I Am Second

Standard

My confident hope is that I will in no way be ashamed but that with complete boldness, even now as always, Christ will be exalted in my body, whether I live or die. For to me, living is Christ and dying is gain. Now if I am to go on living in the body, this will mean productive work for me, yet I don’t know which I prefer: I feel torn between the two, because I have a desire to depart and be with Christ, which is better by far, but it is more vital for your sake that I remain in the body. And since I am sure of this, I know that I will remain and continue with all of you for the sake of your progress and joy in the faith, so that what you can be proud of may increase because of me in Christ Jesus, when I come back to you.    ~Philippians 1:18-26

*****************************************************************************

I’ve felt these verses this week.  Once again, life isn’t making sense.  The only part of life I feel sure about is my faith in Christ.  I love Jesus and will follow Him no matter where the path leads. 

I was reading Blue Like Jazz again this morning.  I like the way Miller puts it:

I think the most important thing that happens within Christian spirituality is when a person falls in love with Jesus.

Sometimes when I go forward at church to take Communion, to take the bread and dip it in the wine, the thought of Jesus comes to me, the red of His blood or the smell of His humanity, and I eat the bread and I wonder at the mystery of what I am doing, that somehow I am one with Christ, that I get my very life from Him, my spiritual life comes from His working inside me, being inside me.

I know our culture will sometimes understand a love for Jesus as weakness.  There is this lie floating around that says I am supposed to be able to do life alone, without any help, without stopping to worship something bigger than myself.  But I actually believe there is something bigger than me, and I need for there to be something bigger than me.  I need someone to put awe inside me, I need to come second to someone who has everything figured out.  ~Donald Miller

I concur.  I am second.  I will follow wherever He leads.  To live is Christ…

www.iamsecond.com  (Check out my pastor’s testimony, Pete Briscoe)

Other Philippian posts can be found through Philter48.

5 responses »

  1. When a youth pastor – years ago – I wore a lapel button that said; ‘I’m Third”. Christ first, others second, I was third – regardless of the order, Christ must be first.

  2. My mother used to always tell me JOY is spelled J-esus O-thers Y-ou. I suppose it’s the same thought. But as you said, Papa, Christ must be first…in all things. Hope you’re well. You sure looked well in that photo on your post. Beautiful flowers, too. 😉

  3. Thanks for pointing me back Michelle. I had missed this post. 😦

    Anyway. He is Lord of all or he is not lord at all.

    I have watched the IAMSECOND videos. They are powerful. They showed Brian Welch’s in church. It was awesome.

    Peace and love sis

  4. Amen, Carl, He is Lord of ALL.

    Yeah, the Brian Welch one is good. I’m kind of partial to my pastor’s though. 😉

Leave a Reply

