Waves of Grief

Standard

Dealing with grief and mourning is hell on earth, I think. I am thankful it is the only hell we’ll ever have to experience; and while that is good to know, it doesn’t make it any easier to get through the day.

It comes in waves, doesn’t it?

At times it’s calm.

But then, a huge wave of grief sneaks up on you, pulling you under and out to sea. You had no idea the wave could be that strong. But it is. And you come up gasping for air, barely able to catch a breath before the next one plunges over…

But…sometimes…the wind stops its ferocious blowing and you can experience the gentle breezes.

Relax…breathe deep…enjoy the vast ocean…for a time.

The waves still lap at your feet, as a constant reminder…

 

For everything there is an appointed time,
and an appropriate time for every activity on earth:

A time to be born, and a time to die;
a time to plant, and a time to uproot what was planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal;
a time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh;
a time to mourn, and a time to dance.

A time to throw away stones, and a time to gather stones;
a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to search, and a time to give something up as lost;
a time to keep, and a time to throw away

A time to rip, and a time to sew;
a time to keep silent, and a time to speak.

A time to love, and a time to hate;
a time for war, and a time for peace.

~King Solomon’s poetry from Ecclesiastes 3

Today the waves are strong. 

It must be time to weep again…

…a time to mourn…

…a time to give up as lost.

16 responses »

  1. And when people told me that weeping only endures for a night, I did not want to believe it, but joy did come in the morning for me, even if it was many mornings later. I love you and am praying for you. Here for you in whatever way you need me to be. Cling to the Father. He loves you and wants to comfort you.

  2. “…a time to give up as lost.”

    I realize the context of this statement would probably explain it better from your perspective, but, as humans, can we ever really KNOW this (especially re: ‘spiritual lostness’)?

    I do agree it can definitely ‘feel’ that way sometimes though ={.

    Praying for you too (and your ‘loss’),
    D-

  3. “weeping only endures for a night”

    And even when that night seems so very, very long, the dawn will come. And the waves will die down again.

    Love you Michelle. Hang in there.

  4. I’m back again. Wondering how you are doing. You have been on my heart all day, and I’ve been praying. Love you!

  5. Ah, my friend. Thank you for writing through your tears. It is good to cry, to grieve. As my best friend reminded me when my Mom died, “You know, the Bible says we do not grieve as those who have no hope, but we still do grieve.” It was good to hear, and I have kept hearing her say it over the years. The grief is a part of the love. Sometimes love looks like tears. It’s a good thing. I love you, Michaela. :_)

  6. Seasons…Ground into the turning of the earth, the passage of time, the rotations of galaxies…

    …but when the wave hits, it’s like your pain is so great there is no universe.

    Only winter.

    Yes, I remember that time. All too well.

    BUT…the earth still turns.

    And seasons pass.

    This, too, shall pass.

  7. Thank you all for your prayers and words of encouragement. My grief is somewhat delayed. My cousin lost his fight with cancer last week. It’s been very hard to process…no funeral or memorial service.

    Loss seems to be the theme of my life these days. I’m hoping that will turn around soon.

    Y’all’s heartfelt words have been helpful today. Thank you. God is good to bring me such great friends through this blogging community.

    Blessings to you all. 😉

  8. Oh Michelle … I’m so sorry. This is the cousin that has been on your heart for a long time, right. Oh my. Wish I could hug you right now.

Leave a Reply

