Plant Goodness

Standard

The good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth what is good; and the evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth what is evil; for his mouth speaks from that which fills his heart.  ~Luke 6:45

But the things that proceed out of the mouth come from the heart, and those defile the man.  ~Matthew 15:18

The heart of the righteous ponders how to answer, But the mouth of the wicked pours out evil things.  ~Proverbs 15:28

With our tongues we bless God our Father; with the same tongues we curse the very men and women He made in His image.  Curses and blessings out of the same mouth! My friends, this can’t go on.  ~James 3:9-10

From my favorite devotional:

Want to see a miracle?  Plant a word of love heartdeep in a person’s life.  Nurture it with a smile and a prayer, and watch what happens.

An employee gets a compliment.  A wife receives a bouquet of flowers.  A cake is baked and carried next door.  A widow is hugged.  A gas-station attendant is honored.  A preacher is praised.

Sowing seeds of peace is like sowing beans.  You don’t know why it works; you just know it does.  Seeds are planted and topsoils of hurt are shoved away.

Don’t forget the principle.  Never underestimate the power of a seed.  
~Max Lucado, The Applause of Heaven

Plant goodness,
Harvest the fruit of loyalty,
Plow the new ground of knowledge.

Hosea 10:12

12 responses »

  1. God bless you!
    I have been visiting your blog since some time now. It is a real inspirational blog and I look forward to your future posts after having enjoyed your previous ones.

  2. We had a pastor friend awhile back who would look us in the eye, and tell us that he believed in us. It was amazing how that changed how we felt, acted and believed in what God could do in our lives based on that statement.

    I want to be that for other people.

  3. Welcome, Noblese! I’m so glad you decided to comment. Come back anytime…lurk…comment…hope you will continue to be inspired. Blessings!

    Hey, Heidi!!! It is amazing what those words can do for a person. Just the simple phrase, “You can do it!” directed to a kid can bring such a sense of confidence (if they haven’t already been beaten down, that is). I wonder what it is that causes so much bitterness to pour forth, instead of words of grace. Well, scratch that! I don’t wonder — the verses explain it. Whatever’s in the heart will come out of the mouth. Another reason to guard our hearts?

  4. out of one tongue we bless and we curse, and this should not be. AMEN

    planting a seed seems at times not very much, but eventually it becomes a stong tree, filled with fruit, and many many more seeds. We have to wait for heaven to see what exactly happened to the seeds that were planted…hopeful that some grew.

  5. Memory Verse for this weeks DC Class.

    Ephesians 4:29
    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

    Peace and love

    PS.. did you get my e-mail?

  6. Won’t that be amazing (or frightening), Darla, to see what we’ve plantedt? Some trees are called “trash tress” because their qualities aren’t so admirable. I pray the Lord will keep me from planting seeds that would grow trash. It’s just like Carl said, huh?

    Perfect verse, Carl. Thank you. (You’ve got mail.) 😉

  7. Your timing is, as always, amazing. This has reinforced some good advice a friend gave me yesterday – advice I desperately needed! You have a way of finding the verses I need!!

  8. This was so good, read it first thing when I woke up and it was wonderful devontional and a good way to start my day! Thanks 🙂

  9. I love your inspiration here to actively look for ways to bless others. I love your heart.

    I found the verses that you gave at the start really powerful, convicting and inspiring, lots to think on 🙂 I really like that about your posts.

  10. Wonderful verses as always, my friend. (gosh I’m getting tired I think … I don’t have anything to say. hmph) Love you!

Leave a Reply

