Skin and Bones

Standard

God does not leave us to struggle on our own.  He knows we are fallen man, “stranded in some skin and bones.” 

Some say we are never given more than we can bear.  It really isn’t true.  That’s not an accurate quote of the text. 

But it does say we will not be tempted beyond what we can bear.

If you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall!  No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.  ~1 Corinthians 10:12-13

Sometimes it doesn’t feel that is true either.  Sometimes it feels the temptation is too great;  it’s beyond our ability to choose otherwise.  But God says it’s not.  God says we can choose not to sin.  God says He will provide a way out.

But we protest, “You just don’t know what it was like for me.”  We make excuses for our lack of  self-control. 

When I was pregnant with my first baby I could not imagine the experience of childbirth.  I was scared to death, as most new mothers are, wondering how I would ever endure the pain of giving birth.  At some point it dawned on me that billions of women have gone through this and lived to tell about it.  I can endure what is common to wo-man.

In the same way, we are not tempted beyond what others have been able to overcome.  We choose to give in when we want what we want, more than we want God.  No temptation is new to mankind…that includes you and me.  We don’t want to hear that others have overcome.  But the scripture says they have…and we can too.

I like the way the Message says it:

No test or temptation that comes your way
is beyond the course of what others have had to face
.
All you need to remember is that God will never let you down;
He’ll never let you be pushed past your limit;
He’ll always be there to help you come through it.

No more excuses, Michelle! 

When we are weak, He is strong.

18 responses »

  1. Yes!! great thoughts here, Michelle.
    Notice that the way of escape is “standing up under it.”

    Whatever it is you are going through now, could you have endured it 5 years ago?
    The answer is usually NO.
    Then that will prove that it is never more than we can bear.
    You are right–it just seems that way.

    Besides, we’ve got the Body to help us bear our burdens (Gal. 5:2)

  2. A.M.E.N.

    I love learning where the source of that quote came from, because I’ve always hated it when people tell me that God won’t give me more than I can bear. It makes it sound like he’s toying with me or something. That I won’t be tempted beyond what I can bear makes so much more sense to me!

  3. I could not have endured my current storm five years ago, Dale. I am so thankful He gives us what He knows we can handle through Him. I do believe He gives us more than we can bear so we will lean upon Him, just not more than we are tempted to endure.

    I’m glad to provide the source, Gitz. It’s been so often misquoted people don’t seem to understand the truth of it anymore. I know, on my own, I could not have handled much of anything that has come into my life. I would have been insane, many times over, by now. But yes, He will give us a way of escape for the temptations which come. I don’t have to give in…

  4. I thinks its more like “GOD does not us more than HE can handle”, and HE can handle anything..all powerful….it always comes back to me that “Believe” is the issue in our storms. “In this world you will have trouble, but take heart, I have overcome the world” Amen? Amen!

  5. Thanks Michelle. I needed this today. The end of last week with my job was not good, and I good have responded very poorly. I was tempted to respond as the world would expect. Turning to my God I was able to respond with the same Grace he showed me from cross.

    Peace and love sis.

  6. michelle, thank you for clearing that up. brent and i were talking recently about how we christians have coined statements “similar” to scripture but way out of context and those “false statements” have become a sort of gospel. it can be very confusing and misleading. as well as discouraging.

  7. Yes indeed. He is faithful. And His strength … is so much greater than ours.

    In Hebrew class on Saturday we translate the passage of … Zachariah … which is commonly translated, “Not by power, not by might, but by my Spirit declares the Lord.” The Hebrew words are “not by chayil (which means … might, but more specifically valor, bravado, etc), not by coakh (which means manly vigor or strength) but (in, with, or through) my Spirit says the Lord of hosts.” I don’t know. Seeing the words, and reading them … chayil refers many times to the strength and valor of fighting men. coakh refers to sheer human ability. But the end tag got me too. “Says the Lord of hosts.” ‘Hosts’ is tsavayot which … is a military reference almost. It means ‘host or army.’ Interchangeably. So … the Master and Commander of all of the strength of the armies of heaven is saying … “I know what I’m talking about. It’s not you. It’s Me.” Anyway. Maybe that doesn’t hit you the same way as it did me. But it was neat to read. Love you!

  8. Hey, Carl. When we understand the grace we have received, we can give it in return. Stopping and turning to Him…that really is key in overcoming temptation, isn’t it? Sometimes easier said than done, but we do have a way of escape.

    You’re welcome, Alan. I’m so thankful you heard those words. 😉

    Hey, Tam! You’re so right about that. We do have a tendency to misquote. I think it’s more from biblical illiteracy than anything else. We don’t really know what the Word says, so we repeat what we hear and take it as gospel truth. “Study to show thyself approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed, handling accurately the Word of Truth.” (As I paraphrase…hope I did it accurately 😕 )

  9. If one ever thought about how weak I really am, one would probably realize just how strong God truly is.

    Or…pretty close, at least.

  10. It does hit me, Annie! I love that Jehovah Sabaoth (English transliteration, right?) is the One able to come to our aid. He is our way of escape. All the hosts of heaven are at His disposal to go and move and do as HE commands. All the hosts of heaven are standing at the ready to accomplish His will. It isn’t in our own strength, it certainly isn’t in our bravado…it’s IN HIM. I love it! Love you, too!

    ♥ ♥ ♥

  11. Hey, Nor! I didn’t see you there.

    I do understand what you mean. I think the same way. Some people don’t see me as weak (which is completely laughable, in my mind). I know myself too well to not understand Whose strength they are seeing.

  12. It is awesome to think about Him as commander of the armies of heaven, huh? I love that picture. (And yet, even so, His favorite picture is always us – wow.)

    Sabaoth is … not a completely accurate transliteration. Although … they’re all an approximation. The first letter is tsade which is pronounced as the ‘ts’ in nuts. It’s not a straight ‘s’ sound. the middle letter is a bet which, while it carries the sound in it’s name of the ‘B,’ it is only pronounced as a ‘b’ when it comes at the beginning of a word (usually – barring any prefixes). So in the middle of a word (such as tsavayot) it is pronounced as a ‘v.’ The end letter is a tav which is currently only pronounced as a ‘t’ (or in Sephardic Hebrew as an ‘s’ which is rather confusing). This is the letter that is frequently translated as a ‘th’ in the Bible (such as Bethlehem, Ruth, etc) when it comes at the end of a word. Currently it is not translated this way. However, I think either is plausible for when the Bible was written. So … tsava’ot (more correct than tsavayot – I just looked it up) or tsava’oth are probably the most accurate. But they are still just approximations. 🙂

    Hope that didn’t bore you! lol

  13. No, it doesn’t bore me, Sparkle. It’s food for me.

    I suppose (and it is a supposition) we, English-only speakers, write it as we do, not knowing all the ends and outs of the pronunciation. It’s the “easiest” spelling for our eyes to see and mouths to say. That’s an elaborate excuse for not “saying/spelling” it correctly. 😳

    Thanks for the lesson, Annie. 😉

  14. True enough! Although when you’re working with a completely different alphabet – it’s all an approximation! Love you!

Leave a Reply

