Springtime

Standard

The beauty of the Word being planted in our hearts and the need for preparing the soil always gets me. My grandpa was a gardener and a preacher. He spoke often of the parallels and caused a desire for planting in me.

I LOVE gardening. Actually, I was able to do a bit today. If I’m “with it” enough tomorrow, I might take some pics to post.

What does my heart look like right now? Hmmm…it has a few rocks that need to be excavated. I had no idea they were so large and deeply grounded. It might take some hefty digging to free them. A few things are growing in soft, moist, well-fertilized soil. But…

those rocks…?

They’re beginning to get in the way of future growth.

Repentance may be the shovel I need.

~Comment made from Annie’s post: Growth

Parable of the Seed, the Sower and the Soil taken from Luke 8:

While a large crowd was gathering and people were coming to Jesus from one town after another, He spoke to them in a parable: “A sower went out to sow his seed. And as he sowed, some fell along the path and was trampled on, and the wild birds devoured it. Other seed fell on rock, and when it came up, it withered because it had no moisture. Other seed fell among the thorns, and they grew up with it and choked it. But other seed fell on good soil and grew, and it produced a hundred times as much grain.” As He said this, He called out, “The one who has ears to hear had better listen!”

Then His disciples asked Him what this parable meant. He said, “You have been given the opportunity to know the secrets of the kingdom of God, but for others they are in parables, so that although they see they may not see, and although they hear they may not understand.

“Now the parable means this: The seed is the word of God.

Those along the path are the ones who have heard; then the devil comes and takes away the word from their hearts, so that they may not believe and be saved.

Those on the rock are the ones who receive the word with joy when they hear it, but they have no root. They believe for a while, but in a time of testing fall away.

As for the seed that fell among thorns, these are the ones who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by the worries and riches and pleasures of life, and their fruit does not mature.

But as for the seed that landed on good soil, these are the ones who, after hearing the word, cling to it with an honest and good heart, and bear fruit with steadfast endurance.”

I desire to bear fruit with steadfast endurance.
In this time of testing, I do not want to fall away.
It’s time to do some excavating.

16 responses »

  1. I hate the purging, Heidi, but I do love the freedom on the other side. 😉

    Thank you, Love! It’s just the beginning. The Summer blooms are breathtaking, if I do say so myself. 😉

  2. 😀 I made it into your post!!! Thanks for the pictures!!!! 😀 Yeah – my garden needs a lot of work. Easier to weed when the weeds are small, than when they take over the garden – but whether now or later – weeding still has to happen. ouch. I think weeding hurts.

  3. PS: your garden is BEAUTIFUL!!!! Oh my goodness! That last one of you and Sammy – is it a painting? So beautiful! 😀 Definitely wanting to visit … 🙂

  4. Yes, you did, Sparkle! Your insights get me thinking…LOTS. I do have a tendency to let weeds stay too long and the root systems begin to grow deep. As you say, plucking them out when they’re young is a much easier process.

    The picture of me and Sammie is a painting, but not one of mine. I can’t remember the artist or where I found it. But I did think it was a good depiction. The real title is “Boss Lady.” Hmmm. 🙄

    Hey, Sherma! Hope you’re well. I need to come check on your writing. How do you like working full-time these days? (If I understood a bit of what I read on your site.) Hugs to you from Texas! 😉

  5. Last summer mama planted what she thought were bell peppers in her garden – they turned out to be red hot peppers – mama was not happy with the fruits of her efforts! Preparing the soil, planting the seeds are important – but make sure you are planting the right seeds – you will have a crop, just make sure it is what God intended.

  6. I love your garden Michelle! I was going to say those grogeous hyacinths were my favourites (loved the close up pic) but then there were those stunning yellow gerberas. I LOVE those daisies, they’re so happy looking. Thanks for these Michelle, and lots of love 🙂

  7. You might not, Sparkle, if you had to live with me! 😆

    Wonderful lesson, Papa! I do want to plant His Word in my heart…no lies, only Truth. Thank you. 🙂

    Thanks, Rain! Loved your post on “Picking Ourselves Up.” 😉

    Hey, Birg! Thanks for coming to see the pics. Some day I hope to be as good a photographer as you. You inspire me. 😀

  8. Hey Sis – My hope is for your Faith to be stronger each day 🙂

    I’m wondering about your comment to Papa?

    ‘I do want to plant His Word in my heart…no lies, only Truth’

    We do know that our earthly body is ‘of coruption’ and will one day wither and die ( assuming He does not return before we do)

    That all sin comes forth from our flesh.

    Therefore if we put His Word in our fleshy heart what can it do but ‘corrupt it.? Leading us astry form the Truth of it?

    It is my understanding that as one IN Christ i am to put on the New man after casting off the old. I cannot do this (nor can God) if i ‘live’ in my old flesh body.

    I understand the only way we can keep the Truth of His Word incorruptible in our ‘heart’ is if we ‘grow’ the body of spirit that we also live ‘in’ through His Grace and Holy Spirit. and ‘move’ our consciousness into that ‘body’ so that we are no longer subject solely to our corruption.

    i believe that holding the Word of God in my heart can help make me better than if i don’t – but to truly gain the ‘full’ benefit’ i need to take, as much as is possible for me to do (with His assistance), my heart of flesh and the rest of my earthly body, out of the equation. I can only do that if i live in my (His) spirit which is incorruptible.

    Does that make any sense? That we could have ‘two’ ‘existences’? One of this world – one of His? (at the same time) That we could ‘move’ between them to overcome the errant way of the flesh?

    <B

  9. Hey, Love. I read your response last night but had to wait until today to think clearly. Although, I’m still not sure I’m all there. 😕

    When I say I want to plant His Word in my heart, I was referring to the parable of the seed being the Word of God and the soil being our hearts. It also brought to mind the verse: I will hide Your Word in my heart that I might not sin against You.

    I think we will continually struggle with this flesh until it is gone. But I do believe we can overcome our fleshly desires, some days, by living in the Spirit, or we would not be encouraged to do so.

    Am I only seen as spiritual and nothing I do with my body matters? I don’t think so. Or we would not be encouraged to live a “set apart” (sanctified) existence.

    I really don’t know if I’m on the same page with your comment, or not. Like I said, brain fog today… sorry! 🙄

    Oh, and thank you, Love, for your hope for my Faith. You’re wonderful to me!! 😉

  10. Annie’s post had be thinking a bunch too. This is a lovely response. The pictures are gorgeous! You have a beautiful garden.

Leave a Reply

