He Watches Over All

Standard

It happened a little over six years ago. 

On the last day of summer, before school began, we loaded up the van with kids and refreshments and headed off for a day at the river.  Not too far from home is a riverbed with dinosaur tracks — and the most amazing part — running alongside are human tracks.  One never knows, when making the trip, how low the water will be.  However, even when it’s too high to see the tracks, the fun-in-the-sun by the banks of the river is a great way to spend the last day of summer.

Phat and I set out with five exuberant kids: two of our own and three neighbors.  Stopping at Wal-Mart to load up on drinks, Nick asked if we would pray before getting on the highway.  That’s what his parents always did before leaving on a trip.  Phat asked me to pray and then, we were off.

We stopped in Cleburne for lunch.  Chicken.  I told Phat I wanted to drive.  Constantly twisting around to listen and care for the kids was beginning to take its toll.  I knew I needed to sit straight, looking forward for a while.  We didn’t have much further to go.

As I drove, everything became fuzzy. 

I can hear Phat calling my name, . . .

I feel I’m lying down, yet moving at the same time. 

I keep asking, “Where’s Drew?  Where’s Alex? . . . Where’s Drew?  Where’s Alex?”

Suddenly, the light turns on.  No more darkness.  But, am I awake? 

“What happened?”

I had been in blind shock for a couple of hours, asking the same questions over and over.  Phat had taken care of everyone and now we were in the Emergency Room at the closest hospital.  My mom and dad were on the way while he was beginning to wonder if this was a permanent situation, my constant questioning.  Relief swept over him as the light came back to my eyes.

I missed an exit, he explained, so I had pulled off to make a U-turn.  Somewhere in the haze of my mind, I recall a semi passing by.  Phat says I was watching, but a car came out of nowhere. 

Much confusion remains over that day, but one thing I know for sure:

God answered our prayer for safety.

“WHAT!?” you ask.

Yes.  I will say, affirmatively, God answered our prayer.

You see, I was the only one hurt that day.  I had a precious cargo of family and friends, hoping for a day of fun.  It didn’t happen.  Our day became a frightening mess.  But I still praise God; He kept everyone safe.  It wasn’t our time to go.

The van was totaled. 

The cooler full of drinks had flown open, turning cans into missiles.  I am convinced, somewhere in the fourth dimension — or would that be the fifth?  No, that’s an old soul group, isn’t it? — in some other dimension, it must have been like a scene from the Matrix!!!   Imagine the spectacular angel which appeared, guarding my precious cargo. 

The seatbelt broke my collar bone and my head hit the window.  But, that was it.  The people in the other car, thank the Lord, were not seriously injured either.  Airbags deployed.

I don’t think I’ll ever get those two hours back.  And my question of whether I did something wrong, or the other party, will probably never be known.  I just can’t know everything.

But I do know Who watches over all.  And in His mercy, that day, we were kept safe.

He answered our prayers. 

Some choose to worship angels or give honor to saints that have gone before.  Not me.  I can’t find that in the scriptures.  But . . .

I will give honor to my Lord and pray as Jesus taught:

Our Father in heaven, may Your name be honored.  ~Matthew 6:9

For God never said to any angel what He said to Jesus: “You are my Son. Today I have become your Father.” And again God said, “I will be His Father, and He will be my Son.” . . . And God never said to an angel, as He did to His Son, “Sit in honor at My right hand until I humble your enemies, making them a footstool under Your feet.”  But angels are only servants. They are spirits sent from God to care for those who will receive salvation.  ~Hebrews 1:5, 13-14

I thank God He sent an angel.

26 responses »

  1. Yeah, Thank God! I would never have met you. I wonder sometimes, when we’re in heaven will we get to see the replays in slow motion? with the angels in full view?

  2. I love stories of God’s intervention. Surf on over to what I call “God Spots”. I think you will enjoy the trip. While you are there, I’m looking for someone that knows what God’s glory is. Maybe you are that someone?

  3. Praise God…In the midst of your temporary blindness, His sight was perfect! Glad you’re here.

  4. He watches over us, and He answers our prayers. And I’m so glad He answered that particular prayer. My heart sank as you described asking “Where’s Drew? Where’s Alex?” – just a tiny inkling of how you must have been feeling. What an indescribable relief when you found out that everyone was OK.

    I’m glad you shared this, Michelle.

  5. I sure hope so, Ric. I would love to see all the supernatural workings, it’s got to be better than the Matrix. Maybe it’ll be a heavenly version of “Smallville” with a bunch of Supermen – Warrior Angels – coming to the rescue???

    That’s a great avatar, Ric. 🙂

    Isn’t it wonderful how He protects, Angie?

    Hello, Archie. I’ll come see.

    Even the darkness is light to Him. Thanks, EconMommy. 😉

  6. Thanks, Alan. You snuck in there while I was typing.

    “What an indescribable relief when you found out that everyone was OK.”

    It was indescribable. I had Phat bring in the kids just so I could see them in the flesh and apologize for causing such a horrid event. I struggled with guilt for a long time, but that’s a normal state of affairs with me. 😕

    Good to see you. Hope you’re well.

  7. edge.

    of.

    my seat.

    toward the end i realized i had been holding my breath.

    good grief sis. what a story.

    WHAT A GOD!!!

    thank you Lord for protecting them that day. praise YOU, praise YOU!

  8. Really, Tim? Thanks. 😉

    It was incredibly scary, Tam! Took a long time to get over. I’m still quite nervous when cars get too close. And all those kids…that’s the hardest part…but He is good! Praise Him! 🙂

  9. Such a scary experience Michelle, and what an answer to prayer, that all of you were OK, except for the injuries you mentioned.

    It happens so quickly doesn’t it, and changes everything in a few single moments. My Dad was in a very serious car accident a few years ago, and many have said it is a miracle he is still alive. No one can really understand how he came away unscathed, but I know it was an answer to the many people who prayed.

    That it is God who gives life to all things (1 Tim. 6:13) and that He does give His angels charge over us (Ps. 91:11).

    Love you Michelle, and so thankful you were all protected that day.

  10. What a story. Praise God for keeping all of you safe. And even what the enemy intended for evil, God intended for good “in order to bring about this present result, to preserve many people alive.” God’s purposes are always bigger than we can see. I believe the story’s not over …

  11. “I struggled with guilt for a long time…”

    I think that would be normal in the circumstances Michelle!

    “…but that’s a normal state of affairs with me.”

    I was thinking about this car crash today, and praying for you (as well as praising God for protecting you all). I can’t begin to imagine how you felt after this experience, but it can’t have been good. Healing can take a long time, so I’m praying a little prayer for you right now that, if you need any more healing as a result of this event in your life, God will bless you with that healing right now! (And another little prayer for all other healing that you need…)

  12. “It happens so quickly doesn’t it, and changes everything in a few single moments.”

    Yes, Birg…so many times in life I have witnessed this quick change. In a single moment all can be different. It’s good to know He is the same, yesterday, today and forever.
    I’m sorry to hear about your father’s accident, very scary memories, but so thankful for his deliverance.

    “God’s purposes are always bigger than we can see.”

    Ain’t that the truth, Sparkle! I hope in heaven we’ll get a phenomenal debriefing. I really want to understand it all.

    “I’m praying a little prayer for you right now that, if you need any more healing as a result of this event in your life, God will bless you with that healing right now! (And another little prayer for all other healing that you need…)”

    Thank you, Alan. My health went into a steady decline after the accident. I do believe I need much healing…for many things. In His Time.

  13. I had many students in my math classes who felt much the same.

    I’m sorry…cause math is so. much. fun.

    Maybe that’s why you became such a great writer. 😉

  14. Michelle, loved reading this story of an event when God showed his mighty hand in your life. I remember some things that happened that we really haven’t shared with many..the ones we did share with didn’t see God in it, just me being a lunatic! LOL well we know and God knows, and I believe that the hand of GOD intervened, and I am glad that he did.

  15. I know what you mean, Darla. Lots of people give me a very funny look when I start talking about the angelic part. But that’s OK — I like knowing the Truth! 😉

    Thanks, Alan, very much. 🙂

  16. Blessings abound in the scariest of circumstances. You are definitely the blessing in this one, friend. Wow, that’s scary stuff.

    My parents had a tough and emotional day today with a farm sale that didn’t go well… and I needed the reminder that somehow beauty can come from what seems so hopeless. Thanks for the reminder.

  17. Hey, Gitz! I think you’re right about blessings abounding in the scariest of circumstances. But, you know, someone I’ve met recently, who seems to have loads of wisdom, says, “Too many people miss the silver lining because they are expecting gold.”

    I’ve been in that place many times, not giving credence to the blessings that have come because I was looking for something more.

    I’m sorry to hear about your parents. I am learning that sometimes the disappointments which come were truly blessings in disguise. It’s just that the disguise is so convincing, it takes a while to see the blessing.

    (Did you notice the buttons? I love ’em! Thanks for sharing one of your many gifts with us all.)

  18. I thank Him also Sis ( and it seems i’m now Sis with Tam too? – Any sister of your’s etc) 🙂

    Would not be as nice a world now if he’d called you up that day!

    If you have a moment…? i’ve got a problem with 1 Kings 22:23 over at my blog – any thoughts?

    ♥ ♥ ♥

    <B

  19. Hey, Love! I’m researching.

    Good to see you here. Of course, Tam is your sister too! Thanks for the nice words. 😉

    Good afternoon, Darla. Love you too!

Leave a Reply

