I Am a Beggar

Standard

We are sinners in need of grace, strugglers in need of strength.  Jesus teaches us to pray, “Forgive our debts . . . and lead us not into temptation.”

We’ve all made mistakes and we’ll all make some more.  The line that separates the best of us from the worst of us is a narrow one, hence we’d be wise to take seriously Paul’s admonition:  Why do you judge your brothers or sisters in Christ?  And why do you think you are better than they?  We will all stand before the Lord to be judged . . . (Rom. 14:10).

Your sister would like me to remind you that she needs grace.  Just like you need forgiveness, so does she.  There comes a time in every relationship when it’s damaging to seek justice, when settling the score only stirs the fire.  There comes a time when the best thing you can do is accept your brother and offer him the same grace you’ve been given.  ~Max Lucado, The Great House of God

Give us the food we need for each day.
Forgive us for our sins, just as we have forgiven those who sinned against us.

~Matthew 6:11-12

 

The food I need today?

Grace.

17 responses »

  1. It is amazing how Christians kick other Christians when they are down rather than lend a hand to help our brother or sister up.

    When I think of the “race” we are to run, as Paul puts it, I always envision gathering others up along the way. Do we really win if we come in first and leave so many behind?

    Phat

  2. I’m so glad He did His Father’s will. Now we can have grace abundant. Thanks, Bad.

    No, we don’t, Phat. That’s not winning at all. Love you. Nice to see you here.

  3. I have discovered the one I need grace from the most (besides Jesus) is me. I am my harshest judge. I have not yet discovered how to get through to me in this regard.

  4. Yeah, Ric. I’m finding I continually beat myself up over being human. I guess I need to realize perfection was never the point…not this side of heaven. And even then…I wonder…

  5. Sinners in need of grace … strugglers in need of strength … I can’t say how much these words describe me.

    I really love Him, and know full well there would be no hope for me without His grace.

  6. Offer others the same grace we’ve been given. Such a simple truth, and yet SO easy to forget, or ignore. This is a hard (but good) one to work on.

  7. It is, Annie, especially when we can hold grudges against others. I think that happens more than we realize. Grace…we ALL need it.

    Hey, Nor. “That stuff you eat.” Grace? The Word of God? Waffles, or my all-time favorite…eggs with lots of cheese, onions, bell peppers and salsa!!! 😉

  8. Eggs, eh? Well, tonight you see I had the distinct priviledge of enjoying Shepherd’s Pie. It was a most enjoyable culinary experience, as Shepherd’s Pie is a most delightful dish!

  9. Hi Michelle. 🙂 I know Someone that makes some pretty amazing grace. You can pass the dish when you are done. I need a huge helping myself.

  10. Got that, Nor! 🙂 Shepherd’s Pie. Whose recipe? I could use a good recipe. Now, I could get all spiritual on you and ask, do you mean as in the Good Shepherd? Or literally, that Old English dish? 😕

    Hey, Angie. I’ll pass it along. He’s got plenty!! 😉

  11. Grace is my surviving factor during this season. Oh how I love Jesus for that gift. I feel brotha Ric on his comment about being his harshest judge. I believe I am too. I am learning that-that is the enemy’s biggest way of keeping us back from furthering the Kingdom. I am trying to be more conscious of seeking forgiveness and moving on.

    I love you Sis. I miss you. Hopefully we can hook up on MSN one of these days XO

  12. I think the enemy has a vast arsenal, Gch, and condemnation is certainly one of his most effective weapons.

    There is, therefore, now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

    Love that verse. I need it emblazoned across my mind. Love you, Gch. I’ve been missing you, too. 😦

Leave a Reply

