a good song! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Those who get to Heaven from the place where we are now have the choice of doing it the long way – or the hard way.

    many who take the longer seemingly ‘eaiser’ (not as painful all at once) route may find He comes before we are quite ‘ready’ – and that would be a tragedy greater than any we face down here Sis ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your path may be hard – but your reward will be great when you ‘get there’ ๐Ÿ™‚ I trust that is true.

    <B

  6. Yes, it is, Nor. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    โ€˜Just give me what I want and no-one gets hurtโ€™.

    Thatโ€™s such a long way from Truth! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    It sure is, Love. In my mind, that’s the enemy whispering in his ear. I see this song as spiritual warfare. That’s what it says to me — the war between your heart and mind. But God is teaching him how to kneel.

    Might not be at all what Bono meant. But it’s art, so I can claim that understanding for myself, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Thanks, Angie! That is a very good article. One I’ve been trying to write myself, just haven’t known how to get it said. Maybe I’m not far enough along in my “recovery.”

    (I’ve only heard a couple of songs from U2’s latest album. I need to listen to it all.)

  8. You are right Sis! ๐Ÿ™‚ Art is open to interpretation as the soul sees fit (or the mind for those so inclined)

    That’s definitely the Enemy whispering as i see it too ๐Ÿ™‚
    Full of lies and deceit.- a mind seeking it all for itself.

    The mind ‘feels’ Vertigo at the sheer enormity of ALL there is to ‘know’ in ‘front’ of it. it can all be ‘yours’ (if you listen to me over God)

    Love is the Teacher… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have you ever noticed the button below the comment box is labelled: ‘SUBMIT’?

    i just did ๐Ÿ™‚

    <B

  9. Just what I’ve been trying to ignore from Him the last week or two.

    Thanks for this Michelle.

  10. Nice song, I think the enemy whispering in our ears is a nice reminder.

    Angie thanks for the article, It is good to hear we need to be in the world but not of the world — dancing our dance to the music above, showing love and caring as Jesus did when He was in the world.

  11. You know, I haven’t thought about the button, but now that you mention it…hmmm. It’s always the point. Thanks, Love.

    You’re welcome, Brian. It never works to ignore Him…He’s relentless.

    Hey, Phat! To continue to remember the enemy whispers is a nice reminder? Is that what you’re saying? I do think we need to understand how he continues to work on pulling us away…the battle will be constant until we are complete in Him. I love you, Phat! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

