Mary Did You Know?

Standard

Mary, did you know…
that your baby boy would one day walk on water?
Mary, did you know…
that your baby boy would save our sons and daughters?
Did you know…
that your baby boy has come to make you new?
This child that you delivered will soon deliver you.

Mary, did you know…
that your baby boy will give sight to a blind man?
Mary, did you know…
that your baby boy will calm the storm with His hand?
Did you know…
that your baby boy has walked where angels trod?
When you kiss your little baby, you kiss the face of God.
Oh, Mary, did you know?

The blind will see,
The deaf will hear,
The dead will live again.
The lame will leap,
The dumb will speak the praises of the Lamb.

Mary, did you know…
that your baby boy is Lord of all creation?
Mary, did you know…
that your baby boy will one day rule the nations?
Did you know…
that your baby boy is heaven’s perfect lamb?
This sleeping child you’re holding is the Great I Am.

Mark Lowery

12 responses »

  1. That is such an awesome song, and loaded with deep meaning. I’ve loved it since the first time I saw it on a Gaither video; Buddy Greene was playing guitar, too.

    Our youth group performed our Christmas play Sunday night, and it was absolutely fabulous. They wrote the whole thing by themselves, too. Just before the closing prayer, one of my young men sang that song. Wow!

    When it’s all said and done, I believe Mary knew something way down in her knower, but really didn’t know how life-changing her role would be in God’s story.

    Another excellent song you’ve shared with us. Thanks.

  2. “I believe Mary knew something way down in her knower, but really didn’t know how life-changing her role would be in God’s story.”

    Yeah, me too. I’m glad you enjoyed it, Preacher. 🙂

    Yes, Annie, we are held tighter than we realize. Love you and am still praying. 😉

  3. I simply can’t hear this song too many times. Chills and reality checks that I’m focusing on the truth instead of getting caught up in the holiday. Thanks.

  4. Me too, Tam. Amazing! Only in the mind of God could such an outrageously perfect plan have been conceived.

    Me either, Gitz, I love hearing it over and over… It helps me to stay centered on reality. It’s so easy to get caught up in the hurry of the season. I need the music to help me stay focused. And YOUR music, young lady, BEAUTIFUL!!! Thank you for sharing your gift with us.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS, EVERYONE!!!!!

  5. “focusing on the truth instead of getting caught up in the holiday”

    Did the same for me – lifted me out of the lovely day, and into the astounding reality of God’s love for us. Thanks Michelle!

    [Still praying for you Annie.]

  6. A “Mary Did You Know” story –

    Our daughter came out for Christmias a couple of years ago. Since whe would be joining us for Sunday Chapel I asked her if whe would bring special music. She chose that song.

    Before she arrived, I relayed to the Chaplain what she would be singing and he told me that he had wanted that sung for that service but had not mentioned it to anyone.

    That Sunday morning I introduced Bekah to the Chaplain (she had not met him) and he said “So you’re one who listens to the Holy Spirit and obeys”. What a compliment to our daughter!

Leave a Reply

