God Make Us Right Again

Standard

We are thirsty.

Not thirsty for fame, possessions, passion, or romance.  We’ve drunk from those pools.  They are salt water in the desert.  They don’t quench — they kill.

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness. . . .”

Righteousness.  That’s it.  That’s what we are thirsty for.  We’re thirsty for a clean conscience.  We crave a clean slate.  We yearn for a fresh start.  We pray for a hand that will enter the dark carvern of our world and do for us the one thing we can’t do for ourselves — make us right again.

Create in me a pure heart, God, and make my spirit right again.
~Psalm 51:10

The Applause of Heaven, Max Lucado

16 responses »

  1. ..and God’s answer to that prayer is…done..now believe me, and brush off, and lets move on from this spot..

    love you Princess

  2. Wow. I don’t think you know how much I needed to hear this today, right in this moment.

    I spent the last 2 hours crying that same prayer.

    I love you. Thank you for being obedient to God’s calling concerning what you shared in this post. It definitely served as confirmation from the Lord for me.

    He is listening. He is responding. He is renewing. He is delivering.

    Praise God.

  3. praying for you…and looking for you online..you seem to have disappeared. *sigh* well I am persistent sooo I will keep trying.

  4. I linke the old Keith Green song based on this Psalm. But then I’m old so I would like that one… 😉

    Thanks for sharing this Michelle. Reminded me of the C.S. Lewis quote too… (I’m paraphrasing) – “If what I crave cannot be found in this world, I must logically conclude that I was not made for this world.”

  5. Funny thing about being thirsty that first you must be disconnected from the source. We must not get disconnected from the Holy Spirit. Jesus told the woman at the well that He had access to the well that never runs dry.
    Once we begun born-again the Dam of Sin is removed from heaven to us so the rivers can run free into our lives.
    We not start building that dam again and allowing ours to obstruct the flow.
    Don’t be thirsty, don’t stop drinking.

  6. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

    (Matthew 5:6, ESV)

    Thanks for sharing as this is a beautiful portion of scripture. I like the promise for those who actively pursue the things of God – they will be satisfied.

    We are studying the Beatitudes every Wednesday night during our Family Training Hour services; each week is a different one. Oh, that we could be what Jesus taught!

  7. Hey, Everyone!

    Thanks for being faithful to comment even while I’ve been away. I so appreciate this community — all the encouragement, the love and help y’all give through your words…

    I have read this post a few times since the day I put it up. You know, He doesn’t ever stop loving us. No matter what we do, no matter how we live, no matter what we say or think, His love is consistent. His patience is long in suffering with us. His mercies are new every morning.

    He paid the astronomical price for our righteousness. We can’t begin to repay Him. But we can love Him in return. Love is a choice. We can choose to live as He would have us live day by day…by day…by…day…

    by…

    day.

    Until the day He calls us home, when we will be, at long last, complete in Him.

    Hope to get a new post up soon. Lots to process. Thanks for your prayers. Y’all are great.

    Love you. 😉

Leave a Reply

