A Dry Spot

Standard

I lost my pond.  It’s gone.  Well, I didn’t actually lose it.   How does one lose a pond?  But it is gone.

I created it about eight years ago.  It was under the crepe myrtle in the corner of the yard.  It wasn’t very big, but deep enough to keep fish year around, since it rarely freezes over in Dallas.  One fish I’d had from the beginning. 

I was homeschooling my kids at the time and felt we needed to be able to study ponds up close and personal.  It was great fun for many years.  It had a filter system and pump in the center to resemble a bubbling spring.  I used blue Spanish river rock to simulate a flowing stream.  With flagstones and landscaping it was quite the lovely spot.

I spent many days over the years watching my fish, caring for the pond, enjoying the lively atmosphere it created in the back corner of my surburban dwelling.   One summer the conditions were just right for birthin’ babies (Yes, I know they come from eggs).  We had so many fish.  Goldfish aren’t born gold.  I didn’t know that.  They get their color as they mature.  They also must eat their young, for only five survived to adulthood. 

But, lately, it had become a chore.  It was always considered my pond, so no one felt the need to help out with the upkeep.  And eventually it became too much for me to keep up.  Lots of gunk and muck and overall grossness accumulates without constant care.  So now, my pond is gone.  It’s been filled in with dirt and a dormant tree. 

Can you see the lesson? 

As I was asking the Lord last night why I haven’t “heard” from Him in a while, the pond came to mind.  It was once bubbling, flourishing with life.  Many exciting activities along with calm, restful moments were spent beside the pond.  But neglect…life…sadness…other pursuits…and now it’s a dry spot in my yard.

I yearn for the bubbling.

Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
Proverbs 4:23

28 responses »

  1. What a great story. We forget that all relationships take constant “weeding and filtering” – especially our relationship with the Lord.

    thank you for the encouragement
    Terry
    teawithgod.wordpress.com

  2. If there is one lesson I have learned from the series on my blog, it would have to be that everyone can relate to a storm.

    A natural storm forces us to be much more cautious, less carefree. We must pay attention to prepare for them–blizzards, hurricanes, downpours, frost, freezing, droughts, losing electritcity…the list goes on. But the natural realm has taught us that just as the Earth must endure it’s “bleak winters and moments of drought”, so too do we endure such times in our spiritual lives. It reminds me of the passage where Paul writes: “All of creation is screaming…”

    We, too, are creation.

    And we certainly are screaming for Him.

    So whether it be a dry pond…your not “hearing from Him”…or a beautiful sunrise after a tornado devastates the land…learning a worthy lesson after we “pass through the fire”…

    …we know Whose Hand is behind the weather patterns of our lives.

    And besides, Michelle…I happen to know that you’ve got a little sun coming your way soon.

    ‘Cause, like, I checked the weather. 😉

  3. Welcome, Terry. Thank you for your kind words.

    “‘All of creation is screaming…’ We, too, are creation. And we certainly are screaming for Him.”

    Thank you, Nor. That’s exactly the perspective I needed.

    Oh…and…you made me smile. 😉

  4. Nor’s comment made me laugh, smile, and tear up all at once!

    Love you, my Michaela. I am very interested in your plowing, and … well, what it looks like, what happens, etc. I’d like to learn about the winter before I get there. 🙂 Keep me updated, K?

    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  5. Maybe you are just all bottled up. We could shake the bottle, and release the cork and woo hoo!

    Ok, that is what bubbling made me think of. 🙂

    Seriously though, this is a very dry time here also. I’ll pray for restoration! God is a really great weed puller and pond caretaker.

  6. Pingback: A Dry Spot | Homeschooling Information

  7. They have ponds in Texas? 🙂 Love the post. The minute I started reading it, I knew there would be a message in there. Good stuff.

  8. He has a way of doing that, doesn’t he, Annie? I will keep you in the loop once the plowing starts. I chose to take a LONG nap today. 😳

    I need the caretaking, Heidi, the shaking??? Not so much. 😉

    We do have ponds, Tim, if we build them ourselves. Our cement ponds are the best. 🙄 Glad you liked the post.

  9. Sis~What a good analogy. I have been working on trying to feed my Spirit with Him, His Word, His presence, praise and worship towards Him. I know that without that I am dry and hungry.

    And what do ya know, I came across that scripture twice today before I read it in your post. Is God speaking to me? I think so!

    I love you so much XO

  10. I love you too, Michelle! And since I am not there to tickle you, I’ll ask God to. (He is a much better tickler anyway).

  11. Hey, Gch! Coming across the same scripture three times in one day, not coincidence, I’m thinkin’. I need to plow through the Word in this winter season (that’s a reference to Annie’s post, in case you’re wondering.) I love you, Gch!!

    Heidi, God tickles…what an amazing thought! 😉

  12. Thanks, Gitz!

    A ton of work. Yes, Angie. Kinda kept me busy. But thankfully, not anymore. Homeschooling is the best!! Although I suppose I’m a bit partial, and I bet you are too. 😉

  13. Papa, you just brought tears to my eyes. Thank you so much. I really needed to hear that, just the way you said it. Thank you.
    ♥ ♥ ♥

  14. As I read, I felt the peace that visits to that pond brought. I caught your image immediately in relation to our visits to the ‘pond’ of our relationship with God. We need to care for it and those visits help us see what care is needed; cleaning?, new plantings? Thank you, love

  15. Welcome, Gracie! It’s good to see you here. As you said, “those visits help us see what care is needed.” Amen. The visits are essential for the peace that passes understanding to come.

    Well, Burt, not really sure what to say. Actually, I’m grateful I was able to pass it on to you and yours. Mine aren’t little anymore, but I’m sure your kids will enjoy the fascination it brings to the yard. If it had to go, I’m glad you got it. 😉

  16. Welcome, Danielle. Thank you for stopping by.

    Hey, Gch! I’m holding on tight, how about you? Finally got the post up, a little late, but it’s there. I love you too…more than you know! 😉

  17. I had a related thought just this morning. I have been spending progressively less time working, doing physical exercise and replacing them with more ‘brain’ work and periods of being a couch-potato.

    I am becoming aware of the – if you don’t use it you lose it paradigm as regards my physical fitness – but for a long time i was justifying that with’ well at least i’m keeping my brain active.

    Today though i remembered…

    We are spiritual beings in a physical body – but BOTH are deeply interconnected on many levels. The Ancient Romans got it perfectly right when they said a healthy Mind in a healthy body.

    One does not produce the other – but if your body is ‘sick’ so is your mind – if your mind is sick so is your body – they will match each other in ‘fitness’.

    If i keep letting my body go unused and wasted i cannot hold much hope for the ‘improvement’ of my mind, my heart, or my Spirit.

    Any more than i could keep a healthy body if any other of those was ‘neglected’ in terms of use and performance.

    There is such a powerful force linking what we think/feel with how healthy we are overall.

    If we fail to use and connect to that force and to adjust our circumstances that have led to what ails us being present in us our performance will decrease.

    So – i need to be kinder to (harder on) my body, get more in balance and tune with His Force.

    <B

Leave a Reply

