National Prayer Service

Standard

Heavenly Father, thank You for establishing Your servant, Barak Obama, as our new president. We know he is Your servant for You have given him this place of authority for Your will to be done. Grant him grace and wisdom to lead as You desire. Surround him with Your presence, establish him in the way of righteousness for Your name’s sake. Protect him as he endeavors to protect us. Bless his family as they make this difficult, but honorable, transition. I pray Barak Obama would be a shining light in this world as Your servant. Please allow him to bring glory to Your name.

I ask all these things, knowing You are the One who ordains, You are the One who holds all things together. We are in Your hands, Lord. The whole world is in Your hands. I praise Your name and ask for Your blessings upon our nation and our new president.

Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every human institution, whether to a king as the one in authority, or to governors as sent by him for the punishment of evildoers and the praise of those who do right. ~1 Peter 2:13

Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except by God’s appointment, and the authorities that exist have been instituted by God. So the person who resists such authority resists the ordinance of God, and those who resist will incur judgment (for rulers cause no fear for good conduct but for bad). Do you desire not to fear authority? Do good and you will receive its commendation, for it is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be in fear, for it does not bear the sword in vain. It is God’s servant to administer retribution on the wrongdoer. Therefore it is necessary to be in subjection, not only because of the wrath of the authorities but also because of your conscience. For this reason you also pay taxes, for the authorities are God’s servants devoted to governing. Pay everyone what is owed: taxes to whom taxes are due, revenue to whom revenue is due, respect to whom respect is due, honor to whom honor is due. ~Romans 13:1-7

First of all, then, I urge that requests, prayers, intercessions, and thanks be offered on behalf of all people, even for kings and all who are in authority, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life in all godliness and dignity. Such prayer for all is good and welcomed before God our Savior, since He wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. ~1Timothy 2:1-3

For there is one God and one intermediary between God and humanity, Christ Jesus, Himself human, who gave Himself as a ransom for all, revealing God’s purpose at His appointed time. ~1Timothy 2:5-6

In Jesus’ name…Come, Lord Jesus, quickly come.

I thought I’d add my favorite part of yesterday’s inauguration:

9 responses »

  1. Amen. We must pray! Not from grudging hearts (Jonah comes to mind), or with words on our lips and hearts far from Him, but with hearts full of expectation and confidence about how the Lord will move – in and through this man – if we would just obey and PRAY.

    I sensed the Holy Spirit whispering to me on Election Day not to murmur against him, either in my actions or thoughts. As James 3:9 says, how can we praise our Lord and Father, and with it curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness? I want to spend a lot more time fervently praying rather than wringing my hands. I think this is a test for the church.

  2. Hey, Lisa. You know, it really doesn’t matter to me which side of the aisle we’re on at this point. I know strong Christians on both sides. But we all, every one of us, need to be praying.

    The time is frightening. I don’t covet Obama’s job. (Like I’d ever have it 🙄 ) He needs Supernatural help to get this job done.

  3. Amen sweet! and this clip is my favorite part too! thinking about you, praying for you, and hoping to hear something from you soon! email maybe..I will try to get on IM tomorrow..missing you!

  4. AMEN. Bless you for this. What a prayer. Our nation is too used to tearing down those who govern us. We as Christians have to change that tide. It will not come any other way. I love you!

  5. Amen. I hope I didn’t come across the wrong way. 😦 For example, when I said a “test,” I meant to be what we’re called to be as the church, and definitely part of that is praying for our leaders, as you said — sincerely, and with love as our motive. Because yes, you’re right, anyone in this position needs the Lord’s supernatural help.

  6. amen! yesterday i ranted a bit about the froo froo of it all. but i certainly am supporting our new president and his family. i trust in God first and foremost! but will pray for, support and respect our president. i am hopeful. i am excited for change.

    warren did a phenomenal job. i was struck by how you could’ve heard a pen drop. amazing!

  7. Hey, Darla! I hope to catch up soon. It’s been a tough week. Maybe I’ll have some thoughts to share one of these days. 🙄

    Good morning, Annie! It is hard for me not to speak against policies I believe are wrong, but I will continue to pray. We do know who is really in charge, right?

    Oh, Lisa, I didn’t mean to sound like I was getting on to you. I’m sorry. I hear what you’re saying and agree. I have chosen not to speak about politics because my views are so strong. I figure talking about one of the taboos (“Never talk about politics and religion”) is enough. We’re good. 😉

    Hey, Tam! I read your rant and could have said more! But I do see the significance of the celebration and understand the amazing hope so many have embraced. I pray for President Obama to be used of God for the good of our country and the world.

Leave a Reply

