This is Life

Standard

Brokenness.  We’re all broken.  Everyone of us. 

Some of us see it more clearly than others.  Some choose not to look at it deeply.  Many have decided to gloss over their pain with platitudes instead of seeing what the source might be and asking the Lord for help to overcome.

It rains on the just and the unjust.

In this world you will have trouble.

These are words we do well to remember.  We Christians seem to think if we follow the rules, we’ll be fine — happiness will be ours. 

Let me tell you.  We (Phat and I) followed the rules.  Every one of them that we were told would bring lasting fulfillment to our lives…we followed them.  And yes.  We have been happy together.  But…

It hasn’t taken the pain away of living in this world. 

You see, the world is broken and until God chooses to fix it, it will stay broken.  And we’re broken.  We all have to deal with the soul  “stranded in some skin and bones.”  Even if you do it well, someone close to you may not, and it will affect you.  Even if you choose to follow all the rules, someone else may break them and you will suffer the consequences.

This is life. 

When we choose to believe the lie that happiness can be ours, we will be living a lie trying to find it.  We will be constantly wondering why we haven’t achieved the level of happiness we seem to see others enjoying.  But really…are they?

Look deep.  Life is hard.  That is the truth.  Now…what are you going to do with the pain?

Only Christ, only life in Jesus Christ can bring you any sense of fulfillment.  Look to Him for answers.

In this world you will have trouble. 

But do not be afraid,

I have overcome the world. 

~Jesus

13 responses »

  1. wow!
    Hi, I have been reading for awhile and am constantly humbled, reminded and encouraged by your words and His. Thank you for turning my eyes back again and again to the perfecter of my faith.
    love, N

  2. Welcome, Nicole. I’m encouraged that you have been strengthened by my jumbled thoughts. So glad you decided to comment. Make yourself at home and comment ANYTIME!!

  3. I actually remember the first time as a child I realized we lived in a broken world. It was during the Atlanta Child Murders in the ealry eighties. I was nine years old and I remember very clearly sitting up late one night looking out my window and asking God why someone who killed children was allowed to be in His world. It was then I realized, as far as I was able to understand at that age, that there was something broken about this world.

    That was my first step toward Jesus.

  4. Hey, Joe! I think the earlier we learn this lesson, the better off we are. Not to ruin a kid’s childhood…never that…but to fill a child’s mind with the philosophy of jumping through all the hoops to make it BIG in life is deceptive. I don’t mean to sound cynical. I just feel we’ve been told for so long if we say/do the right thing, all will be hunky-dory. And yet, we grow older and become disillusioned that we followed the rules, but it’s still so darn hard.

    I don’t see scripture telling me it’s about my happiness. Do you? I see that from the Fall of man UNTIL the Day of Christ’s coming, we will toil. But that I can have love, joy (distinctly different than happiness), and peace in Him.

  5. Being broken in the right places is not altogether a bad thing. Being broken is part of our spiritual journey; God wants to make us whole, but we need to be broken in order for Him to do His perfect work in us.

    Thanks for this post, as I will read the book entitled Broken in the Right Place again. It’s a book by Alan E. Nelson, and can be found here.

    Jeremiah 18:1-4 declares:

    1 The word which came to Jeremiah from the Lord, saying, 2 Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause thee to hear my words. 3 Then I went down to the potter’s house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the wheels. * 4 And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it.

  6. What?!!? You are saying, it isn’t all about me? My happiness? Huh. Who would’a thunk….

    Life is hard. We face lots of disappointments. I want to learn the secret of being content, like Paul. Honestly, I never want to go back to my younger years when every curve life took threw me off the tracks.

  7. Thanks for the scripture reference, Preacher. I don’t mind being broken in the Potter’s hand. I do understand at times it’s necessary for Him to break us. Three years ago He allowed us to be thrown violently against an impenetrable wall. We’re only now getting some of the pieces picked up. I don’t know what this vessel (our family) will look like once we’re put back together. It’s been a very painful process. Necessary, but painful.

    I’m sorry to break it to ‘ya, Heidi, but no, it’s not about you…or me. Gitzen Girl has a good post on this today. Have you ever checked out her blog? I think you’d really like what she has to say.

    He’s still working on teaching me how to be content, but at least I’m not living in disillusionment anymore. That’s progress. Love you, Heidi!!!

  8. “Even if you do it well, someone close to you may not, and it will affect you. Even if you choose to follow all the rules, someone else may break them and you will suffer the consequences.”
    This is such an important concept to grasp (as is the theme of your post). Its true we all walk with a limp. We all have the capacity enlarge others as well as to dissapoint them. It seems to me that we are sometimes enthralled by one another; at other times are appalled by one another.
    But even in our brokenness and pain God can use us as “wounded healer’s” (Nouwen). Thats what I want to be. Thanks for highlighting our need to accept life with all its pain and find comfort in the Person who will one day wipe away every tear.

  9. Yanno…if you don’t mind, I’d like to “steal” a sentence or two from this Essay.

    Can I…? 😀

  10. Good morning, Quondam Cleric. Welcome, and thank you for commenting.

    We do all walk with a limp, some just don’t want to admit it. I’ve never really understood denial. It only leads to more pain, but I suppose, it’s the “American” way. We must be tough like John Wayne, or Bruce Willis (???). But today I guess we’re all suppose to be superheroes. I’m not. It was never a question if I was, but in case anybody is wondering, I’m not. I know my weaknesses all too well to pretend to be something else.

    A “wounded healer”…hmmm…

    Hey, Mr. NorEaster!!! Of course you can steal from me. Anything for you! 😉

  11. I found this post encouraging, because in it, you point us to Jesus. That the things that cause us pain and struggle matter deeply to Him, that He puts our very tears in His bottle (Ps. 56:8). I am so thankful that in spite of what we face, He has promised He will never leave us (Heb. 13:5). Love you, Michelle, thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

