Bearing Burdens

Standard

I haven’t been to church in quite a few weeks.  I really hate that about my life.

The family goes, just not me.  Remember Norman Rockwell’s painting, “Sunday Morning,” with the family filing out while the father sits and  reads the paper?  Well, I don’t read the paper (the ink smell makes me sick) and I’m not the father, but I do stay home from church and watch the news.  *sigh*

Most Sundays I’ll listen to a television pastor or go worship at Darla’s blog.  (You are a blessing to me, Princess!!!)  But today I talked on the phone.

Yes, I did.  And I don’t even feel guilty about it.  I was in an emotional upheaval about changes in our life.  So I called a friend.  After an hour or so of conversation, I was much more relaxed.  I was reminded of His plans for us.  My friend let me know change is good.  It brings new perspective…new possibilities.

Really nothing new to that thinking.  I know this about life…I just needed to be reminded. 

Bearing one another’s burdens…carrying eachother through the rough  times…

Friendship is a really good thing.

16 responses »

  1. “A true friend is someone who thinks that you are a good egg even though he knows that you are slightly cracked.” — Bernard Meltzer.

    I think that defines my friend’s thinking, Annie. But that’s OK.

    I miss you, too. I believe it’s time you made a trip to Dallas. 😉

  2. Friendship is a good thing…ordained by God. and the sweetest part of the word friendship is…We are friends of GOD!! yay!!! love you and thanks for the link luv!

  3. Must be quite a friend you’ve got there. Nice to have someone there when you need someone to stand by you.

    I spent most of Sunday, after church, taking a nap because my pastor is coming over tomorrow for breakfast.

    Yes, I know. I’m weird. Breakfast tomorrow means a nap in the previous afternoon.

    (Don’t worry. We’re going out. I am NOT cooking!)

  4. Yes, TammyJo, very wise.

    “Nice to have someone there when you need someone to stand by you.”

    Amen. I am very blessed. So, Nor…how was breakfast? That must be some pastor if you need to rest up for a visit. 😕

  5. The Lord told my wife and I to leave church over 2 years ago, so that we would get to know him better. We have had an amazing 2 years and have learned far more of God than we ever did in church.

    We meet with a very small group of like minded ones who God also challenged to leave their churches, but our real walk is in the every day things.

    Over the years I have seen more evidence of the reality of God outside church and in my business than ever in church.

    If our faith and application of the word of God does not work, and bring visible results out there, it is not real. Staying in church was totally stifling our walk.

  6. Welcome, FDP! I do know lots of people who have chosen the same path and have been wonderfully blessed in a home-church environment.

    If my church wasn’t so awesome, I’d consider the same.

    Thanks for commenting. Come back anytime. 😉

  7. Red. I’d maintain that a phone convo can be even more “churchy” than online church… because that’s the Body of Christ gathering together, if even on the phone….
    That’s good stuff right there.

  8. Let me get this straight. You haven’t been to church in a loooong time, and you watch news on Sunday morning??? That’s exactly what I do. II hope my occasional comments here aren’t having an adverse effect on you! 🙂

    I wish you the best, as always.

  9. I think I agree, Mandy. When we’re bearing burdens and lifting one another up, how much better can it get? Well, I kinda like the face-to-face a bit better, but I’ll take what I can get.

    It’s all your fault, Tim!!! Yes, I blame you. 😉 Blessings to you, sir.

  10. Oh my, I would love to make a trip to Dallas!!!! Would that I had free flight anywhere in the world … my goodness, the people I’d visit!! You – I’d be there! You know it!

Leave a Reply

