At Home With God

Standard

Are you at home with God?  Do you feel most comfortable and safe in His presence?

If  people love me, they will obey my teaching.  My Father will love them, and We will come to them and make Our home with them.  ~John 14:23

The Great House of God:
God wants to be your dwelling place.  He has no interest in being a weekend getaway or a Sunday bungalow or a summer cottage.  Don’t consider using God as a vacation cabin or an eventual retirement home.  He wants you under His roof now and always.  He wants to be your mailing address, your point of reference; He wants to be your home….

For many this is a new thought.  We think of God as a deity to discuss, not a place to dwell.  We think of God as a mysterious miracle worker, not a house to live in.  We think of God as a creator to call on, not a home to reside in.  But our Father wants to be much more.  He wants to be the One in whom “we live and move and have our being” (Acts 17:28).  ~Max Lucado

I want Him to be my home.  It is not enough to say I follow Him; I am to abide in Him.  I am to move and breathe in Him.  He is to be my breath…all that sustains and gives life to me is Him.  Without Him I have no place to dwell that is safe, secure, comforting…where I know I will always have an accepting hug and a reassuring word of love…

…In Him, alone.

O Father, make me to always seek You first and You alone.  I can so easily look to other places for comfort.  In this dust it’s easy to choose dust.  Forgive me for desiring dirt when I could have Your heavenly home.  Bid me to come further and further into the safety of Your presence…to live in Your everlasting way.

13 responses »

  1. “He wants to be your home…”

    That got me. That says volumes to me. I too am a Quality Time person, and the thought of Him wanting to be the one I always come back to, spend time with, relax with, feel at peace with, rest with, let all pretenses down and just be myself with …… that is beautiful.

  2. Isn’t it amazing, Annie? I keep trying to find a place of comfort and yet HE is to be that place. With Him, and really only with Him, can I truly be myself. Kind of blows my mind.

  3. ‘In dust it’s so easy to choose dust…’
    Very true. May I look further than the dust and see Him and His open arms..

  4. I wonder if this is one of the things that legalism damages. We cannot be ourselves with a God we cannot please with anything less than perfection. If we can grasp the unconditional love part, we can come into that dwelling. After all, it wasn’t my own ‘goodness’ that saved me…

  5. Yes, Tim. What’s a week worth without at least one Lucado post? 😉

    Amen, Irene. He fills us. Nothing and nobody can do what He does.

    Exactly, Heidi. Legalism shames. And when we’ve grown up under shame, it’s very hard to get away from the feeling. Those thoughtless, hurtful, judgmental remarks were not from Him, but people trying to get us to perform perfectly. He isn’t about performance. He’s about love. I think I’m learning, I hope, to be respectful of people and NOT their accomplishments. Think about it, He said to the Jews that He did not desire sacrifice, but a broken heart, a contrite spirit…humility. Legalism is not humble, it produces arrogance.

    Sorry, Heidi. I think something you said hit a nerve. 😳

    😉

  6. I wouldn’t mind living all my days in bungalow; that sounds kinda nice. 🙂 Can I think of my home with God as a cozy bungalow? But one that is my permanent dwelling – of course. hee hee hee.

  7. “the one who loves me will keep my commands” I have been spiritually beaten with that scripture…its been a long time in healing..

    Home. even the word itself sounds good…only recently have I felt like i’m home. and yes, HE is home to me, and how homesick I get when I wander off.

    I do love HIM, and keeping HIS commands…I’m learning and growing..still not there yet..but hopeful! Love you Michelle!!!

  8. I understand how that verse can be used to spiritually beat one down, Darla. But whoever is doing such a thing, has not yet understood the blessing of the New Cov’t. I have to remember that He is able to write upon my heart. It is the promise of the New Covenant that we won’t need anyone to teach us, we’ll know what He’s called us to do. He will put His Spirit within:

    For if that first covenant had been faultless, there would have been no occasion sought for a second. “FOR THIS IS THE COVENANT THAT I WILL MAKE WITH THE HOUSE OF ISRAEL AFTER THOSE DAYS, SAYS THE LORD: I WILL PUT MY LAWS INTO THEIR MINDS, AND I WILL WRITE THEM ON THEIR HEARTS. AND I WILL BE THEIR GOD, AND THEY SHALL BE MY PEOPLE. AND THEY SHALL NOT TEACH EVERYONE HIS FELLOW CITIZEN, AND EVERYONE HIS BROTHER, SAYING, ‘KNOW THE LORD,’ FOR ALL WILL KNOW ME, FROM THE LEAST TO THE GREATEST OF THEM. FOR I WILL BE MERCIFUL TO THEIR INIQUITIES, AND I WILL REMEMBER THEIR SINS NO MORE.”* When He said, “A new covenant,” He has made the first obsolete. But whatever is becoming obsolete and growing old is ready to disappear. ~Hebrews 8:7-13

    *Jeremiah 31:31-34

    So, you know that remark we make to one another rather flippantly…”I’m not anyone’s Holy Spirit.” It’s truth!

    Work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure. ~Philippians 2:12-13

    It’s your salvation, Darla, and it’s between you and Him. He is able to bring you to Him, without spot or blemish, wholly sanctified.

    Stand firm in Him!! Love you, Princess. You are HIS Princess! 😉
    Love love love that avatar!!!

Leave a Reply

