One Thing Led to Another

Standard

We left the doctor’s office wondering what would come from more referrals.  I’ve seen more doctors over the past 15 years than I can remember.  The questions have been asked and answered so many times, I wish I had a  “play” button so I wouldn’t have to think it all through again.

Driving home I noticed a billboard for our city advertising the many shops and historic square.  I told Phat I’d like to drive through to see what’s changed.  When I was young we were the furthest suburb north of Dallas, but today it feels the city is creeping further and further into our existence.  It’s possible to drive 50 miles north of downtown Dallas and rarely find open pastures anymore.  The city is building a train depot right into the heart of my town.  It will be a wonderful convenience for commuters, but it sure don’t look like home no more.

After observing all the changes, we pulled into a parking space hoping to check out the antique shop and the quilt store.  But I noticed Ed’s Clip Joint had a new name: The Silver Star.  Ed’s had been there for most of my life, but I’d heard he’d passed away a few years ago.  Being the closest and newest store, I told Phat I didn’t want to walk too much, let’s just check it out.

Lately I’ve been doodling a LOT on blank cards.  It keeps me busy and supplies cards to send out when I’ve completed a picture.  I sent some for Christmas this year and people seemed to like them.  So when I walked into The Silver Star and looked around at all the cute country decor and hodge-podge of merchandise, I asked the proprietor if she ever worked with people on consignment.  Well one thing led to another and she asked me to come to a private party of home-based businesses she will be hosting next week.  I could show my cards and then network with other ladies building their businesses at home.

Honestly, I hadn’t really thought of a “business,” just figured if I could make 50 cents off a card, it’s a whole lot more than I’m making now.  Well, in all my brain fog and wondering if this was a door being opened, I committed to being there next week.  Do you have any idea how many cards I need to doodle between now and then?

Me either.  All I do know is I’m gonna be busy.  It’s a good busy.  It’s a fun busy.  And who knows?  Maybe I’ll make some money. 

Talk about God’s mad networking skills.  You should have seen the lady’s face light up when I gave her my email address — it starts with the same name as my blog.  She started talking about God, I started talking about God…well, like I said, one thing led to another…

Pretty cool, huh?

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD.
“They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”
~Jeremiah 29:11

24 responses »

  1. 🙂 Yea, you! Maybe you could scan in a doodle and show us on the blog? Never know who might want to order some from you!

    Hugs to you today…

  2. Hey, Gitz! I’ve wondered about that. I’m really not sure how. I would love to make some buttons (is that what they’re called?)…guess I have a bit more to learn. Annie’s Art Blog gave me some ideas. Have you seen her work? In my blogroll “Calling to Deep.” She a portrait artist. Amazing work!

    Gentle hugs for you, my dear! ♥

  3. you know I am in! I am always in need for cards, especially ones that are blank on the inside..well I like to write personal notes.

    I really do think God is opening a door, and will pray for you to be able to keep up with your demand 😉 love ya!

  4. Well one thing has lead to another…and I happened upon this blog…(I’m not entirely sure how, since I’m brand new to wordpress) and….

    I wonder, have you ever considered opening a store on Etsy.com? It’s free to open a shop there (so it’s incredibly low-risk) and you can sell your cards (individually or in bundles)!

    I’d suggest poking around – artists of all kinds are on there and if you have questions about it, please feel free to ask this stranger! My friend and I opened our own etsy shop last summer and we’ve had incredible success (seriously – we never thought it’d be this successful – we’re even going to be featured in a fiber arts magazine in March!)

    Anyway, I know it’s a random comment….but…one thing lead to another!!

  5. Wow…this is great. I’m feeling pressure now. What if y’all hate my work??? Well then, I guess you won’t buy any…that’s easy enough.

    Thanks, Darla and Tracy! Your support of my efforts warms my heart. 😀

    I think I like this random comment, Growing in Prayer. I will check that site out. Very cool. Thank you, and I’ll check out your blog soon. I appreciate your commenting. Come back anytime! 😉

  6. Doodling, as in cartoons? Cute little bunny rabbits and stuff? Let’s see your handiwork, Michelle. Post one on here.

  7. Yanno…Maybe you could put a couple online and advertise that way. And if the artwork is all original, then people would seriously be getting something special!

    Of course, it would be special in any case ’cause, yanno, Michelle made it.

    Jus’ sayin’. 😉

  8. I’m really getting nervous that you guys are thinking it’s more than it is. I like low expectations, then everyone is pleasantly surprised.

    But I do thank y’all for the boost of confidence. 🙂

  9. Just dropped by and found this great conversation. Hallmark cards had to start somewhere, too. Go for it and see how the Lord will bless what you put your hands to.

  10. I would love to see some of the sketches. I am sure they are beautiful.

    What every you do, don’t stifle a God given talent…

    Peace and Love Sis.

  11. ive always wanted to be creative like that. you and gitz have mad skills! so…beings i dont, i’ll borrow yours! im in on supporting you in this! i’ll order some, for sure!!!

  12. I think I’ve got at least 5 past blogs from you! I just read through them quickly – don’t know if I’ll have time to comment on all of them. I’ve been writing for a new series of blogs coming up, which … I feel like I need to write in their entirety rather than one at a time. So it’s taking time. And I’ve got a lot of back blog posts to read (again). 🙂

    But naturally yours is one of the first (usually the first) I visit. This post is so encouraging! How wonderful! I don’t know if the week is up yet and when you go back, but … that’s wonderful! I’m so excited for you.

    And I’m sorry I never got back to A Theology of Success. Same reason as above. And … life got in the way. Ben and I are doing better. We had a good talk. I definitely think it’s not the end of this … but God will take us through.

    Love you!

  13. Oh, Annie, thank you for stopping by in the midst of your busy life to encourage me!! I know what it’s like to stick with a plan, a project, until it’s accomplished. I can become obssessive about some things and the world keeps turning while I have my head in a book, my hands in the dirt, or my pencils coloring furiously!

    I’m excited about this endeavor which is why I haven’t been around much either. I came up with a cool sketch yesterday for an Easter card. The “party” is this Friday…still much to do before then.

    It’s good to hear your life is smoothing out a bit. God will take you through…He is faithful. I believe the verse applies:

    He who began a good work in you (and your marriage, the Christian marriage founded upon His principles) will be faithful to complete it.

    Love you, Sparkle!!! 😉

  14. In recent years I have seen a resurgence of interest in snail mail. You are part of the movement! 🙂

    That is so great God put you in touch with these people and this opportunity.

    After seeing Annie’s work, my friend Becky’s work and some work that another friend named Carolina has done I was tossing around the idea to make some cards too. And now you come along with your card idea… hm… I wonder if this is another nudge…

    Blessings! 🙂

  15. You know, Angie, it’s kinda hard to think about sharing when people call it “art” because my work is quite childish, I think. It has a whimsical quality that’s fun for me. (Think Mary Englebreit) Not serious work, like Annie’s. I’m still contemplating being that vulverable: letting the “world” see what I do. Maybe if this “party” on Friday is successful, I’ll have more confidence. We’ll see.

    But for you…? YES!!! This is definitely a NUDGE!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

