Take This Soul, Yahweh

Standard

Take my life and let it be

Consecrated LORD to Thee…

Take these shoes
Click clacking down some dead end street
Take these shoes
And make them fit
Take this shirt
Polyester white trash made in nowhere
Take this shirt
And make it clean, clean
Take this soul
Stranded in some skin and bones
Take this soul
And make it sing, sing

Yahweh, Yahweh
Always pain before a child is born
Yahweh, Yahweh
Still I’m waiting for the dawn

Take these hands
Teach them what to carry
Take these hands
Don’t make a fist
Take this mouth
So quick to criticise
Take this mouth
Give it a kiss

Yahweh, Yahweh
Always pain before a child is born
Yahweh, Yahweh
Still I’m waiting for the dawn

Take this city
A city should be shining on a hill
Take this city
If it be Your will
What no man can own, no man can take
Take this heart
Take this heart
Take this heart
And let it break

~U2

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM“; and He said, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”  God, furthermore, said to Moses, “Thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, ‘The LORD, the God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, has sent me to you.’ This is My name forever, and this is My memorial-name to all generations ~Exodus 3:15

Jesus answered, “If I glorify Myself, My glory is nothing; it is My Father who glorifies Me, of whom you say, ‘He is our God’; and you have not come to know Him, but I know Him; and if I say that I do not know Him, I will be a liar like you, but I do know Him and keep His word.  “Your father Abraham rejoiced to see My day, and he saw it and was glad.”  Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I am.”  ~John 8:54-58

The Great I AM — YHWH — Yahweh — rendered LORD in the OT and Jehovah in English

21 responses »

  1. There is a truck load of great thoughts in this post. You never cease to amaze, inspire, challenge and provoke thought! I love that. 🙂

  2. Other U2 songs to check out might include Walk On, I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, When Love Comes to Town, Where the Streets Have No Name, … ok, well, listen to them all again for the first time.

    Thanks Michelle (&Nor), I love U2 and John.

  3. Thanks, Angie. Love that avatar!

    Hey, Ric! Thanks for the list. I’ll check ’em out. I have heard “Where the Streets Have No Name,” just didn’t realize it was U2! 😳

    Welcome to the club, Heidi! 🙄

    Here’s a link y’all might find interesting, if you’ve never seen it before. A Conversation About Christianity with Bono:

  4. Love it! But I have always loved U2, and Ric definitely called out some of my favorites..”when Love came to town” I like Stevie Ray Vaughn’s version…yea..now I am dancing around!

    Very cool song Michelle, and the words just sum it all up! And that NOR dude..is pretty rockin’ …

  5. Hey, Darla! As embarrassing as it is to admit, I didn’t even know Bono and U2 went together. 😳 But I think I already admitted that on Selena’s blog.

    Ah, well…I guess you never get too old to learn. 😉

  6. Bono and U2, oh my. Your parents didn’t let you listen to secular music? or you’re a country girl? How can this be?

    Good game on Thanksgiving, eh?

  7. I think you mean you’re laughing at me, Darla. 😳 That’s OK, I tend to laugh at myself LOTS. 😉

    How can this be? Well, Ric. Actually I was the one who quit listening to secular music. I really liked the Christian radio stations in all the cities we lived, so I just tuned into them. I know lots of music from the 70’s and a bit from the 80’s, but mostly soft rock. I kept hearing about U2, just never cared much to track ’em down. Phat says I’ve heard more than I realize. 🙄

    Country girl??? NO! Big city girl my whole life. Dallas, TX!!

    All the men in our house were thrilled with the game — which is always a plus since they can get quite depressed when the Cowboys lose. Makes for a lousy Thanksgiving evening.

    Why aren’t you a Redskins fan?

  8. I became a Tom Landry & Roger Staubach fan back in the day while living in upstate NY. They had class. I stayed with them when we moved to the DC area … I was used to not liking the Redskins at that point refused to change. I can be stubborn.

  9. I love you, Darla! 😀

    I can see, Ric, how those two men would cause you to stick with the Cowboys. Landry and Staubach were the epitome of class! Staubach spoke at a Fellowship of Christian Athletes meeting when I was in highschool — I wasn’t actually an athlete but I still went. And once I sang Christmas carols at his home (He wasn’t there). But does that make me cool enough, even though I’m not well-versed on U2?

  10. “Hey, Darla! As embarrassing as it is to admit, I didn’t even know Bono and U2 went together.”

    i love it!!!

    you make me smile!!

  11. Yes, Ric, in some areas I am much deprived, but thanks for the vote of confidence on the cool scale. Around this house, with three teenagers, I don’t hear that much! 🙄

    Now see, Tam, here we go again! 😳 I need to stop sharing so much. 😕

Leave a Reply

